We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm and welcoming house”
Review of Druimnacroish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dervaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Druimnacroish
Ranked #1 of 10 Dervaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Warm and welcoming house”
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Having come from a very cold and unsatisfactory hotel elsewhere in the Highlands, we just loved Druimnacroish. We felt welcomed from the word go, as we were offered tea and shortbread on arrival. All food was excellent and home made and we loved the atmosphere - all those books around the place and the blazing wood fire every evening in the large sittingroom-just the place to chill out and read. The conservatory with all its plants and wonderful views would be just the place to sit on a summer evening, so we will have to go back some day. Our bedroom was large and comfortable too. Our hosts took the time to tell us about some of the history of the area. We had a really nice and relaxing few days.

  • Liked — Comfort of house, food, welcoming attitude of hosts.
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

If you are wanting to get away from everything this is the place to go. You can't fail to chill out in this beautiful farmhouse with wonderful views and spacious bedrooms. The owners are a lovely couple and their home made bread and jam is to die for. Who needs a television in your room when you can look out at the beautiful countryside and watch deer roam in the field at the bottom of the garden. Highly recommended!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We only stayed for a weekend, would like more time !
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank familywholikehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

stayed here last weekend and a had a wonderful time, was more than happy with the hotel and the very helpful owners. loved the beautiful old farmhouse building, and the relaxed atmosphere. also loved the breakfast, smashin blackpudding!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ek0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We loved Druimnacroish and will certainly go back next time we make it to Mull. I've read the two reviews and I think the person who was scared of spiderwebs and limited menus really should stick to Holiday Inns in cities. This is a country house (hence the name) and if you don't like remote, well, what are doing on Mull anyway? It's a beautiful but intoxicatingly dizzy drive (at least late in the day with the sun low) from Tobermory on a winding island road. This corner of Mull is gorgeous hilly moorland. Druimnacroish itself is clean and bright, with a great conservatory dining room, a well-stocked library AND a lounge with well-stocked mini-bar (both proofs to me of a civilized and welcoming inn!); our room was large, comfortable, and very nicely furnished. We are only sorry that we didn't stay longer; next time we visit it will be for a few nights at least.

  • Liked — peace and quiet, country location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

Druimnacroish is a very pleasant, small and friendly hotel. It caters mainly to adults but they did their best to make my 6 year old daughter feel comfortable. It is situated along a quiet road, up a valley from the West coast of the island. The surroundings are quiet and restful, rolling hills upon which innumerable, and sometimes suicidal, sheep run free. The rooms are large and bright, almost Scandinavian in feel. As far as dining is concerned, the food is excellent. While the evening dinner menu is not extensive it is of a high order, focusing on quality local produce. In short, Druimnacroish is a lovely base for exploring Mull.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2006

The exterior and gardens can only be described as looking like a run down farmhouse. Cobwebs around the front door. The rooms were dark and dingy and furnished with mis-matched second-hand furniture. The public rooms didn't provide comfortable seating nor did the conservatory.
Dinner was ok but a very limited choice.

A very dissappointing experience, not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ned123, Owner at Druimnacroish, responded to this review, September 17, 2006
Yes, this is an old farmhouse and mill, although I don't agree that it's run down.

We can't be sure you didn't see a cobweb (show me a country house without spiders). But we knock them down regularly. Maybe we missed one.

Yes, we prefer (quality) second hand furniture over modern, and yes, we have a mixture of both. But I suspect you didn't visit the other resident's lounge (through the other door to the conservatory) which has a range of comfy chairs.

Yes, the choice at dinner is limited, but that reflects the size of place we have (6 rooms) and the fact that we cook everything from fresh. Show me a small restaurant with a long menu and I'll show you a big freezer and a microwave.

I think the problem here is that you were looking for a flashy or more formal kind of place, and that we're simply not.

Honest, simple, homely, personal, unpretentious. Our other guests enjoy it here. (I wish some of them would write to TripAdvisor !)

And although we disagree with your review, you clearly haven't been happy here, which we regret. If you'd like to contact us, we'd be more than happy to offer you a refund. It really is a shame that you didn't mention it at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dervaig
5.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
701 reviews
19.5 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#11 of 27 in Tobermory
343 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
134 reviews
20.2 mi away
Craignure Inn
Craignure Inn
#1 of 4 in Craignure
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druimnacroish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druimnacroish

Property: Druimnacroish
Address: Dervaig, Dervaig PA75 6QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Dervaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dervaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Druimnacroish 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid back, friendly, spacious, family-run holiday accommodation in a peaceful rural location and with great views from every guest room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Druimnacroish Dervaig, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing