We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, ideally situated .”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach View from bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach
View from bedroom 1
Sunset from our beach
Inner hall
Local beach
walk from cottage
Sammy seal at ferry near cottage we feed him fish we catch
View of cottage in the distance from Iona
Sunset at cottage
Cottage from side
Cottage from left
Local 'Market beach'
Local beach near Erraid
View from right of cottage beach.
Sunset from cottage July 2012
Beach & good find !!
Sunset on our beach from garden
Dinning area - double doors to garden/beach
View from bedroom
Jackie & Scruffy on our beach.
We get some strange sky’s at our cottage.
Cottage from beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GoPlaces7...
1 review
“Lovely cottage, ideally situated .”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were delighted with the accommodation, large garden, right on the beach. Five minutes walk to the ferry, 10mins to Iona, which was a good visit. On our doorstep there was a nice pub, which welcomed dogs. They also did teas and coffee, sit in or takeaway meals. There was a place sold fresh crab, lobster, and fish and chips. There was a boat trip to Staffa to see Fingals cave, and the wild life. Great holiday. Thank you so much Mr & Mrs Kirkwood.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thanks for the review Ida
We do hope you consider returning - you would certainly be welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhcroft
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a very good location for our family. The dogs loved it. We did. We were a stones throw from the fishing hut for everything fishy. And a stones throw from the pub. Another goody. We treated our potential son in law and daughter to a meal at ninth wave around the back of the house. Huge reviews from them on their visit there. Owners friendly, ensuring we had all our needs and letting us know the secret beaches. And organised a new microwave. I would have given the place five stars if there had been a dishwasher. A must really when you have five people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Hi Heather
Many thanks for the kind review.
We are in the Cottage after your stay and must say we are so pleased with the condition your have left the cottage in.
It is a shame we have received or only 4star rating from you but fully understand your reason to do so.
As we received your email we were looking at dishwashers on line as we totally agree with you about the need for one in the cottage, especially when we have a large party staying there, and will be installing one soon.
Lastly we do hope you return to Tigh-Na-Failte ( complete with new dishwasher ) as you would certainly be very welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth...
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay for a week in this beautiful cottage. We absolutely loved the view and also the cottage itself. We want to swap it for our own house! It's a little paradise on earth and the shop and pub are a real plus to that. The house is warm, clean and cosy, with a very nice bathroom with excellent shower. We loved our stay in the cottage, in Fionnphort and on Mull and will never forget the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage.
We love going there ourselves.
The beaches and views never cease to amaze us.
We do hope you consider returning.
You would be certainly welcome.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion...
1 review
“Fionnphort”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Fabulous place even in November! Loved watching the ferry running across to Iona, Iona was the land of rainbows, saw dolphins crossing the bay. Plenty of lovely walks and secluded beaches. Long drive down to Fionnphort from Craignure on single track road!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
Many thanks for your kind reviews and do hope you consider a return visit.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce B
1 review
“The most charming, comfortable seaside cottage with spectacular views.”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This accommodation not only offers everything you need to be fully functional but also has such charm and comfort. Its colors and decor make it truly a "Beach Cottage". When you walked out the door of the cottage, the front yard spilled right down onto a beautiful beach, and to the right there were rocks and hills to climb on and explore with beautiful views of the ocean and town of Fionnphort from the top. Because of its location we were able to access the island of Iona as frequently as we wished during our weeklong stay. The ferry stop was just down the street. Although we prepared most of our meals with food from the well stocked Ferry Shop just up the road, we were also able to enjoy wonderful meals from the nearby restaurants - all within walking distance also. We enjoyed seeing sheep and highland cows wander about, and at night beautiful sunsets and night skies full of stars right out our front windows. We traveled without a car and found that one was not needed with this cottage. The bus from Craignure dropped us within steps of the cottage and once we were here there were so many places and beaches to explore right here on foot, we could have stayed on another week or two and still never tired of this lovely place. I would definitely say here again if given the opportunity and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to visit this area of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, cleanliness and decor of the cottage as well as the location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thanks Joyce
You are welcome back any time.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector...
1 review
“one of the best holiday cottages we have ever been to.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location, great cottage.every thing one needs for a comfortable stay.Thought and effort
has gone into making the visitors feel welcome,

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thanks for the kind comments about your stay at our cottage and do hope you consider a return visit.
Best regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomMilne1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to say”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I don’t usually write reviews but wanted to make an exception for our stay at Tigh-Na-Failte. It’s the second time that we’ve stayed at the cottage (families with kids) and it was every bit as lovely as we remembered it from several years before. So beautiful and peaceful – the coming and going of the Iona ferry marks time through the day, the view across to Iona and the abbey is ever changing, as are the colours of the water in the Sound. The local beaches must be among the most beautiful in the world. Kilvickeon and Market Bay are two favourites - but all the beaches on the Ross (Uisken, Ardanlish, Knockvolagen) are stunningly beautiful. There’s a kayak which you can use to paddle around the coastline – if you go towards Kintra bay you will usually find seals which will swim up close to the kayak as well as lots of seabirds. We saw bottlenose dolphins in the Sound and hundreds of common dolphins (as well as basking sharks and much else) on one of the boat trips that you can take from the island. The waters are clear and you can see to the bottom of deep water and so (although we did not have them) wet suits and snorkels would be worth bringing along. The beach outside the cottage is interesting for children to play – rocks, pools, streams, climbing, incredible size and varieties of seaweed. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped and easy to live in and everything works well. You can get everything you need from the local store and there’s a pub that does decent food and takeaways and the kippers from the seafood bar on the ferry pier make a cheap and tasty breakfast! Both times we’ve stayed at the cottage there’s been a breeze most of the time and so little trouble with midges. So, no reservations: a wonderful place for a holiday.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your return stay at Tigh-Na-Failte.
Many thanks for the review and look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing