We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Glengorm Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glengorm Castle
Ranked #4 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manama
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We are a family of 5 and booked a week in Lephin cottage. The surroundings and the walks are beautiful the cafe is excellent and Tobermory is near. We broke two wine glasses - no problem / no charge!

Breakfast in the castle at the end of the stay was a particular highlight (and at GBP5 ea for the children very modestly priced). Friendly owners - the husband explained to me how they get 12ft of rain a year (!) and his wife (who was cleaning the furniture) talked to us about owning a castle (hard work).

Some of the negative comments seem to relate to a particular period when they were fostering a particular set of children - i.e. it was a one off. We recommend it - we will be back. The Townsends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
172
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a must stay for anyone visiting the Highlands
We stayed 5 days for the second time in 4 years and had a wonderful special experience
The views were incredible, the food was superb and the location was grand and only 5 miles from historic and beautiful Tobermorry
Do not miss this experience

Glyn and Marti Brown
West Linn, Oregon USA

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brwnglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We own a 5 star gold B and B ourselves and so know what hard work goes into getting it right. This family deserve a big pat on the back for getting a superb balance. The setting is without compare. The beds are perfect. The breakfast was the best I've eaten in the UK and Marjorie went out of her way to accommodate our request to buy our supper from their own coffee shop and eat it in the library with amazing views. To top it all we had the choice if complimentary whisky. I would come back to Mull just to stay here. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights in this B&B, wanted something a bit different whilst attending a Clan do. Amazing views and great big room with an ensuite bigger than most hotel rooms. Would have liked to have time to enjoy the estate but having already booked other activities didnt really get the opportunity, Learnt by the third morning not to order the full breakfast - it is huge and really tasty but could not get through half of it! If you do stay, note that there is no restuarant after 4.30pm and you will have to go back into the town for tea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

...there is no other word to explain Glengorm castle. We just spent the past 3 nights there and would go to back tomorrow. The location is idealic, family & staff very friendly and the rooms are superb, the bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in and we also enjoyed the bath big enough for two!..We cannot recommend this place enough if you want a real get away from it all retreat, with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulborough
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

In a word Glengorm is absolutely stunning as it first appears after a 4 mile drive down the peninsula to the headland. A real fairy tale castle in a fantastic setting.
Views out to the Hebrides are spectacular especially at sunset. Rooms are superb are spacious and breakfasts very good. The hotel does not do evening meals but this is no problem as there are some v. good restaurants in Tobermory and further afield on Mull..
Would recommend to anyone who does not want WiFi or a mobile signal (good signals in Tobermory though 10 mins away) but does want peace, superb location, views, wildlife and friendly service

Room Tip: Loarin or Mingary have fine views but naturally are the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snafuPulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Having eaten a number of mediocre meals on Mull during a week long break, we decided to take advantage of the Cafe (converted stables)during a visit to the castle rather than pay over the odds in one of the over priced restaurants. We were surprised by a fairly substantial menu which was also reasonably priced. Beautifully cooked and presented food - well worth a visit, the walk to the standing stones after lunch offered incredible views, the end to a prefect afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGrumpyInverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
4.4 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
691 reviews
20.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#9 of 27 in Tobermory
339 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengorm Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengorm Castle

Property: Glengorm Castle
Address: Glengorm, Tobermory PA75 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glengorm Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Northern tip of the Isle of Mull near Tobermory, Glengorm Castle overlooks the Atlantic and has spectacular views over the Outer Hebrides. The Castle was built in 1860 and sits at the headland of Glengorm's vast area of coastline, forests, lochs and hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glengorm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengorm Castle Hotel Tobermory
Glengorm Castle Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing