We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hassle free accommodation for people and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beech Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beech Lodge
The living area of Beech Living and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Beech Lodge
The living area of Beech
Living and dining area
The kitchen in Beech Lodge
The double bedroom in Beech
Twin Bedroom in Beech
Bunk beds in Beech
Sunset from the lodges
Doggy welcome packs for all our furry friends
Part of the gardens of Cill Mhoire Lodges
All our lodges, with Beech lodge on the far right
Make sure you take a visit to Staffa with 10% off when you book with us
The Tresnish Isles - where these little guys live from May through to August
A white tailed eagle flying over the gardens
Tobermory - the 'Capital'of Mull!
Calgary bay, with it's white sandy beaches, just five miles from your lodge
Taken from the path above the lodges
The view from above the lodges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dervaig, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HagueJock
The Hague
2 reviews
“Great island, nice property, indifferent landlord”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Mull is a super island to visit and Dervaig is an unexpected good choice of base. The chalet was nicely completed, even if, I think, not the luxury standard it claimed. As is often the case, the photos were misleading as a number of chalets, as well as the owner's house, share a small area.

Perhaps I was unfortunate, but I encountered a relatively frosty reception when I arrived which was not recovered by listening to a list of rules rather than having a more typically expected arrival conversation. We had two dogs. They are tolerated rather than welcomed. That is fine but I would have preferred that was made clearer. Finally, after the visit, I had a disagreement with the landlord on a small issue.

The ultimate test is always would I return or recommend this property? I would definitely go back to Dervaig but certainly not this chalet. To be fair, others have been far more generous than me in comments about the landlord so maybe he was having a bad day. Maybe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The island and the town
Liked least: Rules based approach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hassle free accommodation for people and dogs in a stunning location.”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The lodge is perfect for us and our 4 dogs. It has loads of room and everything you need for a self catering holiday. The layout provides a lot of space and is very easy to keep clean even with moulting collies and wet sandy labradors to contend with! Andrew and Janet are very friendly and helpful and treat us as friends rather than visitors. We have a long drive to get to the lodge living 200 miles away, and they have very obliging when our timing and plans have been changed. Our initial visit 2 years ago has developed into 2 visits a year and we are hoping to extend the length of our stay to a fortnight next year. The scenery is amazing and being 20 minutes from Tobermory and 40 minutes from the ferry makes it an ideal destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything included to a high standard and the ability to have all the dogs without any hassle.
Liked least: Balcony doesn't have a gate to keep the dogs in.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge. Janet and I are delighted that enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the autumn.
Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich C
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for three nights and it was a fantastic experience.

The lodge was grear and the setting lovely.

Dervaig itself is a great base for exploring the Northwest of the island with three of the best beaches within a 10 minute drive from the lodge, including the famous Calgary Bay.

Highly recommended and we will hopefully visit again in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge at Cill-Moire Lodges. Janet and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elandsta
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxation in comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a short break at Beech Lodge, the three bedroom lodge at this site. The lodge was ideal for our mixed age family. It was well presented and sat in a peaceful location, within easy travelling distance of the delights of the island.
Two adults, one teenager, two children and two dogs fitted easily into this well equipped chalet. The owners live in site and are ready and willing to provide help and support if required but respect the privacy of their guests. I would thoroughly recommend this property for families and groups wishing to relax and enjoy the delights of Mull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge. We make every effort to try and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and it is lovely to know our efforts are appreciated. Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cottage, owners and location for your holiday.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were provided with lots of Island info by owner. He booked our boat tour, suggested places to dine and sites to see. The 3 bedroom cottage was great for our family of 5. It was modern, clean and location was great. Nice spot to come back to at the end of a day touring Isle of Mull. Very much enjoyed our stay at Cill-Moire Lodges and would highly recommend. Our 3 boys can come home each day with some dirty clothing so having a laundry machine in the cottage was a huge plus. Mull is a great vacation location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and modern
Liked least: Liked all
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge. We were happy to be of help with advice/info and are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBocho
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely lodge in an idyllic spot”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge certainly lived up to it's excellent reviews. It was clean and well looked after. It is well positioned in a quiet spot just outside the pretty Dervaig village.

The Bellachroy Inn was a 2 minute drive away (bit of a hike uphill if you want to walk!) which was perfect for us. We had some amazing meals there and would highly recommend the Mull Platter - just amazing. We also got take away from there as we were taking turns to babysit.

We loved exploring the Isle of Mull and went to Tobermory (essential if you are taking a toddler), a boat trip to Staffa and Iona, Calgary Bay and Duart Castle. My tip would be to be well prepared for the boat trips as we ended up getting soaking wet after the weather turned halfway to Staffa.

We had a great week and would highly recommend a stay at Beech Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Missed having a bath as we had a child with us
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge. Janet and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mull in the future.

Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kafkaf321
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect cabin retreat”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled all over Mull last week and were delighted to call Cill-Mhoire Beech Lodge our home for the duration of our stay. The lodge was beautiful - the perfect retreat to get away from it all.

The lodge itself was warm and comfortable with plenty of room and facilities for cosy days/nights in.

The location is fantastic too. Sitting in Dervaig, arguably the most beautiful village on the island, it's not only convenient for exploring the north of the island but is also within easy access of a great local pub and grocery shop - not to mention some wonderful wildlife right on your doorstep!

Andrew and Janet were helpful from the minute we started communicating about our booking. We couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful hosts for our stay.

We really enjoyed our visit and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful retreat with the treasures of Mull on your doorstep
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Beech Lodge; Janet and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Andrew & Janet Stevens
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing