We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a delightful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Isles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a delightful stay!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Western Isles Hotel is a lovely combination of old-fashioned charm and modern comfort.
We especially enjoyed evenings after dinner, having coffee and whisky in front of the fire in the public sitting room after long days exploring Mull. The hotel's staff is hard-working and attentive, and we wished we could have stayed longer. The location is stunning; the view from our room was really spectacular. Also, the food was outstanding; very fresh and prepared with imagination. We ate all of our meals except lunches in the hotel during our stay. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Elizabeth C
Thank you for your tremendous review which is much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon.
Best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    250
    104
    54
    39
See reviews for
130
368
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The problem with older hotels is that you're never quite sure what to expect - with the Western Isles there's very little to find fault with, and the excellence of the service, food and welcoming atmosphere more than cover that. We stayed during a few days of wind, driving rain, snow, hail and ice, and the more modern conservatory was the only place in the hotel which was obviously ill at ease with the elements. The replacement glazing meant that even our room overlooking the sea was peaceful during gales, and the hotel manages what I'd previously assumed was impossible - a warm but not too hot room with high ceilings and with no overly complex heating system.

We were fortunate enough to meet one of the owners, who was able to tell us a little more about the building, and the challenges it presents, but whilst it's clear that the hotel must be hard work for all concerned, everyone we dealt with at the hotel without exception was polite and enthusiastic. Our three night stay was most relaxing, and we look forward to getting a chance of enjoying the hotel again, perhaps in warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear David

Thank you for your great review. Isnt it funny that sometimes its better to have wild weather when you go away because it just forces you to relax, instead of heading up those hills and down those glens?! Fingers crossed for better weather next time...

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Having found this gem together with the wonderful staff, there really was no competition for where to go on our forthcoming break. The hotel is magnificent and it really is wonderful. A relaxing hotel with fabulous food and a unique atmosphere which makes your stay all the more enjoyable. If you have not experienced this hotel ....................why not.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Alistair

Thank you so much for your positive review. It really does make a difference to the staff when they see their hard work is appreciated. Thank you again, and hope to see you back at the Western Isles soon

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Arriving on storm-tossed Mull in late January may well seem like a crazy idea...in fact, we enjoyed one of the most delightful hotel experiences in many long years of travelling.
The building is fabulous,with all of the gothic presence that we had hoped for. The welcome is as warm as the wood fire that burns in the entrance hall, and the staff are a delight.
The rooms are generously proportioned and comfortable, and the gradual restoration of the property is clearly being undertaken by understanding and sensitive owners who respect character and tradition.The location on the cliff-top above Tobermory is stunning, and we particularly loved watching the changing light over the Harbour and Mull Sound.
When it comes to food, the hotel can compete with the best. Here is a chef who well understands that quality and locally sourced produce can speak for itself. Our dinners were
assured and elegant,with a good wine list to match. Breakfast was excellent.
Many congratulations to the entire team at the Western Isles hotel. This is a very special place that delivers hospitality with consumate ease, and considerable intelligence.

Room Tip: A Harbour or Sea View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Fionnuala22

Thank you so much for your kind words. What can I say other than we hope to welcome you back soon!

Very best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Ok a few months since I stayed there but this place deserves a mention.
Having seen the Powell and Pressburger film, 'I know where I am going' and read about it on www.britmovie.net, I decided to take a trip. Not the real hotel in the film but modelled on it.
As we got there my 5 year old went ahead. At the reception My daughter stated,"I'm xxxxx and I'm Welsh!". By the time I got in with the bags the Staff were laughing and the English owner was engaging my daughter in a great conversation. No child ignoring there, the owner even when tired or busy is welcoming to kids and the kids loved her.

The room we had was as discribed. warm, cozy, small but amazing views from the window over the bay, great tea and coffee facilities. All you could ask for.
My daughter dropped juice over a pillow and while we were out it was changed straight away.
Clean bathroom with towels changed when requested (No point changing every day I think).

The hotel is very much your victorian hotel with a great staircase etc. The reception is everything you expect from a victorian hotel. Huge conservatory to eat in, great bar. To rainy when we were there but they have a huge patio overlooking Tobermory. In fact its hard to find a bad view in this hotel from the front. The Lounge is tastefully done and blends into the hotel, a pleasure to sit there.

Now the food! I eat out every few days in cafe to hotel. This was some of the best I had ever tasted. About £60 got us an all course meal for 4 of some of the best food I had tasted. Loads of local sea food etc. Every dish was perfect and in portions to fill you up and I like my food. I could eat there every day. The meal was in the conservatory overlooking the bay. The staff were just perfect. Catred to our every need while not being so formal as to be unfriendly. In fact the waiter was great with the kids and so funny. Perfect combination an asset to the place.

Breakfast is very informal and you dont go short on food. The food for breakfast being up to the mark.

Okay now I have to list things that are not perfect. I understand that the present owners took it over after it was a mess. So some areas are perfect and some not so. Bedroom had a tiny damp patchand the entrance had a tiny leak as you went in. They were on the job but I sympathise doing a hotel up takes time and money. These things were being put right and it in no way distracted from our stay. In fact the caretaker took time to explain whats happening. The only other thing is the parking is a bit tight, remember horse and cart was the transport years ago. The is no lift for old people or disabled as at the moment thats just probably to much cash. But credit to the hotel many old stayed there and they try to arange the best rooms for them.

This hotel is Outstanding. Not at it's best yet but the present owners will get it there. The odd leak or bit of loose plaster but nothing that spoils the stay. Outstanding staff that offer amazing service and a warm friendly welcome. One of the most child friendly hotels ever. They just try and go out of the way for you. You are the customer and you feel they want your stay to be the best. I am writing this review months after staying there as I am new on TA and also have fond memories of the place.

I would have liked to have seen a 100% local staff but the overseas staff were nice.

Would I stay there again. Like a shot and will maybe next year. The present owners are the ideal owners and gardians of the hotel and even an odd leak is forgotten by the effort they put into you having a great stay. Kids and wife want to go back. I would send anyone there and by now the odd leak etc is probably fixed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torquil_kiloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Torquil_Kiloran
Thank you so much for taking such trouble to leave such a positive review. They may have finished painting the Forth Bridge, but sadly we're a long way from finishing our upgrade. We've conquered quite a few of the leaks, but a number remain and we have plans to tackle them this year. Just before Christmas we decorated the major public areas, so we hope next time you and your family visit, you'll be just as impressed.
Happy New Year to you all
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Richard and Esplin keep a lovely house with roaring fires and friendly service, and cooking to vie with the best. All the food is locally sourced and generously portioned, and the bar is well stocked with the local whiskies as well as good cellar of carefully chosen wines. The view from the sea view rooms is awesome. I will be back!!! Helene B

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heleneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Helene
Thank you so much for your kind words which are much appreciated by all the staff. Hope to see you back when the weather is kinder!
Best wishes
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Probably the "poshest" hotel on the island but friendly staff , comfortable rooms and great food make it the best one I've stayed in too. Nice view over looking the bay takes your mind of the state of the ceiling at the window.

Room Tip: Don't sit too close to the window if its windy outside - can be a bit drafty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFamousseamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
125 reviews
13.3 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
123 reviews
21.5 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Property: Western Isles Hotel
Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing