We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Isles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Western Isles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our return visist to Mull didnt disappoint .. our stay at the Western isles Hotel was great .. good food good hospitailty very comfortable in the Glenfarclas room which seemed to have a sea view and as well as a harbour view !! .. the owners are gradually renovating this much loved hotel and i take my hats off to them .. the usual set backs with some inclement weather has not daunted their vision and they deserve every bit of support ..dont miss it great value

Room Tip: All sea view and harbour view rooms with a view to die for .. worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Graham

Thank you for your support and very kind words, which are appreciated by all of us. Sorry you had to suffer some of the atrocious weather we've been having, but you'll be pleased to hear the sun is now shining at last!

Take care and very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    234
    95
    48
    38
See reviews for
123
343
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We recently spent two nights on Mull at the Western Isles Hotel and have nothing but praise for everything at the hotel during our stay. Our room was perfect, view to die for, Conservatory Restaurant for dinner so comfortable and modern, Cameron Room for breakfast a joy - food all delicious and service top notch. We spent a few hours one morning reading in the huge lounge and felt as if we were in an episode of Poirot - so much atmosphere and everything gleaming and spick and span.

I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone and can't wait to visit again.

Archie and Jane Dunlop - Glasgow

Room Tip: We chose a view of Tobermory Bay but feel sure the inner harbour view rooms woudl be spectacular too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Archie and Jane

Thank you so much for your terrific review. Much appreciated by us and all the staff alike. Hope you get the chance to visit us again soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a fantastic deal which included DBB and ferry crossing. The weather was very mixed...rain, hailstones and a little sunshine! Our room,The Balvenie, had good views over the bay. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The ensuite bathroom was in need of some attention but we had plenty hot water at all times. Open fire in the hotel reception area. Lounge was a little dark but conservatory and bar bright. Dinner was served there but have to say that in the summer would be lovely but was a little on the chilly side in March! Liked the dining room where breakfast was served. Good choice of food and coffee excellent.
The hotel is comfortable but looks a little tired. We believe that the present owners took it over in a run down state. They are certainly working hard on upgrading.
Loved Mull and will return.

Room Tip: A master sea room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jalogs

Thank you for your kind words, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it very comfortable, in spite of the grim winter weather when you were here.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is our 4th visit to Western Isles Hotel. On our arrival we were welcomed back by Richard and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a larger room "Tobermory" with a wonderful view of the bay and Tobermory harbour.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is locally sourced and there is plenty of variety. We even thought about asking for half portions so that we could enjoy the pudding selection
We look forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPLBatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear GPLBatley

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a terrific review - it really is appreciated by everyone. Tom, our new Head Chef is really having a positive impact on the menu, and is building very strong relationships with local suppliers which is to everyones benefit! We're all tasting the difference and its great to see you did too.

Take care and hope to see you back soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited on business for a night. The hotel has a superb setting overlooking the harbour. This is an old hotel and much upgrading has been done. I found the hotel guide in the room to be one of the best that I have read as it captures and explains the philosophy of the owners - what they have done, how they source locally and what they still have to do. Excellent meal in the restaurant and very good service. I had a slight problem with billing after checkout (my fault I think) and despite phoning late at night when I arrived home, it was sorted as promised by 8 am the following morning. Altogether a very positive experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Viewlander

Thank you so much for your kind words which are much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Many apologies for the bill mixup, but at least we were able to sort things out before you left which is so much easier

Hope to see you back for some R&R
Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We popped across from the mainland to make the most of some amazing weather and spend some time in Tobermory. Never having stayed in the Western Isles Hotel before, I had a quick look at their website and then phoned them. From first contact the staff were friendly and helpful and being 'off season' we got a really good deal on 'dinner, bed and breakfast'.

The Western Isles is in fabulous location, perched on the top of a cliff overlooking Tobermory harbour. We had a sea view room on the third floor and the view is magnificent - straight out across the harbour and out into the Sound of Mull past Calve Island. The building dates back to 1880 and because of its construction and location, keeping the weather out can be a full time job. This is apparent in some places, but shouldn't be taken as any sort of negligence. The owners are working hard to maintain the hotel at a high standard and the rooms and public areas are well presented and spotlessly clean.

Because of its elevated location, you should be aware that if you're on foot there's quite a steep climb up from the town centre - not a huge problem if you're fairly fit and agile. However, if you want to relax and enjoy one of the best views from a hotel in Scotland, you might just be happy with the extra effort!

The staff were all very friendly and really helpful. The dinner menu has a good selection of dishes and we rurally enjoyed out meals. Breakfast is as much or as little as you want it to be, again with a good choice.

Would we go back? Of course we would. Would we recommend if - certainly.

Room Tip: Visitors should be aware that the main pier is directly below the hotel. This makes for a fascinatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Chris J

Thank you so much for your great review. I'm so pleased you'd like to return and would recommend us.

Take care, and hope you make it soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba Island, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were booked into this hotel for two nights at the beginning of December it was a winter deal which includes your ferry crossing two nights bed breakfast and evening meal very good value for money. Our room was on the first floor over looking tobermorey harbour it was a very large comfortable room with sloping and creacking floors witch all added to the charm of this old Victorian hotel which is run by a lovely couple and there team nothing is to much trouble for them .We had our dog with us and this was no trouble she was made as welcome as us she was allowed every where apart from the main dinning room .Meal were served in the beautifull conservetry which over looks the lovely harbour. Evening meals you could choose any thing off the restraint menu which had a good selection of starters mains and puddings all very good helpings.While we were ther the island was hit by very bad storms and all ferrys were cancelled we had to stay an extra night no problem the hotel rebooked our ferry for the next day we were enjoying ours selves so much we got them to change the ferry again and stayed two extra nights with its open log fires and charm I would certenley recommend this hotel we will be going back again

Room Tip: harbour or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear josephine028

We're so delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us, and thank you for leaving such a great recommendation. We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again when the weather is kinder!

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#9 of 28 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Property: Western Isles Hotel
Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing