We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming & Clean B&B”
Review of Copeland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copeland House
Ranked #6 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very welcoming & Clean B&B”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. Unfortunately the only room left was a twin at the back of the house with a Velux window so we didn't get to enjoy the lovely view over Tobermory! The room was large enough for two people but due to it's shape the single beds are at opposite ends of the room. The bathroom was spacious with a large shower. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the beds were comfy. Decor and furnishings were homely rather than stylish. Breakfast was ok, much the same as we had all through our trip,however,the bonus about breakfast at Copeland is that you don't have to order it the night before as you seem to have to do with most B&Bs. It's an easy walk down to the harbour and restaurants etc., but a steep climb on the way back. Unless you're staying harbourside everywhere is a climb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Jenny and her family provided us with a wonderful stay in their home. The room was spotless and it was nice to have the separate entrance so that her family was not disturbed. Breakfasts were great and the coffee press was a bonus....our favourite way! We stayed here of two nights and it was a good location for touring Mull. It is an easy walk downtown but uphill back so great exercise!! The huge parking space was wonderful!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoChris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My Wife and I have just stayed for a week at Copeland House. We had a spacious comfortable
room with an excellent shower room. Breakfasts were a personal choice of cooked breakfasts
or various fruit and cereals. Jenny's warm home made bread was delicious as was her
shortbread left each day in our room. Thankyou Jenny and your family for your warm welcome
and kindness, it made a lovely Holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Jenny has a nice house, the views are stunning of the bay and she is a good professional. The road leading to the house is quite difficult, but almost all houses are on the hill. Good mattress, clean room and all the needed amenities.
Downside: breakfast which needs to be improved. Choice, service, environment of the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Copeland house last week for two nights and out of our entire Scottish trip it was the best B&B we stayed in. The room was so comfortable, big, bright and airy with such a lovely sunny view. Jenny was very friendly and accommodating when we arrived early. It's really nice that the B&B guests have a separate entrance to her house so you didn't feel like you were disturbing anyone. I really would recommend this B&B. It's also a very good price compared to other B&B's in Tobermory!

Room Tip: The room with the view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanney83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this lovely B&B, about a 10 minute walk from the main street in Tobermory. We were welcomed by Jenny who showed us to our amazing room. We had a lovely view of the bay from the bedroom window. The room was light and airy with lots of closet space. The shower got nice and warm as well, which was awesome after a day out and about walking in the cold wind!

We also got spoiled at breakfast as the table overlooked the harbour as well. It was a nice way to wake up and start the day! Jenny had fresh bread available every morning which was so delicious with butter. A choice of a full Scottish breakfast, toast, porridge, cereals and fresh fruit was available each day. It was nice to have a full Scottish breakfast some days, whilst being able to just have a poached egg on toast another day. Tea, coffee and toast was provided to the table each day.

There was also fresh milk available for guests to use in a fridge accessible from all three rooms, and guests could use the fridge for personal items should they wish. The room itself always had coffee, tea and hot chocolate available, but the best part was the home made short bread that was in our room each day. Again, amazing to come back to after being out and about all day!

I would definitely recommend this place to say. Jenny was warm and welcoming and her son was very friendly serving the morning breakfast.

The only downside, which is not in control of the B&B, is the long hill to walk up every day from the town, but that is just me being slightly lazy! It only took about 10 minutes to get up but it is mostly uphill the entire way back.

Otherwise, definitely recommended for the hospitality, location and price.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After staying in a Victorian house for the first B&B in Scotland, my parents took us to Copeland House with the promise of an incredible stay. We were not disappointed.

We pulled up to a modern looking two story house with a separate guest entrance at the top of the hill, quite a change from our previous B&B. Jenny greeted us at the door (and so did her dog), and we immediately fell in love with her. She is a genuinely warm, friendly, and humorous host, who treats you as returning friends rather than guests. She has sacrificed the view on the top stories for her guests, and what a view! (seen in the photo I uploaded) Owing to the Scottish weather and the vantage point, we were able to see several rainbows over the course of our stay, which made my wife squeal with happiness.

The room was warm, the beds were clean, and soft. The bathrooms were some of the more spacious we would encounter on this trip (though we didn't know that yet! :) )

The food was excellently prepared, and there were several options, from the full Scottish breakfast to lighter faire.

If you are staying on Tobemory, this is where you need to be.

Room Tip: Choose the room that is just to the right of the stairs...great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.3 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
391 reviews
17.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 27 in Tobermory
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copeland House

Property: Copeland House
Address: Viewmount Dr, Tobermory PA75 6PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Copeland House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing