We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B in a wonderful location”
Review of Strongarbh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strongarbh House
Ranked #4 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we recently stayed one night here on a tour of Scotland - this is by far the most beautiful room we habeas staged in. the decor is simple and elegant, we stayed in the garden view room (has wonderful view of an old boat in the garden). this little touches of the coffee machine, good selection of herbal teas, the iPad and toweling robes were greatly appreciated. the other rooms (the library and lounge) are worth looking in even if it's just to see how beautifully decorated the are.

The breakfast menu was wonderful - thought a nightmare to decide what to have. I opted for the muslei, yogurt and compote followed by the French toast with apple's - all of which was perfectly cooked and was clearly home made and derived from quality produce.

to summarise the owners really know what they are doing, this js a beautiful house which is incredibly well run, I can't wait to return! finally if staying in Tobermorey make sure you dine at cafe fish (amazingly fresh- as they have their own fishing boat!) but you will need to book in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibethell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

The b&b is located on a hill above Tobermory, one of the quaintest towns you will ever see. We had a sea view room, it was big with a king size bed, great breakfast, friendly owners. A television would have been nice. The library at the b&b was the best I have ever seen. One word of caution- they have a 28 day cancellation policy,so be sure before you book. The Isle of Mull is fantastic, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100-50-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Myself and hubby stayed here for one night on our trip to mull and both thought it was fantastic. Beautiful house, very comfortable room, decorated perfectly. It was a little tricky to find and could do with a sign post or more detailed directions on the website but it's in a fabulous location with great sea views. Lovely extra touches such as afternoon tea on arrival, robes in the room and an I pad, great idea instead of tv! Amazing brekkie, the porridge is so tasty, and full scottish was great too but I couldn't finish it after fresh fruit and porridge. The owners have got it just right, they are there for you when you need help and advice but give you you're space and we really felt that we could come and go as we pleased, very relaxed environment. This place is something more than a B&B with the boutique feel and I would choose it any day over a soulless hotel. Would recommend cafe fish for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent two nights here while on the Isle of Mull and we're so glad we didn't opt for a hotel. Good idea to ask for directions, as it can be a little tricky driving up the hill. The house is 149 years old but very modern and upscale on the inside. We stayed in room 2 with a fabulous view of the water. The room was huge and came with robes, an iPad, and even a charger for our Apple products (so nice not to have to use adapters, etc.) The view from our window of the grounds and the water was just spectacular. Wonderful breakfast with home made bread and they even left a great breakfast for us when we had to leave very early. Delicious shortbread cookies at night and wonderful cake at tea time. In the library, there is an honor system bar for those who would like a "wee dram" before bed. It was such a treat to have warm fluffy towels in the morning and the free wi-fi was greatly appreciated. Hopefully, we can return to this great B&B sometime soon for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsoifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a wonderful stay. 2 nights in a very comfortable room with an amazing view, where we actually got some sleep as it was quite.
Breakfast was a delight, not your normal boring cooked breakfast but homemade granola, home baked fresh bread, homemade compot, wonderful stuff.
It's the little touches that make all the difference, fresh cold milk and water in the rooms.
A refreshing change .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a splendid one night stay in the most fabulous room with a four poster bed. The huge Victorian window looks down over the harbour, very interesting. We enjoyed a warm welcome and wonderful hospitality. A real treat to stay here and breakfast was great too. There's a lovely library to relax in and an intriguing hidden path down through the back of the garden to the town was an especially enjoyable bonus!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lizzie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Of our three-week vacation in the United Kingdom, this was the best surprise and one of the two best places we stayed. The bedding was wonderful, the view was fantastic and our room had two chairs in front of the window where we computed and sipped wine. The room and bathroom were both spacious and had lots of amenities including robes, pressed coffee machine, I-pad.

Their breakfasts also reflected the high standards that their rooms did.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#3 of 27 in Tobermory
333 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Achafraoich
Achafraoich
#12 of 27 in Tobermory
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strongarbh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strongarbh House

Address: Tobermory PA75 6AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: $133 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff above Tobermory Bay, Strongarbh is a handsome Victorian villa providing comfortable and distinctive accommodation. The house, set in spacious gardens and linked to the harbour via a private woodland path, offers a relaxing retreat in the heart of the town. Strongarbh offers luxurious bedrooms, tempting breakfasts and stylish public rooms in a beautiful period house filled with an eclectic collection of books and contemporary art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strongarbh House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing