We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, great value”
Review of Arle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arle Lodge
Exeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Arle Lodge. It was outstanding value, with comfortable rooms and excellent showers. The large kitchen, lounge and dining area offer all that is needed to stay in comfort without having to eat out. If the weather is poor, there are plenty of games to play and books to read, as well as a big tv for entertainment. Alternatively, just enjoy the views out of the large windows - they are quite splendid!

The owners are friendly and we would not hesitate to return to this excellent lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

During my journey through Scotland, I have passed by a lot of guest houses and B&B on the road side, and I was thinking, maybe one of the ones I have booked are like that.  This one is like that.  Arle lodge is right on the road side, and if you drive too fast, you will see the sign, but not enough time to stop and turn in.
It is next to the loch and has a very beautiful view.  Isle of mull is not that big, the lodge is near to tobermory, quite convenient to drive to, just one straight road.
The reception staffs are nice.  Although there isn't much that they need to do for us, they acted very friendly when we check in.  Because most of the services are self service, a lot of great signage and info are put up on the wall and common area.  Everything is labelled nicely. The kitchen and lounge area is great.  The kitchen is well equipped.  The lounge area is filled with books, games, puzzles, DVDs and a TV.  The rooms are very cozy, and it definitely has a home feel to it.  If you like to watch TV at night, there is none in the room.  I don't watch TV, so that fits me. Me, my brother and my parents altogether had two twin rooms.  My parents had a room that is more spacious then ours.  Their toilets are big! You could hold a party in there.  Our room and toilet is a bit smaller, but still quite spacious.  Everything is clean, you can smell the freshness of the bed sheets.  Beds are quite comfortable.  They paid attention to details in the room, and a lot of storage space was provided.
The outside area is great as well, very nice view and great value for the price we paid.  Unfortunately, there were a noisy gang of guys chit chatting next to the room next to ours in the middle of the night.  They probably haven't even close their doors, and were speaking and laughing loudly and rudely.  It is totally not the lodge's fault, but it did ruin our night a little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here with my three teenage boys. We loved the place. Rooms are functional and comfortable. Clean and contemporary but not fussy. Free Wi-Fi and a big tv and DVD player in a pretty comfortable lounge. We met other friendly guests and enjoyed walking around the lodge, really lovely. No TV in the rooms, which feels right. My boys did not need one in their rooms, though over a few days they might have logged online tv.

Breakfast was what you make it. Usual continental spread which suits us, but a hob, and microwave plus utensils (plus fridges) in case you want to knock up a cooked breakfast.

Read a negative review say that i am thankful we did not have to put with someone else's smelly dog (and I have a dog before anyone starts).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760Mohammed760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two relaxing nights at Arle Lodge last month... and would have loved to stay longer! Great accommodation, clean, comfy, and convenient location for exploring Mull. The drying rooms are a nice touch, very much appreciated after a wet day on Ben More! The self-service continental breakfast also suited us very well as we could fit it in around our other "grand" plans.
Arle Lodge is situated with lovely views over the sea, which we enjoyed from the seating area in the garden. The communal hall/kitchen/lounge were well stocked with information boards, books and games. I also loved the wildlife photography in each room.
Thanks for having us, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelongestscarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arle_Lodge, Owner at Arle Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much 'thelongestscarf' for your fabulous review. I have showed everyone here and it's made our day. We hope to see you again. Thank you everyone for taking the time to leave us reviews it really is so appreciated. ~ Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arle lodge is a well run and an ideal place to stay when visiting Mull. Rooms are of a high standard and are very clean. We only stayed here for one night but could have stayed much longer. Its in a great location and the view from the dining area is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in Arle Lodge for 5 nights very happy with accommodation, en suite bedrooms fair sized with very comfortable beds. Great kitchen , making the most of the fantastic location over looking the coastline, as well as dining area and sitting room. Good outside eating area with chemineas and seating. A few miles outside Tobermory which is very attractive. Good base for walks over the island
Very friendly and hospitable hosts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was me and my sisters and friend of the familys first visit to arle lodge and it was really comfortable and friendly and cosy place to stay.i would recommend people and groups to stay here views were beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie85scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 26 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arle Lodge

Property: Arle Lodge
Address: | 5 miles from Tobermory - on the bus route, Tobermory PA72 6JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lodge is more convenient than an ordinary B&B because you can lie in bed as long as you want to (except for the day of departure) We supply a self-service continental breakfast (cereal, bread, jams, milk, fruit juice, tea, coffee) We have a shared self catering kitchen and dining area so you can cook your own meals (a big saving). You have full use of the lounge and facilities all day. All towels & linen provided. Please note the lodge is not suitable for babies and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arle Lodge Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing