We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located accommodation with excellent staff”
Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardvasar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Ardvasar for 3 nights as part celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We had put this in the comments box on our booking through laterooms and following a personal email from the owner, Richard, were upgraded to a fantastic large room with a sea view. I can't fault the service from all the staff and Richard is a most attentive host - even buying us drinks on the Saturday night! We ate two evenings in the hotel and the food was excellent - not the cheapest, but you can taste the quality of the ingredients.

We used the hotel as a base to explore the rest of the island and it was really good to know we had a comfortable welcoming place to come back to at the end of a tiring day exploring.

Richard had warned us that on the Saturday night the hotel may be a bit noisy as there was a birthday party with a live band that night - but all would be done by 12:00pm. This wasn't a problem for us being pre-warned and we spent some time in the bar enjoying the music. Overall, our room did experience noise from the bar below (but not enough to cause us a problem), and we couldn't open our windows on the nice sunny days (yes - there were some) because of the smokers below. Maybe Richard could think about relocating smokers away from guest bedroom windows? If you want complete peace and quiet in your stay, you may want to bear in mind that rooms at the front of the hotel (sea view) won't give you this.

These are only minor issues though - I'd stay there again tomorrow given the chance and we had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay, ask for a room at the back of the hotel, but you won't have a sea vi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavetheDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Ardvasar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Only stayed here one night but we enjoyed it. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, the location just beautiful. Our room had a four poster bed and was gorgeous - clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The only downside is probably the bar/dining area, it needs a bit of a spruce up as it's looking quite old and worn. Would definitely recommend The Ardvasar Hotel though and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155DGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We travelled to Ardvasar by bus which stops at the ferry terminal. Its about a 15 min walk to the hotel from there. As we were travelling for our first anniversary we booked the four poster woodland room for a treat. Its quite expensive for a room for the night but it seems to be the norm for the Isle of Skye in general, and anyway it was a treat. The room was huge and really perfect.

We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was really good and reasonably priced.

Above all though we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and friendliness shown by everyone, but especially Richard. Nothing was too much trouble and he always seemed to be around morning or night to see if we needed anything. Even offering to ring up and book our ferry tickets for us, and drive us to the ferry terminal the next morning if we wanted it.

The breakfast was excellent.

Meeting Richard certainly changed our short stay from excellent to perfect and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Visit the Clan Donald Experience. About a mile walk from the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We noted and enjoyed "the significant investment in the bedroom product" but the dinning "product" requires more than decorative investment. Significantly marking up frozen chips, for which the proprietor makes no apology, and frying processed meat topped off with processed cheese - all the while making snide remarks - is not exactly an enjoyable experience for a guest. Investing in an experienced host able to create an atmosphere conducive to relaxed dinning will do far more than supercilious replies to criticism on Tripadvisor. Customer service is not a product, it's an attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maryjane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardj60, Owner at Ardvasar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear MaryJane007

Thank you for your review. I couldn't agree more with you that service is an attitude and not a product. We have received excellent or very good reviews from 83 per cent of respondents on this site and on another review site our satisfaction rating is just under 90 per cent. Clear evidence that most of the time my staff and I get it right and almost always display a positive attitude towards our guests. We are never complacent however and are always working on ways that we can improve the guest experience. You mentioned that you ordered the cheeseburger from our bar snack menu. This is the cheapest item on our menu at £7.90. We have not increased the price on this item for two years and consider it represents good value. Of course it is not haute cuisine but it sells well. The burger is grilled not fried and the cheese topping is mature Scottish cheddar not processed. As an experienced hotelier with a passion for hospitality I personally respond to all negative reviews. In doing so I am able to correct factual errors and to highlight potentially suspect reviews. Your review is, in part, factually incorrect and therefore it is only right that I respond to set the record straight.

Richard Jeffrey
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here whilst we did final scouting for our photo workshop in the Scottish Highlands & the Isle of Skye.

Owner, Richard Jeffrey, and his staff were charming and attentive hosts. In fact, they went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The service was wonderful, the food tasty, the single malts terrific, and the selection of beers excellent.

Our room was comfortable, attractive, and spacious, with a lovely view across the water to the mainland and a nice, modern bathroom.

We could not think of anything negative to say.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarefootContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Richard and the room was lovely - spacious and beautifully decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was average which was disappointing as the price for B&B was twice what we'd paid elsewhere in Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked direct and Richard, who we subsequently found out was the owner was very efficient and helpful. We arrived by ferry and walked to the hotel where we were met by the very welcoming and helpful Richard.

We were shown to our room and then went downstairs and had lunch where we also booked our table for dinner. The room was recently refurbished and was clean and well appointed. The shower, bath and other facilities were all operational and efficient. The only slight gripe was the air transfer panel above the door which meant if you were in the room you could hear all that was said in the passage and vice versa. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleepl.

At supper Richard and his assistant did all the work front of house, and did it very well making us feel looked after and wanted. The food was excellent, fresh local scallops were very good and fresh salmon likewise. The meal was served in the bar which had a good lively atmosphere.

Breakfast was served by Richard's assisstant, they do work hard, and the breakfast was very good. Kippers and porridge wonderful. Others there were enjoying it too and the hotel were providing sandwiches for walkers as well as checking customers out, providing helpful information etc all with courtesy and friendliness. Richard checked us out and organised a taxi for us. A really enjoyable stay, Richard and his team were very professional and deserve the compliments they have received. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you and well done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
4.5 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
7.8 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range: $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardvasar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing