We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am Birlinn October 2012”
Review of Am Birlinn

Am Birlinn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dervaig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $52
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Am Birlinn October 2012”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent place to eat, varied choices, reasonably priced, the staff were so friendly and helpful to my husband who had never had lobser before! Very modern building, but good old fashioned service....One complaint was we didn't find it until our last night!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    135
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food,and service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After a days cycling we looked forward to a nice meal,and werent disappointed.The restaurant will send a car to pick you up and drop you off after your meal.The service from the driver and restaurant staff was friendly and homely.The restaurant was lovely,and food was amazing,really enjoyed our experience. thank you

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilith1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely meal”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a geat night here and a fantastic meal, the pork belly was the best I have ever eaten, friendly efficient staff and we appreciated the lift provided by the restaurant from our accomodation in Dervaig !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Jewel in Mull's Catering Crown.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were there twice around the end of July.
I descibe it as the jewel in Mull's crown, but in fact it's must be one of Scotland's best. Quality of service, menu, preparation and presentation are all excellent.
A beautiful modern building in a great setting. Superb friendly and helpful staff.
All the clowns and chancers trying to run restaurants in Tobermory should perhaps give Am Birlinn a visit - just to see how things are meant to be done!
We couldn't believe the prices for such excellence - only slightly more than we'd probably pay for a mediochre bar meal elsewhere.
Absolutely great! And we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, good food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed a nice evening meal here during our recent trip to Mull. Good menu with a wide choice.

The Food was delicious and good sized portions (in fact my husband couldn't manage all his)!

Restaurant was modern and clean, although slightly lacking in atmosphere as it was almost empty the evening we were there (it was quite early). Staff were pleasant and friendly, especially the waitress we had.

Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Am Birlinn also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Am Birlinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing