We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun bar”
Review of The Mishnish Bar

The Mishnish Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Nightlife in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome! With a long tradition of highland hospitality, our aim is to provide the very best service we can, the best in local and regional produce wherever possible and to encourage and support live music, especially traditional Scottish music. We look forward to you enjoying a malt whisky by the fire, or a cask ale from our cellar and enjoying our regular live music.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun bar”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mishnish twice before and will be staying there again in June (2013). The rooms are great and the bar is great. We played darts and just sat around chatting and drinking beer. The service was fine and we had fun. A few years ago we stayed at the Mishnish and we were outside in the "garden" area of the pub and met a couple from Glasgow and a gentleman from somewhere else, and we had a ball together--it was one of the highlights of our trips!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, North Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loud music and great company”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mull Music Festival highlight - don't tell anybody! Good beer and even better music. Right on the waterfront with amazing views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReetGrandLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Little Pub”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything you could want from a small local - decent ale on tap and bottled, nice warm fire, cosy nooks and crannies to sit in and a decent restaurant next door (the Mishdish) that you can get some lunch/dinner in. We had the seafood platter for lunch one day and it was amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CW_Scott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can be really variable- worth a nighttime visit but if avoid during the day”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

For a long while this was the only pub we visited in Tobermory at night, can have a great atmosphere (Italy England match to name one that stands out in my mind- suddenly a whole pub of Scottish folk were unexplainably Italian for 90 minutes) and is ideal for sitting having a few pints. We did tend to start the night here and move on after a couple of drinks.
In the stark light of day I would tend to veer away- light does nothing to improve the decor and we found the bars tag- who had been so eager and friendly the night before to be a little short and standoffish. Maybe this was something to do with us having the audacity to ask for coffee (prompted by the sign outside proclaiming 'the best coffee on Mull')... Can't say we were particularly impressed by the blank stare, or the suggestion that if we really wanted a coffee, we might have to bring some milk :s Wish I could say I thought the guy was joking, even at our expense, but he was completely serious- cue our speedy exit and subsequent bypassing in favour of the chocolate shop. Will absolutely still be visiting next year, but will be restricting those visits to post nightfall!

Helpful?
Thank taintedrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Quick drink”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a quick drink in this pub on a Thursday afternoon in January. Oddly enough(!) it was empty but the beer was nice and the smell of the log fire was very inviting. I would like to visit again for longer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mishnish Bar also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to The Mishnish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing