We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola538
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband, son and I spent a week in Oakfield cottage.The cottage is spacious and very comfortable. We loved the location, just a few minutes down the lane and footpath and we were on the Main Street of Tobermory. However it was in a very peaceful location with no passing traffic and the garden was alive with birds! Jean and Alastair were very welcoming, available if needed but not intrusive. We would definitely stay at Oakfield cottage.again if on Mull.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your review - we are glad you liked Oakfield Cottage and we hope that you will all return some day. It was a pleasure to meet you all.
Very best wishes
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrenaPrzy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great cottage, lovely welcome, perfect location for wildlife spotting”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Oakfield Cottage was perfect for our second visit to Mull. We cannot fault the communication prior to and during our stay. We were given a warm welcome, bottle of wine and clear instructions for everything in the property. The location was a short walk from the main street which had cafes, restaurants, pubs and the famous fish and chip van. February is pre-season so some typical tourist attractions were not open, but we were there for wild life spotting and photography - the information file at the cottage helped us lots. We spotted otters, seals, golden and sea eagles, stags, goats and more. There was plenty of room and storage for outdoor boots and coats, parking area was large, kitchen well equipped and there is a large comfortable lounge which looked out to the garden with bird feeders and pretty flowers. We have recommended the cottage to friends and would love to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2014
Hello Irena
Thank you very much for writing a review for Oakfield Cottage - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you too for recommending us to your friends . It would be great to see you back some time.
Very best wishes to you both
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2014
Hello- thank you very much for your review for your New Year stay with us at Oakfield Cottage. It was great to see you again, we are really pleased that you had a really relaxing stay.
Hope to see you soon. Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest
Reviewed November 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2013
Hi Eva,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and your stay at Oakfield Cottage.
We will aim to fix out the WiFi gremlin which is partly due to the thick walls in the property.
Very good wishes from Tobermory to Budapest.All the very best for 2014.
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mayfield
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Hello Malcolm
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Oakfield Cottage and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Oakfield Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay some time in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes to you all
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Sussex
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Hello Noel and Lynda and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oakfield Cottage and the Isle of Mull.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes,
Alasdair and Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing