We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel. Kitchen and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel.
Kitchen and dining area.
Living area.
Living area with partition closed.
Dining and living area.
Double sofabed closed.
Double sofabed open.
Upper entrance.
Some local Tobermory products.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom with sink.
Main bedroom with full length mirror.
Bedroom
Time for a nap.
Upper stairway.
Lower stairway.
Bathroom with shower and bath.
Lobby and drying room.
Decking by rock face.
Entrances to Back Brae Lodge
Main Street, Tobermory
Elvis the otter.
White tailed sea eagle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LondonSco...
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Back Brae Lodge has everything needed for a relaxing stay on the beautiful Isle of Mull. We were lucky to have great weather so did not spend a lot of time indoors but the house is a great place to come back to after a busy day. It is perfectly situated, just set back from the harbour so within a few footsteps of a selection of bars and restaurants. The kitchen is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The lovely shortbread was most welcome after travelling as were the wee bottles from the local distillery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnybank...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful... relaxing stay in Tobermory. Definatley recommend highly”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Recently returned from our stay at Back Brae Lodge in Tobermory.
We loved the lodge very much. so spacious and airy. Everything we needed over or stay was there to hand. Loved the fact that we had 2 floors to live in. Excellent accommodation that we will recommend to our friends and family.
We felt the cost for the lodge was excellent value.
The information leaflets and walking plans available were both interesting and informative. We loved the walk to the lighthouse ( short half hour walk)
I love photography and art so Tobermory and Mull we just perfect. We were very lucky to have had a good week of weather too. Driving around Mull is easy too, quiet roads ... always good
A definite MUST is the boat trip to visit Staffa Island and the Isle of Lunga ...the puffins were truly wonderful and they were so close ...only a few feet away.
Location and accommodation highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing I can think of.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenslas...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of Tobermagic.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The interior light and air within Back Brae Lodge gives it an energy that is uplifting and generous. The setting is perfect, tucked behind the frequently featured coloured houses of the Main Street in Tobermory. The lack of view from the house is not important such are the good feelings when indoors! The levels of comfort are good and ease of use of all appliances perfect. The owner has thought of everything and I am delighted to have stayed here bringing my Australian friends who say thank you to the owner too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved how comfortable we all felt here.
Liked least: Nothing to mention.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teej_P_21
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Back Brae Lodge for three weeks Feb/March 2013. What a find! For starters, Kenny was more-than helpful with communicating with me while making arrangements for my stay. His responses were prompt, and his instructions for payment/arrival/departure/etc. were clear and thorough. Any confusion (mostly on my end) was quickly explained and the details provided made getting there and getting settled a pleasure rather than a stressful experience.

The flat itself is just as described and seen in the photos. I can't rave enough about it. It's open and full of light, and everything is clean. I was traveling solo, but the flat could easily accommodate several people without getting overly crowded. Everything worked -- kitchen, washer/dryer, tv, internet, etc. -- and the apartment is set up so that you can be entirely self sufficient. As I was staying for three weeks, I couldn't afford eating out every meal, and I needed a space where I could be comfortable just hanging out. There are books and puzzles and dvd's, so one can enjoy rainy afternoons or mellow evenings. Most helpful is a detailed manual that explains how everything works in the flat (such as appliances, heat, and so on) that also contains information on the town and surrounding area.

I was in Tobermory furing the off season, so many things were either closed or just opening for Spring, but there was more than enough going on to keep me fed and to give me things to do. The supermarket is well stocked and I especially loved hanging out at the chocolate cafe in the afternoon. The locals are friendly, warm, and seem to love a nice chat with out-of-towners. And, of course, the town itself is lovely. I had planned on renting a car, but wound up just staying in town. There are great restaurants in town & multiple area hikes (listed in the manual in the apartment). Please hike out to the lighthouse. It's one of my favorite places on the planet.

I have done other long stays, and nothing compares to this. The main reason isn't just the flat (which, again, is simply beautiful) but more than anything, the warm welcome and outstanding communication received from the owner, Kenny. It feels like he really wants people to enjoy their stay. For me, Back Brae Lodge instantly felt like "home" as opposed to just a place I was staying. I'm hoping someday to make a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandr...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Self catering at a high standard in Tobermory”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Found this gem on the Internet with good reviews on Trip Advisor. Location is extremely central tucked away in a sheltered corner, just back one road from the harbour. Accomodation is on two levels and is very spacious and light. Lots of hot water and lovely and warm for a bitterly cold March. The owner as thought about almost everything you could want and the tourist info is very personalised and presented well. Nice touch of two bottles of local whiskey and some snacks too. Bed was very comfy and seating in lounge too. I would recommend this for sure. The only two things negative to mention is there are no views to speak of from the property and you cannot get your car close for unloading and loading but that wasn't too much of an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDootsie
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderfully equipped”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a rental property in Tobermory, it's really a good idea to familiarise yourself with the layout of the town before booking. There is the famous main street with the brightly coloured buildings, where all the restaurants, pubs and shops are. Then there is the rest of the town which is some distance up a very, very steep hill.

So the first thing to say about Back Brae Lodge is the location - tucked just behind the most photographed building where the Mishnish hotel is. This means you don't get much of a view from the property, but you are a stone's throw from everything this gorgeous village has to offer. And more importantly, when you leave the wonderful hospitality in the local pubs and restaurants, you are a stone's throw from your accommodation rather than facing a hike up that hill.

The description and photographs on the Back Brae Lodge website are completely accurate. It is spacious, comfortable, modern and well-equipped. There is excellent WiFi, large screen TV with satellite, DVDs and a superb selection of books and games.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in the heart of the village
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth...
Spofforth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back Brae Lodge in Tobermory, Mull is a great self-catering find.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in the week before Christmas and it had everything we needed. Usually we opt to stay in a hotel but many were closed at this time on Mull but we needn’t have worried. The house is tucked back, just feet from the sea front of Tobermory in a very convenient location - everything you might need is within very easy walking distance - of just a few minutes. The house is clean, warm and comfortable with all the facilities you are likely to need regardless or whether the weather is good or bad. Back Brae Lodge is also very reasonably priced. Well done Kenny Fraser.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing