We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strongarbh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strongarbh House
Ranked #3 of 28 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were on a cycling tour of the Isle of Mull and we knew from the time we arrived we had come to the right place. Jane welcomed us and immediately had both of our bikes tucked up in the boiler room!
The house is situated high above Tobermory with wonderful views across Tobermory Bay. The mid-Victorian house has been updated in a very sympathetic and contemporary way, thereby providing all modern facilities whilst retaining the wonderful Victorian features. Our room was very spacious with all the normal amenities. In addition, it offered a superb fresh coffee making facility -I thought it was a new device by Apple! - but then we spotted the real Apple iPad offered for the use of guests in their own room. This attention to detail showed in everything Jane and Adrian do.

Complimentary afternoon tea is offered and we took ours in the Gallery which is a small art gallery which has been created in one of the very large front facing rooms and furnished in a very contemporary style. The warm home-made lemon drizzle cake was excellent.

Breakfast maintained the very high standards and they offer a special each day as well as a good cooked breakfast choice. The scrambled egg with smoked Tobermory trout was superb!

We enjoyed our stay so much we are trying to work out when we can organise ourselves to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclingourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
206
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Attention to detail 5 star from organic & natural home cooked food sourced locally. Fresh fruit in season. Slow cooked porridge, fresh poached fish, Scottish breakfast & home made bread. The bed was so comfortable & crisp fresh cotton sheets, towels & natural organic toiletries. Ethical, environmental friendly. We were given our key & could come & go as we pleased. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dympna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was the first time my Wife had come to Mull with me as I normally come in October for the Mull Rally and I am Happy to say she was suitably impressed with the accommodation,even tho we gave my Sister and my Niece my normal excellent seaview room looking out over Tobermory harbour and the Sound of Mull. As we arrived in the middle of the afternoon we were intime for the complimentery afternoon tea and cake (this went down very well with the Ladies) and so started our three day stay on Mull. With all the places we needed to visit sadly that was the one and only time that we were to sample Janes super cake treat but at least we had the breakfasts to look forward to ! the Breakfast Special changed everyday and we took full advantage of sampling Super Chef Janes skill all served by Adrian in the beautifull dining room over looking the Sound of Mull , it really is a lovely peaceful way to start the day after a good nights sleep in very comfy beds (the only thing I missed was the view - roll on next October !) and all to soon it was time to leave but the Girls did agree with me Strongarbh House is a very very nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a two-night stay at Strongarbh House in mid-September. The house is strategically situated above the town and has fabulours views out to the harbour and beyond. It is stone-built, large, with character and history and beautifully appointed (sorry this is beginning to sound like an estate agent's review). We were impressed by the views from the bedroom and its size. The thoughtful touches, such as an ipad, an iphone dock (so that we could listen to music), fresh milk in the fridge outside and comfortable pillows (difficult to get right!) were welcome. Despite the size of the room and the high ceilings the room was cosy and warm whilst the weather outside produced a September storm. It was beautifully quiet and the bed was wonderfully comfortable.
The use of a small library and a range of whiskys (and honesty box) was a lovely touch and much appreciated. The breakfast - range and quality - was very good. Thank you for a lovely and memorable weekend (he proposed and she said 'yes'). Strongarbh and Tobermory and particularly half-way up the ridge walk to the top of Ben More (where we got engaged) will be remembered for that!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_orme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Strongarbh House. It was our very favorite of all the places we stayed in on our trip to Scotland. The room was beautiful! The service wonderful! My husband said it was the best porridge he had! Their location is tricky to find so make sure you bring the directions they give you on the website. The views out our window were amazing! Be sure to use their trail down to the town and bring the flashlight they provide. We didn't and it was a interesting path in the dark!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana and Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation in Tobermory. Strongarbh House is a stylish and very well run B&B offering quality rooms and excellent service. It's a bit tricky to find so make sure you have the instructions provided to hand before you arrive.

Our room at the front of the house had excellent views, was very well appointed and beautifully furnished. It really did have everything we needed, even a torch in the drawer which we thought we might need when walking back after dinner. However, it turned out that the road was relatively well lit so we did not need it after all.

Complimentary afternoon tea is provided daily which comprised of a delicious piece of homemade cake. Before we arrived we did not think we would want this everyday; it turned out to be so good that we couldn't miss it! Breakfasts too were excellent. As well as the daily menu which offered a great choice ( including a lovely Scottish breakfast and a variety of other dishes) there was a daily special. This was a really good idea and was a bit more inventive, offering more exciting and unusual choices not found elsewhere.

The house is well located for access to Tobermory where there are some great restaurants. We would visit Mull again and would have no hesitation in returning to Strongarbh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This B & B has got to be one of the best we have ever stayed in, if not the best!! The view is awesome and the whole atmosphere is amazing. We really felt at home and it is a lovely welcoming touch to have a cream tea on our arrival in the library......Our room was gorgeous, with lovely little tasteful touches. They have really put a lot of thought into making their guests feel welcome.....Breakfast was just lovely, as I sort of knew it would be........cant praise them enough! They have really got it right here........will be back!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonnick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#10 of 28 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strongarbh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strongarbh House

Property: Strongarbh House
Address: Tobermory PA75 6AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff above Tobermory Bay, Strongarbh is a handsome Victorian villa providing comfortable and distinctive accommodation. The house, set in spacious gardens and linked to the harbour via a private woodland path, offers a relaxing retreat in the heart of the town. Strongarbh offers luxurious bedrooms, tempting breakfasts and stylish public rooms in a beautiful period house filled with an eclectic collection of books and contemporary art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strongarbh House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing