We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Cuidhe Leathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuidhe Leathain
Ranked #9 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a gem of a place and will certainly be our first choice if we return to Mull. Jeanette and Alan went out of their way to make us feel at home and we could not have had a better stay anywhere else. So many thoughtful touches and a great breakfast choice (if you can force yourself out of the wonderfully comfortable bed!). If you have the time, twist Alan's arm to pick up his guitar. Being dog friendly was the reason we chose Cuidhe Leathain and we are so glad we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for a lovely review and thank you for putting up with Alan's guitar and the dogs. Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Jeanette and Alan made us very welcome throughout our stay. Their knowledge of the area was invaluable, as this was our first visit to this fascinating island. Our room was comfortable and we were supplied with all the extras we needed for our stay. The delicious breakfasts were a perfect beginning to our busy days on Mull and Iona. Jeanette and Alan have created a wonderful atmosphere in their delightfully interesting B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanandStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. You were delightful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a welcoming and relaxing place to stay. Alan and Jeanette are genial, helpful and entertaining hosts. Their home is filled with a fascinating collection of pictures, books and ornaments. The breakfasts are excellent and the porridge, fruit compote and scrambled egg and smoked trout are highly recommended. Our room at the front of the house had a really big cosy bed, just right for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: The room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you and look after you. Come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Tobermory and we enjoyed a lovely long weekend with Alan and Jeanette. They were fantastic hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they recommended some lovely walks around the coast from Tobermory. Our room was very comfortable, clean and tidy and the bed was particularly snug.
Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, cereals, porridge and cooked breakfasts available - perfect to fill you up ready for a day out.
Cuidhe Leathain is a short walk from the main street and harbour and the view across the town and bay as you make your way down the hill is lovely. This makes it a good base for exploring the area by foot, bike or car.
We hope to return to both Tobermory and Cuidhe Leathain soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

To look after first time visitors to Tobermory and Mull is a privilege and a pleasure, especially when they enjoy the island as much as we do. Thank you and haste ye back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with these welcoming and helpful hosts; nothing was too much trouble, Jeanette even did our washing and ironing as an anniversary gift! Travel advice excellent, breakfast the best we've yet had in Scotland (Grannie Morrison's porridge was amazing), room fully supplied with everything you could need and friendly pets in this pet friendly house. Plenty of books, DVD's in rooms yet the common areas afforded a welcome measure of privacy. Thank you Alan and Jeanette for making Mull even more magical for these Australians.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Delightful people. Wonderful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is our tenth year of visiting the island and we usually come twice a year. We always stay with Alan and Jeannette as they're are perfect hosts and have become great friends. The accommodation, food and service are second to none. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and you'll ave a great nights sleep. The breakfast menu's excellent and nothing's too much trouble.

They're both very welcoming and knowledgable about where to go, what to see and eat etc. Don't forget to ask Alan about his favourite places because they're breathtaking and you'll want to keep coming back as we do every year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Haste ye back again and again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Once again we had a lovely time at Alan & Jeannettes B&B in Tobermory. Best breakfasts ever and wonderful hospitalilty. They are a fountain of knowledge regarding events and places to visit and great walks in the area

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryQ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette H, Owner at Cuidhe Leathain, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

It means so much to us to have guests return and enjoy their stay. That is the greatest compliment we could have, not only that visitors return to Mull but also want to stay with us again. Haste ye back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.3 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
427 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
357 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuidhe Leathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuidhe Leathain

Address: Cuidhe Leathain Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: $46 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuidhe Leathain 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cuidhe Leathain Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing