We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first visit to Mull”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Fionnphort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We didn't know quite what to expect by visiting the Isle of Mull but it was so much better than expected. We did wonder where we would end up on the single track road to Fionnphort but it was well worth the trip when we got there. This was mainly down to our stay at Seaview B&B. We were made to feel very welcome by Jane and John (and the dogs) and John very kindly arranged a wildlife tour which gave us the chance to see what we came to see - the Sea Eagle. The view when having our breakfast is something we think about every day. Seaview was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in - the breakfast (with the view) was outstanding. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandabennett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Amanda,

Thank you for popping by and posting your review. We are delighted your first visit to the Isle of Mull was so much better than you expected. We understand the trepidation of driving 37 miles down a single track road and wondering where it is you are going to end up; sometimes we call it the 'white knuckle' drive for first timers :-) We are also delighted that your stay with us helped make your stay worthwhile and that you were able to see the Sea Eagles. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future so we can share Mull's other hidden gems with you both.

With kind regards,

John & Jane Noddings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Seaview and wish we could have stayed longer. Great location only 2 minutes from ferry to Iona. Rooms are quite small but very clean & comfortable. Lovely ensuite shower room. Very nice freshly prepared breakfast served in conservatory with view over to Iona.
John & Jane are very friendly and welcoming. So are the 2 dogs Megan & Lainie!
Lots of lovely walks from the doorstep & a nice pub next door for evening meals. A very relaxing place to unwind. Comfortable lounge with lots of local information, maps & books.
Very reasonably priced for the standard of accommodation & attention to detail. Mull and the Seaview both surpassed our expectations!

Room Tip: Lunga has a small window seat with a great view over to Iona. Brand new ensuite shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your lovely kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

With kind regards,
John & Jane Noddings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our third visit to Seaview and as always we had a lovely time. John and Jane made us very welcome. Jane is a great cook and we enjoyed the venison casserole - infact it was the tastiest venison I have ever had. The cheesecake and apple pudding were also delightful. My husband tackled the seafood special - very impressive - he is still talking about it! John is very knowledgeable about the area and is well respected across Mull according to several people we met. He is keen to preserve the environment and this is reflected in the way Seaview is run. The rooms are clean, warm and cosy and provided us with everything we needed. It was a delight to eat our meals overlooking Iona and we often lingered absorbing the peace and tranquility. There is a shop and a pub nearby - this serves reasonably priced meals - and of course the ferry point for Iona and Staffa. A good base for walking and wildlife spotting.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are available. Our latest one was at the back but the view was pleasant enough over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello Carol,

Thank you for dropping by and posting your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us again - your kind words and comments are very much appreciated. If you would like the venison casserole recipe email me directly and I'll happily send it on to you. Hopefully the photo Alan took of his seafood platter will keep him going until you come again :-)

We do love where we love and we are keen to care for our surroundings as much as we can; it was good of you to notice our efforts in the running of our business and our home. We do our best without preaching or compromising on the quality of our service, care and product that we offer our guests.

Many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

With kind regards,
John & Jane Noddings
(Megan and Lainie too of course)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked our holiday solely on the basis of the information on the website, and before we arrived wondered if we had made the right choice of location. We received a friendly welcome from the dogs, who were very well behaved and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious and we appreciated the advice John gave us about places to visit, boat trips to take etc. The room was comfortable, with a lovely view of the beach.

We had thought that Fionnphort may be rather remote and isolated, and wondered if Tobermory would have been a better place to stay. In fact, we loved Fionnphort and the fact it was so convenient for the ferry to Iona and boat trips to Staffa. We loved looking across to Iona as the sun was setting in the evening - breathtaking. The weather was consistently sunny, if cold, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were glad we had booked a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enaj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello and thank you for stopping by and posting a review for us. You are our 200th review!

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite your reservations about our rural island location. Many guests who come to stay feel as though they are on a road taking them to the edge of the world especially after the 37 mile drive down the single track road; fortunately they always fall in love with the place as well as the views we are so lucky to enjoy every day.

Look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Sláinte,
John & Jane Noddings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent Bed and Breakfast, just across from Iona.
John and Jane were excellent hosts and serve the best breakfasts on the Island.

This is a warm and comfortable place to stay, with good free Wi Fi, a great breakfast room and a visitors lounge.
This is a nice part of Mull, with easy access to Iona.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Philosopherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at Seaview. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us albeit such a short one and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

With kind regards,
Jane & John Noddings

PS: Glad you the wi-fi service met your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Seaview. The house is charming, the owner went beyond himself to make us feel welcomed and the breakfast was delicious. We both remember about the 2 nights spent there with great delight. Everything is very clean, confortable and a warm and cosy atmoshere is present everywhere.

Room Tip: The house is one minute away from Iona ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying with us at Seaview - your kind comments are much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and that we were able to make you feel so welcome and comfortable.

With kind regards,
John & Jane Noddings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just enjoyed a really good 3 night stay at the Seaview B&B in Fionnphort. It was first class and everything you would expect of a well deserved 4* rating. John and Jane gave us a warm welcome and great hospitality. John helped a lot with information about the local area particularly with regard to some of the beautiful local walks. Jane will provide picnics for a day out and the Keel Row Restuarant nearby is perfect for good pub meals. We will definitely stay again on our next visit to the beautiful island of Mull as they are ideally placed for a visit to Mull and Iona.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avcolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer61, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us here at Seaview.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your 3 day break so enjoyable - made all the more enjoyable by the dry, sunny weather even if it was a wee bit cold! But no rain :-) We hope to see you both again sometime.

With kind regards,

John & Jane Noddings, Megan & Lainie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
27.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
23.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
721 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
139 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
23.7 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bed & Breakfast

Address: Fionnphort | Isle of Mull, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fionnphort
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview is the home of authentic Scottish island hospitality, delicious food, good craic and award winning customer service. A genuine warm welcome awaits you at Seaview, here on the south west peninsula on the Isle of Mull overlooking the gorgeous colours of the Sound of Iona and her famous Abbey. Scottish Thistle Award winning Seaview is a traditional Hebridean cottage built from the Ross of Mull pink granite and is the home of your hosts John & Jane Noddings. As well as being the nearest 4 star GOLD B&B en-suite accommodation, close to the ferry for Iona, Staffa & Treshnish Isles, Seaview are also holders of the Gold Award for Green Tourism reflecting the commitment of John & Jane as ambassadors to environmentally responsible tourism. Renowned for our hospitality and home cooking, enjoy our famous 'Fingals' Breakfast and seafood dinners whilst enjoying the panoramic seascapes of Iona and its historic Abbey and surrounding landscapes from our breakfast room. As well as all the home comforts, we also offer cycle hire, a same day laundry service, free wireless broadband access, picnic lunches and much more. Short breaks also available throughout the year - ideal for wildlife, bird watching, walking, whale watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Bed & Breakfast Fionnphort, Scotland - Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing