We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tobermory Youth Hostel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was hoping for a relaxed stay at Tobermory Youth Hostel after 2 days cycling, which sadly I didn't get. Instead of the warm welcome I hope to receive, I was "greeted" by stern-looking foreign woman who lectured me on the rules of the hostel. I was disappointed to learn that it has no drying room, no lockers to secure my belongings and WIFI was charged at £1 for 20 minutes!!! Unbelievable.

The hostel has obvious problems with its showers, which are few in number and unable to drain.

In the morning I went to reception to get some travel advice, to be greeted by the sound of loud music and the 2 foreign staff eating fried breakfasts on the reception counter. The women more interested in each other than catering for me. A distateful experience. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlanderxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
8
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our stay at Tobermory Youth Hostel was a bit disappointing. It has great location, but seemed to have lots of problems. Microwaves didn't work, toasters didn't work and the toilet didn't work! Our experience with the staff was also mixed. The guy was friendly and helpful, but the woman cold and disinterested. Hostel seems to have lots of rules, with stupid signs everywhere saying "Don't Do This!". IOI

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun_Lover376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Ok, so I looked on-line for budget accommodation in Tobermory and find this hostel. It's £19 in October which is a lot more than I've paid anywhere else on this trip so I expect a good standard. While I didn't plan to go out that night it's still not nice to be told what time you have to be in at (12 o clock curfew). There is an electronic key pad on the front door so why not give us the code? £3 for internet! Extortionate. £2 for towel hire and very noisy beds made me wish I'd paid a little bit more for a B&B. Staff seemed distant and cold at first but I got a little talk the next morning which helped. Ample bike storage. I know you get what you pay for but I usually get a lot more for less in other hostels.

Room Tip: Room 2 has very very noisy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kafoozalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The main thing that struck me upon staying at this hostel is that needs to be modernised, both in terms of its attitude towards the people paying to stay there, and its facilities.

The staff were curt and at times, unfriendly. (I had to go back and ask for a key for each person. At checkout I was not asked for a method of payment, so when I politely asked if the full amount had therefore been debited from the card I used online as a deposit, the staff member said she would have to wake up the boss and seemed to infer my question was very annoying).
As with other reviewers here, my two friends and I found the midnight curfew somewhat unnecessary. The 10am-1pm closure of all bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen/dining room was quite bizarre too. During this time, don't expect to be allowed even to grab some of your teabags from the kitchen shelf without being given a dirty look. Sometimes it felt that we were a nuisance being there at all, which I have never experienced at another hostel. We had come to Mull after five weeks' work without a day off, and rather than feel relaxed, we were always in the way.

There was only one shower working on our floor, which didn't drain very well.
The toilets were not always clean.
There was a computer with internet access but this was charged at a rate of £3 per hour. Towels were available, but only if you hired one for £2.
The lock on our room (no 6) was so stiff that most people struggled to open it.
Our room had 3 bunk beds in it, and instead of some drawers or shelves for the 6 people occupying it, there were 3 chairs crammed in to the little space that there was, meaning there was nowhere to put any of our things.
The beds were very creaky and there was only one main light in the bedroom.
There was nowhere in the bathroom to hang your bag/towel.
Finally, men and women are put in rooms on different floors.

The location is of course, extremely central, and the kitchen was well-equipped. If you're an early riser who is going to be out all day and just wants the cheapest place to rest at night with a quick shower and doesn't mind the strict, dated atmosphere, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were treating ourselves with a nice meal so we went for the cheaper accomodation option. Now, I'm sure when I phoned to check I was told their private rooms were on-suite...... but it would appear their was a mix up when we arrived as we had been allocated a 6-bed dorm to ourselves. This meant bunkbeds (but we put matresses on the floor) and the shower room was upstairs. At the end of the day we were not looking for 5 star accomodation, and the rooms were clean so we had no complaints.

Our room was number 1 and was very noisey with people going up and downstairs from quite early and the walls are very thin, didn't get very much sleep, but again, it is a youth hostel so what do you expect.

I think other reviews are a bit unfair, as most youth hostels shut for a few hours during the day and lets face it there is not much to do in Tobermory after midnight so the curfew does not really matter. Nice big communal areas too.

I think we would probably stay here again, as we got a great breakfast from the Tobermory bakery and sat on the harbour and ate it, and its in a great location for exploring.

Room Tip: Try and get 2nd floor, away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignes, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The service at this youth hostel left a lot to offer, the management seemed to do everything to inconvenience their customers and were not of any help. I have yet to find the policies on which they claim to make their decisions about when facilities are to be open for paying hostel guests. There was a curfew at midnight despite the possibility of giving a door code, they failed to give an alternative fire escape route had the fire been at the bottom floor, and moreover kitchen, bedrooms as well as all showers and toilets were closed between 10.00 and 13.00 which is not very convenient for anyone, moreover showers are discouraged after about 22.00 as well.
Considering all facilities were closed for 3 hours each day you would expect the common areas, especially showers and toilets to be clean, but no, the female toilet and shower was not cleaned for the 3 nights we stayed and the air filter in the shower was "fuzzy".
All of this you might be able to accept if the beds were nice, as we didn't particularly wanted to spend time in the hostel but the beds creaked as soon as someone moved, and in a 6 person bedroom this doesn't make for a nice sleep.
You would also be willing to accept a lower standard if the service was friendly, but we were rudly spoken to when addressing these issues and the management tried to avoid talking to us at all.
So, as anyone might have guessed, I will not stay in this hostel again or recommend anyone to do so. There are a lot of accommodation choices in Tobermory and they are not that expensive comparatively.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

stayed here just one night on a cycle tour of the island with friend. Very nice location right on the habour front with lovely views, staff very helpful and friendly.
Have stayed in many styles of accomodation in the past; B& B'S, bunk rooms, climbing huts, tents, hotels, etc but the hostel here at Tobermory was desperately noisy when it came to sleeping in your bunk bed, every time the 6 people in the room turned over, every bed made a noise, every one woke in the morning worn out from trying not to turn too much in the night, or having the noise wake them up.
What a shame that the upkeep of what is ultimately a brill hostel could not be sorted with good solid noise free beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobermory Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Youth Hostel

Property: Tobermory Youth Hostel
Address: Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobermory Youth Hostel is located in the centre of town on the main street. It is one of the many brightly painted buildings in Tobermory's harbour (the red-pink one). Tobermory Youth Hostel is surrounded by shops, restaurants, art galleries and the busy harbour with boats coming in and out all day. It is also famous as the location for the popular BBC children's show Balamory. Tobermory Youth Hostel is an ideal location for families, sea food enthusiasts, marine wildlife watchers and is also a good base for exploring other areas of the island, whether on bike or on foot. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tobermory Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobermory Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing