We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly”
Review of Staffa House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staffa House
Ranked #3 of 5 Fionnphort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and friendly”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and can thoroughly recommend this lovely, peaceful B&B. Gillian and Ali were very friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Our room had lovely views over the sound of Iona and the beautiful conservatory where we had our breakfasts also had stunning views. Food was good and plentiful and we particularly enjoyed the home made bread and shortbread. Gillian and Ali are very knowledgeable about the area and can help with any inquiries you may have and their love for Mull and Iona really shines through. All in all we found this to be a lovely, warm and friendly place to stay. Janet &Ian Robinson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
86
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a fab house. - The warm homemade bread in the morning was wonderful, the hosts attendtion to detail together with local knowledge to help plan your trip around ferry times, weather, areas of interest, made this a wonderful stop off point to add to the enjoyment of our 15 day cycle tour of the inner and outer Hebridies. The loction was spot on with views of the sun risiing and setting over Iona and the bay. Fantastic location. Many thanks for your kind hospitality (Thanks for the tip "we did manage to sweet talk the bus driver and we did manage to get our bikes on the 7am bus back to the ferry in time to catch our connection to Barra). We normally stay in hotels, but the friendliness of our hosts, the opportuity to talk with other guests and the comfort of a wonderful hourse has made us rethink how we plan future holidays - i think it will have to be B&B in future. The personal touches are so much nicer than you could ever get in a hotel.(and very much appreciated) thanks to you both for adding to our fantastic experience of the islands.

Room Tip: The views in all directions are fab, close (stones throw) to the ferry point and easy distance for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came to this area because of Isle of Mull and Isle of Staffa and the Staffa House made the trip. The hosts were delightful, the rooms clean and spacious and the food terrific. This was a great stay that we found on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We (a family of four with two children aged 13 and 15) spent 3 nights in Staffa House. It was the crown on our trip all through Scotland.
Now that the summer is passing by, we're all a little bit homesick to Staffa House and its beautifull surroundigs. Gillian and Ali care for their guests, their house and their lovely island and offer you more than just a room.Their warm attention is reflected in every detail. We found peaceful corners to come to rest and to meet other travelers.
I can still see the view over the sound of Iona and remember the taste of Al's sandwichlunch we ate near the hermit's cell on Iona...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A short trip on business and picked Staffa House by chance and it was a very good choice. A very warm welcome in a fantastic spot. Breakfast was full of choice - and catered well for vegan. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent two nights recently at Staffa House during my two week trip to Scotland. My friend and I had stayed in many B&B's on our trip and this was one of our favorites. It is literally at the end of the road in Mull and just a few hundred yards from the ferry to Iona. Mull and Iona were also on the top of our list of the most wonderful and special places in Scotland.
I knew from the time I made our reservation that this would be a special place. I had fantastic e-mail communication from Gillian and Ali ahead of time with all we needed to know about Staffa house and getting to Mull. There was even a little video about driving on the one track roads! When I had questions later about the ferries Gillian very promptly answered my email which helped us greatly.
We had a nice clean room with comfortable beds and all the amenities that we needed as well as a beautiful view. The house had a nice common lounge area with many books and information on the area. Breakfast was served in a lovely conservatory with views of Iona. Gillian made sure to introduce all the guests to each other, which I thought was a nice touch that I had not seen in other places. The food was fantastic from homemade breads and jams to delicious cooked breakfasts. The food was by far the best of any B&B we had been to on the trip. Later in the day after a wonderful trip to Iona, we could smell the fresh bread baking as we drank our hot chocolate and sat in the conservatory talking about our day.
We had to catch an early morning ferry our last day and knew we'd have to leave before breakfast. Gillian very kindly offered to have a cold breakfast of toast, cereal, and fruit for us before we left. I was not expecting this at all and I thought it was most thoughtful of her to offer this. She said she always wants to see her guests off and say goodbye. In addition to all of this Staffa House is committed to making good choices for the environment from recycling to offering local and sustainable food options. It was all these special touches that made this a wonderful place to stay in one of the most special places I have been.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hosts were gracious and welcoming, never intrusive. The full breakfasts were works of art that changed daily. Ingredients are organic and locally sourced; chef Ali is a master chef in the kitchen and this is reflected in the menu that changes daily. Rooms are small but comfortable and immaculate. Centrally located, free parking. A wonderful base for excursions to Staffa and Iona Islands (take the Fitzpatrick bros. boat tour to spot minke whales and dolphins!). Would return to Staffa House in an instant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDF049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
27.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
23.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
339 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffa House

Property: Staffa House
Address: A848/849, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fionnphort
Hotel Class:3 star — Staffa House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Staffa House Fionnphort, Scotland - Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing