We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Sonas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonas House
Ranked #16 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in June. Our Red Poppy room was spacious and comfortable. The view from the B&B was amazing & the sunny weather a bonus. The hospitality of this family run business was beyond expectations. Thanks to Laura for arranging a visit from PC Plum, now that was an interesting evening!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I walked into my "wing" of the building on the first night and got placed in the spacious red poppy room. First impressions were great decor, nice big bed, lovely home made short-bread and ooh! What's this? A double measure of the local 10 year old Tobermory! I don't mind if I do!

WIN! WIN! WIN! WIN!

The next morning I was served up a mammoth breakfast which had everything except mammoth in it. I tried my best but couldn't finish it.

The next day I streamlined my order and still couldn't finish it!

On the third day I varied my order but alas I still couldn't finish it...

This is my last night and I've gone slightly avante garde and asked for a Stornoway black pudding and bacon sandwich. I should be able to manage that...

If you've never had Stornoway black pudding in your breakfast then I suggest you try it soon and I suggest you try it here.

The landlady and her parents are very approachable and all three probably make it into my list of the top ten nicest people I have ever met.

This opinion was cemented when I returned from my evening dinner to find a can of chilled lager left by my door. I walked from my "wing" (through the swimming pool room) to their living room to say thanks and was then introduced to their good friends before they poured me a (LARGE) dram and we had banterous chat until we could take no more.

A home from home (with a swimming pool and sound folk).

Highly recommended.


I've never, ever, felt like sending a thank you card to a B+B but I think I'll make an exception in this case.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in oct,weather was just as good as the room,very clean and plenty of space,pool was just the ticket after some hill walking.
breakfast was spot on and Laura was most helpful.
will never stay anywhere else on mull again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 5 glorious nights at Sonas House and believe it would now be impossible to stay anywhere else on Mull. The location is grand - quiet with spectacular views. You feel removed from downtown, but are within walking distance. Bedrooms are spacious by B&B standards and everything was so clean it all appeared new. Breakfast was fantastic - fresh produce with delicious homemade items. Laura was friendly and helpful in every aspect of our trip. Every note was pitch perfect with this gracious hostess. -MacLeans

Room Tip: We stayed in the house - can't go wrong with either bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 8 nights here back in June, stayed in the 'Red Poppy' room. It was very clean, spacious & comfortable. With its own private patio overlooking the Sound of Mull - beautiful. We were made to feel very welcome by Joanie, Laura & John, on departure we felt as though we were leaving very good friends. The breakfasts were delicious & varied, the home made jam yummy! The breakfast area was a little small, but adequate. A real bonus was the pool which we often had to ourselves. The main part of Tobermory is about 10 minutes walk downhill, with a small selection of mainly tourist shops. Some good restaurants, of which our favourite was Cafe Fish. From the harbour there are plenty of boat trips, & lots of walking opportunities with plenty of wildlife & fabulous scenery. Hope to visit again (Sorry for late review!).

Room Tip: Both the Red & Blue Poppy room perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here in early September for two nights. Sonas House is without doubt a lovely B&B, very quiet location, spectacular views, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. However, we did have problems with the WiFi and whilst Laura tried to help us gain access, it wasn't ideal for keeping in touch with our business (this was the only time we experienced any problems throughout our 2 week road trip). We did use the pool which was very nice. Overall we had a good experience, but I do think this B&B is a little overpriced. We ate at Mishdish and Cafe Fish and both were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We had wanted to book one of the rooms that are actually part of the main house but they were booked so we were offered the 'studio suite' as if it were a realistic alternative. It isn't. The standard of fittings and quality of facilities is very good but it is made clear that you are not expected to eat in what passes for the 'breakfast room' . We were offered continental breakfast delivered to room which was very much second best. That said we did manage 2 mornings in the breakfast room which is probably the weakest area of the experience as it is a bit like eating in a corridor and looks like an afterthought rather than something planned for the comfort of guests - the food was fine though. The swimming pool, which is great, is directly overlooked by the breakfast corridor and the staff bringing the breakfast actually walk alongside the pool with food and drinks - and I mean right alongside the pool. This makes a morning swim a little 'public'. All that said it is certainly worth a good rating and a visit - but do get one of the rooms in the house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
17.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#10 of 27 in Tobermory
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tobermory
86 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
272 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 27 in Tobermory
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas House

Property: Sonas House
Address: The Fairways Erray Road, Tobermory PA75 6PS, Scotland (Formerly Ptarmigan House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonas House is a luxury bed and breakfast set in an acre of tranquil grounds, with sensational views over Tobermory Bay and the Sound of Mull. Idyllically situated in upper Tobermory, adjacent to the Golf Course, our house is unique as it boasts an indoor heated Swimming Pool and the guests wing of the house has its own private entrance. We have three letting bedrooms, all are en-suite and have amazing views over the Sound of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonas House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing