We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tobermory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my second visit to the Tobermory Hotel, and I loved it just as much as the first time. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the full Scottish breakfast takes some beating (best potato cakes I've ever had).
This is a perfect hotel to stay at on a visit to Mull.

Room Tip: front facing rooms for a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fobgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for The Tobermory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tobermory hotel for 3 nights. The location was ideal for exploring Mull and the various wildlife tours. Hotel staff were friendly and obliging. Morning breakfast was well presented and certainly set you up for the day. Room was clean comfortable and peaceful with beautiful views over the bay. Overall a very positive experience and a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Room 9 is probably one of the nicest rooms with beautiful seaviews and a huge four poster bed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lothiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tobermory hotel for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier!

Our room was quite large with a wonderful view over the harbour. It was clean and the room service was excellent, with little details including little biscuits that were replenished every day and a nice set of toiletries. We couldn't have asked for more! The breakfasts were also excellent with many options including traditional porridge and full cooked breakfasts. It also runs till 10am if you prefer to lie in for a while!

The location is also excellent with many walks right off the main street where the hotel is based. There is also a wildlife sightings board which guests can add to.

The best part was that the staff were always friendly and helpful, giving us maps and advice for walks for example and offering to dry our wet walking gear at the end of the day. We enjoyed our time there very much and there are not many hotels that would offer such a kind an personal touch.

On top of all this after leaving I had stupidly left my ipod behind in the room. The staff found it and posted it back to me immediately, covering all costs! This really is above and beyond.

Thanks to you all for a great holiday!

Room Tip: A harbour view is worth the extra and room 9 is large with a 4 poster bed
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This small hotel located on the front in Tobermory offers excellent value, the rooms may be on the small side for some, however, your bill at the end of your stay will also be on the small side.
The rooms, although a little small are never the less very clean and comfortable, attention to detail can be seen with good quality towls' in the bathroom, all the things you would hope for, such as, shampoo, shower gel, tea & coffee making facilities, remote control TV , comfortable bed,

Breakfast is not to be missed, there is a very nice menu with a choice of the full traditional Scottish fare, excellent, if you are hungry, this is for you, or you can have lovely smoked haddock poached in cream, or kippers , wonderful, all beautifully cooked and served with a smile from the staff on duty, do not miss out on this early morning treat.

It would seem the restaurant is very good indeed, however & unfortunately, it is so good , during our visit it was fully booked & we did not have the opportunity to sample the food there, so be advised, book well in advance as there are not a lot of tables available.

Would I return to this small hotel ? most certainly, well worth the money, you could pay much more elsewhere for a great deal less .

Room Tip: Just be aware there are stairs to all bedrooms above ground level & there is no lift.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ageingvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked hotel on recommendation of others as we had not been there before, queried cost of room with breakfast as it seemed a bit expensive but was assured that this was the summer rates. On our arrival we were met by a man who gave the impression of if you don't like it that's tough, sorted out the documentation and then gave us the key after showing us to the room, which turned out to be in our estimation a standard with double bed on the harbour front with ensuite which was quite small with the shower over the bath which was Ok if you were directly underneath and the toilet when you were sitting was quite tight especially if you are 6ft or over. Had already booked for dinner which turned out to be an ordeal, my wife is not a red meat eater and so her choice was the salmon but guess what, no salmon! She then had the frittata which was OK but what can you do with eggs!! We then decided we would have the crumble as we both like them but even then we were disappointed because the topping was just a thin covering of oats over the rhubarb and strawberry, whatever happened to the crumble made from flour, butter and sugar, we still don't know. Suffice to say that once was enough and we went somewhere else the following night for dinner but that's another story. The redeeming factor was the breakfast although on our last morning the staff need to listen to the orders and not make assumptions on what people would have the day before.
Will not be staying in this hotel again that's for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a charming small hotel, originally two adjoining houses right on the harbour front - fabulous views. The rooms are modest in size, but recently decorated and impeccably clean; and the staff are all friendly and efficient. No bar, but a full drinks service is always available right into late evening. Also, out of seven hotels on a twelve-day tour, this was the only one that provided bathrobes as well as all the usual other amenities.

However, the real bonus here is a tremendously talented young chef, who uses fresh local ingredients (always a good start) to produce some really imaginative, varied and original dishes, all beautifully cooked and presented, which were absolutely the culinary highlight of our tour. Between the nine of us we tried about everything on the menu, and everybody was mightily impressed; none of the other hotels even came within shouting distance, let alone close. Definitely worth a repeat visit; and the breakfasts (although simpler, obviously) were equally well done. If Tobermory weren't so relatively remote, I bet the food critics would be shouting about it.

Room Tip: No lift, but there's one room on the ground floor for those with mobility issues. Staff very wi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at this comfortable and welcoming hotel. As this hotel is converted from several fishermans houses there are many stairways, some of them quite steep, so if you have mobility problems be aware. I think that they only have one ground floor room.
The room that we had was on the top floor with coombed ceilings and was a good size. The shower over the bath was a bit of a challenge though, Im 5'5'' and only just managed to get in and out without hitting my head on the ceiling. If you are tall i'd suggest asking for a first floor room. Breakfast was ok, nothing out of the ordinary. the staff were excellent, very pleasent, chatty and welcoming. All in all thie hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
715 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tobermory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tobermory Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tobermory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the colourful harbour of Tobermory, this boutique-style, family run hotel offers quality service and highland welcome. Enjoy a dram in front of open fires whilst watching the boats go back and forth. Our Hotel restauraunt offers the best of local produce and seafood in our stylish menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tobermory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tobermory Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing