We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Achnadrish House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dervaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Achnadrish House
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Chester & Barbara Goudie


We have recently come back from spending two weeks with Mike and Jane and the girls. This was the second two week holiday we have had at Achnadrish this year. We had two visits last year as well and enjoy it so much as it’s like being part of the family. Everybody is so glad to see you when you arrive, especially three enthusiastic Labradors.

The food is something else; the breakfast keeps you going nearly all day (Thai half-hot highly recommended). When you have one of Mike’s evening meals you are treated like royalty and the dining room is transformed by candlelight. Fresh seafood is Mike’s speciality (wild salmon, scallops, langoustines). After a sumptuous dinner, it is great to retire to the lounge with a huge log fire and a dram with Mike. It’s like home with no washing up!
I had a birthday while I was there; last year I got a candle in a tomato with my bacon and eggs, this year was a sparkler in my Thai half-hot! Mike and the girls came to wish me a happy birthday, all very embarrassing with all the other guests at breakfast but we all had a good laugh.

We stay in what Mike calls the Presidential Suite. It is a lovely room with a large sofa, an en suite bathroom and an entrance where there is plenty of room to hang coats and plug in all the things like camera battery chargers as that is a must with all the fantastic scenery you have all round you on Mull. Like Mike, we take a lot of photographs, so we are always having chats with him about our pictures. This means the laptops come out and it turns into a discussion on Photoshop and which is the best way to get the most out of it. Then I’m in trouble with not letting Mike get on with all the jobs he has to do to keep such a wonderful old house going.

Mull is a beautiful, tranquil place with superb scenery and wildlife and Mike can always give advice on where to go and what to see. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank ChesterGoudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Achnadrish House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2008

We had looked at hotels to plan our visit to Mull but found Mick's B&B due to late arrival and so glad we did. The size of the building meant we arrived to a roaring fire and the room to ourselves. Stayed in October for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. We were in Zoe's room which is large and bright and has a comfortable bed and settee which felt slightly separate from the rest of the house. We would never have had the luxury of as much space and privacy anywhere else.

The breakfast was cooked to perfection and in retrospect we would have booked an evening meal with Mick as I'm sure it would have paralleled anything we had in Tobermory or Dervaig. The added bonus of staying here is you gain an insight into the island from one of the locals and are made to feel very at home.

I am from Scotland and have travelled extensively around the west coast but cannot find anywhere to match Mull's scenery, wildlife and outstanding beauty. Lovely beaches, woodland, mountains and lochs create a diversity rarely seen in such a condensed area.

A lovely couple of days and a real gem of a place, we will be back again.

Elouise and Alan

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were greeted by Mike Story with the warmest Scottish welcome you can imagine, We were the only guests and he was a most convivial host.We stayed for four nights and ate in on three nights. I have to say it was some of the best food we have ever had any where in the world, mainly excellent fish with some wonderful pork from a local producer. The fish was sourced by Mike on a daily basis from the fishermen at Tobermory harbour.
The house is very comfortable with far eastern touches to the decor with candles in the dining room at night. There is always a fire in the woodburning stove at breakfast time and a lovely fire in the lounge at night.
We have stayed twice in the same room which was clean, comfortable and huge with a very cosy duvet.
It is the perfect location for exploring North & Central Mull, is within striking distance of food shops (as the B and B is not licensed) and near other places to eat. As Mull is huge, remote and mainly single track roads do not expect to make it quickly to Iona from here. It took us 8 hours to slowly drive 3/4 of the island. We saw sea eagles,golden eagles and otters several times. Mull is one of the most beatiful of the Scottish islands and this place was home away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebellDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

My husband and I had a three night stay at Achnadrish House at the end of June - this was my husband's first visit to Mull. On arrival we immediately felt at home. Mike and his family are excellent hosts, and the dogs are just beautiful (and I speak as a lukewarm dog lover!). We had a mini-suite with a large bedroom, big bathroom and a roomy "lobby area", which meant it was lovely and quiet. Every comfort had been thought of, and despite it being June, the weather was being Scottish and the fire in the lounge was most welcome. On the second night, we opted to dine in and sample Mike's cooking - the best decision of our holiday. We had a marvellous meal in a candle lit dining room, again with a warming fire. The food was better than we had at a highly recommended restaurant in Tobermory, and the service immeasurably so. We were able to bring in our own wine, and I may add all of this was done just for my husband and me - a truly romantic experience. I can highly recommend Achnadrish House, and would go as far as to say don't stay anywhere else. We travelled all over the island and found it very convenient. There is also a self-catering house attached, which would be excellent for families/groups. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jeanniefaeaberdeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

.....we arrived to a warm welcome from our host, whom we soon got to know as friendly helpful Mike. We crossed on the ferry from Lochaline to Fishnish - much cheaper, quicker and closer than from Oban, but it does involve quite a long but beautiful drive from Fort William on the mainland (via the Corran ferry) Mike soon settled us into Molly's room, and we felt very at home.
He recommended a local pub, 10 minutes away in Dervaig, where we had one of the best pub meals ever. Back in time to relax in front of a log fire on huge cosy sofas with a complimentary dram, for a bit of late evening TV. A peaceful nights sleep in our very comfortable bedroom with private loo and huge shower room, was followed by a superb breakfast expertly cooked by Mike. We regret not having the appetite to try the Thai option which looked delicious when served to one of our fellow guests.
Night 2 we opted for Mike's fish dinner. What a great evening! It turned out to be candle-lit with soft music and the best fish meal we've ever had. (and one of us used to hate fish!) Mike even dressed the part - see photo. We finished up in front of that log fire again, this time with coffee and Mike sharing some of his wonderful collection of photos. Thoroughly recommend this real family home complete with children and 3 lovely labradors.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Walkers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed in August for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. We were in Zoe's room which is large, clean and bright and has a comfortable bed and settee.
The breakfasts are mouth wateringly good with lots of fresh produce and cooked to perfection. Mike Story the owner is a great host, relaxing, fun and attentive and from what we can gather a great chef. We didn't experience his evening meal gourmets this time but I'm sure we will the next as I'm sure we'll be back.
Recommended for peace, food, sorroundings, location (especially to the pub in Dervaig) and the host.
Mull also is outstandingly beautifull. We saw Sea Eagles on the last day and lots of Buzzards and Sea Otters whilst we were there - a real gem of a place.
Steve & Joan - Cheshire

Stayed: August 2008
Thank SteveJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis in "The Cabin" which is let for self catering too.We liked having the freedom to cook (or rather reheat meals) for ourselvesand this was useful There is an excellent deli in Tobermory on the front which does home cooked chilled meals e.g. lasagne.The Cabin is like a bed sit for two with a kingsize (5 foot not 6 foot ) bed.It has its own entrance so you can be really independent. Mike,the owner, was away for most of our stay but we were very glad to meet him the day we left. He is great - full of local knowledge. A real Scottish laird!! In fact we thought he had been imported from th BBC programme Monarch of the Glen!! If you want to meet a proper local come here as we found that most of the other places we stayed at on our tour were thoroughly English.Thisplace is different. Mike prepared us his Asian special breakfast - fantastic!! A delicate Thai offering - see photo. He also presented us with a lovely box of chocolates from the Mull chocolate shop - yummy. A lovely and unexpected touch. Just a couple of niggles which need sorting out - the toilet seat kept falling off which was rather disconcerting and dangerous and the shower refused to mix hot and cold water. One or the other but not both. All in all a lovely stay. We would probably stay in the house if we came again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dervaig
18.6 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
715 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killoran House
Killoran House
#3 of 10 in Dervaig
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 27 in Tobermory
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achnadrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achnadrish House

Address: Achnadrish House Dervaig Road | Near Tobermory, Dervaig PA75 6QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Dervaig
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dervaig
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achnadrish is situated in the North of Mull, 5 miles from the brightly coloured harbour town of Tobermory and 2 miles from the picturesque village of Dervaig. Surrounded by woodland gardens, hidden amongst trees and moorland, it dates from 1695 and was once a shooting lodge for a much large estate. Mike and Jane Story welcome guests for Bed & Breakfast in the main house with Self Catering also available in a separate wing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Achnadrish House Dervaig, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing