We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Ardvasar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ardvasar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had the local haddock and chips. Good meal. Especially liked the friendly dog that cam by our table for a pet. Even if it wasn't the only place in town, I'd recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank parker-scanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Extortionately Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Ardvasar Hotel for lunch today whilst waiting for the ferry to Mallaig. The manager/ owner on reception was very friendly and.directed me.to the restaurant- the barman was polite enough (but wearing jeans and trainers which never looks professional). The menu was limited, amd I.was torn between Scampi and Chicken Curry- I opted for the Scampi on the basis that the curry was merely described as 'chicken curry'- no hint as to what sort.
The scampi itself was fine, and they allowed me to have beans rather than salad. The chips were pretty awful- more like the fries you get in MacDonalds. Had this been.priced reasonably this would be ok- as it was it cost 11.00 for Scampi and Chips which was clearly frozen. This seemed a ridiculously high price for very average food.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Acceptable meal, high price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I ate at the Ardvasar Hotel once on my recent visit to Armadale on the Isle of Skye. The menu was limited, but the meal I received was acceptable. However, it seemed overpriced. The food at the nearby Clan Donald Centre is better for the same price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidTraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I ate here one night as we were staying nearby. We were pleasantly surprised by the cozy atmosphere and very good quality main courses. Had an absolutely fantastic apple pie for dessert. Try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Pub food at gastropub prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We liked the friendliness and lively atmosphere at the hotel - and it was very convenient to find somewhere for dinner within a really easy walk of where we wre staying - and we like pub food. But we were paying about a third more than we paid for very similar meals at other pubs in Scotland. We went twice and were a bit disappointed to find that the Day's Special menu hadn't changed. Still we didn't have to drive and the local beer was good and the staff were very pleasnat - it was just too expensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardvasar Hotel also viewed

Armadale, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing