We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glengorm Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glengorm Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glengorm Castle
Ranked #4 of 28 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Glengorm Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Glengorm Castle was built in the late 1800s and is operated as a B&B. The five rooms are huge and so are the en suite bathrooms. The views are wonderful and the silence is deafening at night. The staff is very welcoming. Breakfast is served in a big dining room with a bow window looking out over the Atlantic. Full Scottish breakfast - and then some. There are lots of places in Tobermory (5 miles away) to have lunch and dinner. Then when you come back to the castle, relax in the library, with a wood fire, and an eclectic collection of single malts (help yourself) before heading to bed for a wonderful sleep.

Room Tip: They're all good, but some face the ocean and others the lawn and woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross-Siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    46
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
161
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place has a lot of potential but is severely hampered by poor management.

While it looks like a fair amount was spent at one time to renovate the place it is poorly maintained and poorly kept. The house is very cluttered with cardboard boxes and such left wherever they may lie. One of the large ground floor rooms closed off from the inside but clearly visible from the outside through open curtains as you walk around the house to the front lawn is stacked to the ceiling with rubbish. Service items (such as an extra bed) are left on the main stair landing and the upper floor swinging door was held open by a fire extinguisher.

The live-in family made no attempt to be considerate of guests with resident (non-guest) children running about the property in their nightclothes, stomping through the halls and shouting from one end of the house to the other.

The bed in our room was VERY soft (far too soft for my taste). There was some sort of mechanical water pump assist device in our bathroom which was VERY noisy (made you uncomfortable to even flush the toilet before 8a). There is no 'net access in most of the bedrooms.

The view was very nice and the breakfast was quite good. The young ladies on the staff were very nice.

Oh, and by the way, the establishment is not a castle in the strict sense but rather a manorial house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Essentially you are paying a fair whack here to stay in a castle albeit a gentlemans home from 1859 rather than the real deal.

Set in 5000 acres of stunning scenery the views are to die for and theres lots of local wildlife too. The rooms are impressive but I'm not convinced yet the balance is right, great tubs and beds yet our toilet seat was broken, the taps were loose, we had a cheap kettle with a cord that didn't reach the socket and the TV was small and difficult to watch.

Overall its not great value but for a one off in a stunning location then try it. You wont see the hosts just some house staff so you are very much left on your own as its a family home complete with children so there may be noise of kids running around.

The breakfast room and library are impressive and the whisky free so make full use of it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just left this fabulous place after a three night stay. The other four rooms were taken by one group of friends, not a problem for us. As other reviewers have said, the place is big enough for privacy, as you are really only likely to see the other guests at breakfast time or in the drawing room to enjoy the complimentary whiskeys.
Yes one does need to go into Tobermory for dinner and yes Cafe Fish is the most fabulous restaurant with great fresh seafood and great service at a good price.
We stayed in Ardmore which had a lovely view out to sea from both the bedroom and the loo!
Yes we hardly saw the owners, but does that matter? Their nieces who worked there were efficient young women who were friendly and helpful. Definitely go there again if we are ever lucky enough to return to the Isle of Mull.
There is a fabulous variety of artwork in the castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSLugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I highly recommend Glengorm Castle as a "getaway" spot. Our family simply loved the breath-taking views and took full advantage of hiking the 5,000 acres of terraine (forests, cliffs, lochs and rolling fields). The bedrooms were spacious and inviting. The breakfasts were made to order and quite delicious! Our teen daughters had the extra surprise of getting to play with a litter of adorable puppies. Two items to keep in mind:
1) The castle is a B&B, so you need to plan out your other meals. We decided one night to have an early dinner at the coffee shop vs. going into Tobermory. The coffee shop staff gladly accomodated our "take away" request to bring our dessert back to the castle.
2) It is a castle. The interior is cooler than you might be used to at a hotel. The fireplaces provide ambiance and heat in the library and great room. They have electric heaters in the bedrooms, but it is still on the cool side, so plan accordingly.
We had an outstanding experience and would LOVE to go back and stay even longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The drive to the castle along a single track road is itself a wonderful experience but once you turn a particular corner & view the castle in the distance it takes your breath away, have your camera ready!
The castle does not offer any food/drink other than breakfast & tea/coffee/biscuits in your room so be mindful you will need to travel. There is a coffee shop in he grounds however is only open during high season.
The drive to Tobermory takes 15 mins or so as it is a winding, unlit single track road.
We were warmly welcomed by Pam who works at the castle during the week & she showed us around & then left us to it, which we like! We saw the owners briefly but if you like to have someone around constantly you will be disappointed. For us it felt they had handed the keys of. castle to us & it was ours for the short time we were there.
This is a family home & as such has all the things you would expect from a family: dog, cat, kids etc of course this does bring with it the trappings of family life, dog poo, kids belongings in not the most appropriate places & the cats kills! ( poo & bird bodies were outside I hasten to add!) this did not offend us at all however it may do if you expect pristine presentation.
The breakfasts are substantial, tasty & freshly made & the view from the dining room is quite lovely. If there was a minor gripe it was that the breakfast settings were not freshly laid out & sugar/salt/pepper were left open to the elements, including flies, evidence of which were laying on the floor & flying about...need to cover items like this & turn cups & glasses upside down until required and then clean away the flies which had croaked it!
There are open fires in both the hall & library & the smell of burning logs as you walk in added to the ambience.
Some of the furniture & soft furnishings have seen better days however again this adds to the character of this old castle.
The library has magnificent views to the west & the setting sun was enhanced by one of the many complimentary whiskies on offer.
The room we had was in a lovely position & had the quirky eclectic variety of lamps & ornaments as the rest of the rooms in the castle, the bathroom was nicely set up as well with large bath & separate shower. Another minor gripe was we felt the room was not as clean as we would have expected, dust on window ledge, kettle very discoloured, shower walls with other guests hairs on eek! however I let this pass as the pro's outweighed the cons.
Bottom line, would we stay again? yes, however for the price per night charge these gripes need to be sorted out & for us if there hadn't been these niggles then Glengorm most certainly would have been perfection!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My best stay ever.... (and I travel a lot). Everything was perfect: room, atmosphere, food, landscapes, owner. I think I will never find again a place as this. I must come back, this will be "my" place in the world. I will be back asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMammaDiJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
4.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
20.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengorm Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengorm Castle

Property: Glengorm Castle
Address: Glengorm, Tobermory PA75 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glengorm Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Northern tip of the Isle of Mull near Tobermory, Glengorm Castle overlooks the Atlantic and has spectacular views over the Outer Hebrides. The Castle was built in 1860 and sits at the headland of Glengorm's vast area of coastline, forests, lochs and hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glengorm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengorm Castle Hotel Tobermory
Glengorm Castle Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing