We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”
Review of Achaban House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Achaban House
Ranked #4 of 5 Fionnphort B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2011

stayed in june of this year for 3 nights...Mrs Morley was very hospitable and contrary to a review i read there was no problem wih us bringing our dog!....rooms were very clean which is important! breakfast was excellent and the location was very peaceful! overall we really enjoyed our time there..the only downside was it was quite cold for my mum! Mrs Morley went out of her way to be hospitable to us especially to my mum which made the time here even nicer as my mum is ill and this time away was a birthday treat for her! so thank you for that!!!

Room Tip: maybe a television in bedrooms
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julielargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Achaban House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is probably a good place to stay if you are a couple without dogs or kids, or perhaps a family with children old enough to be neat and tidy. Owners are VERY house-proud. Not a bad thing on the face of it - our bedroom was absolutely spotless and immaculate, and had everything needed for a short break (apart from no TV and shower only lukewarm). But the minute we walked through the front door on arrival we were warned that Mrs Morley would 'go mad' if we or our dog tracked mud into the hallway. We were made to feel quite uncomfortable as though the owners were constantly anxious that guests were going to damage something or make a mess. It was therefore difficult to relax and unwind there. For example, we had brought a packet of wet wipes with us for our dog's paws, which we left in the bathroom and which our hosts apparently saw and were instantly anxious about: we went out for the day and when we came back to our room, a brand new notice had appeared on top of the toilet asking that we not put anything except loo paper down it! We felt a bit that we were there on sufferance and were not really welcome.

We could not recommend this B&B to other dog owners either because of the cattle-grid at the bottom of the driveway. This covers the entire entrance to the drive from the road and the only way to get our dog across it for evening walkies was to carry him whilst navigating the slippery metal bars of the grid.

On the positive side, the breakfast was very good with great coffee. Mr Morley was helpful about looking up ferry timetables and weather forecasts, and offering advice on travel routes and parking. The area is extremely quiet at night-time - there was no traffic noise and no sounds at all at night which made it easy to get a good night's sleep. The location is extremely convenient for the western side of Mull and in particular for the ferry to Iona.

I would recommend this B&B to a friend - but only if they did not have dogs or kids.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AchabanHouse, Owner at Achaban House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Achaban House is under new management offering private ensuite rooms with a guest kitchen. Please visit the website to see full details of what facilities are on offer. We have a family/group room sleeping five guests in single beds which is ideal for families with children, who are very welcome. We are unable to accept dogs apart from guide dogs.
Best regards
Matt Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The owners here seemed to have an unhappy demeanour which contributed to our low score on service. If you like the smell of wet dog permeating the premises then this is the place for you. The rooms are basic with no hairdriers or tv although they do have tea making facilites. The breakfasts were decent. We would return to this area but not to this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDunsBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AchabanHouse, Owner at Achaban House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Achaban House is under new management offering private ensuite rooms with a guest kitchen, please visit the website to see further details of what facilities are on offer. We do not take dogs
Matt Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is a very nice place to stay and Gill and Barry Morley are great hosts. Stayed here for 3 very enjoyable nights. The house is in a lovely quiet spot overlooking Loch Pottie and only a 10 minute walk from Fionnphort. The room was spacious and clean with a nice view over the countryside, and I even woke to hear a cuckoo singing in the trees outside. Enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast which set me up perfectly for the day ahead. Would highly recommend staying here to relax and enjoy the scenery and hospitality of Mull. The roads on Mull take a bit of getting used to as the majority are single track roads with passing places so allow plenty of time to get anywhere. Can also recommend going on the boat trip to the isle of Staffa and the Treshnish Isles. Fingal's Cave on Staffa is absolutely stunning and watching the puffins on the Treshnish Isles is an absolute joy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I would highly recommend Achaban House to those interested in visiting the monastic community of Iona, or just enjoying the remote beauty of the Isle of Mull. Gill and Barry were excellent hosts and certainly made us feel welcome. Although the house is a bit outside of Fionnphort, Gill came in and picked us up and we were able to catch the bus at the end of the drive when we left - so getting around was no trouble at all. The quiet serenity of the place was only interrupted by a persistant cuckoo bird outside our window. But even that had its own charm. The ancient standing stone in the front yard was just one of the surprises waiting for us. Others included a comfortable room, a delicious breakfast and, of course, there was that cuckoo, cuckoo, cuckoo. Delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Elisabetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achaban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achaban House

Address: Fionnphort | Isle of Mull, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fionnphort
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achaban House has a lovely setting within 6 acres of grassland and woodland, one mile from Fionnphort in the beautiful Ross of Mull where the ferry leaves for Iona Bedrooms are ensuite or with a private bathroom, accommodating 14 guests. The House is under new ownership and has a self-catering kitchen available for guests use, with a spacious sitting room and dining room. There is a drying room, laundry service, cycle storage and space on site for cars and kayaks. We are the perfect accommodation for anyone interested in the outdoors and wildlife and welcome groups, couples, individuals and families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Achaban House Fionnphort, Scotland - Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing