We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matt, Lizzie + Jasper the collie shieling number 9”
Review of Shieling Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shieling Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fabulous place on beautiful Mull . Great facilities. Great people . Couldn't do enough for us. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

The best site we have visited

Well done to everyone at Shielings

See you next year hopefully

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mattnewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed yourselves, and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent one night camping in a tent during late August 2013. Despite the rain, this site was a refreshing stop, and it boasted some of the best facilities that we saw during our fortnight-long camping trip. Very clean, great showers, and we were very impressed by the common room, with sofas, a TV, and a log fire. Booking is essential for a good view in high season, but we did not, and there was plenty of space. Make sure to take a trip to the Craignure Inn!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

So glad you were pleased with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived and were given a choice of places to hitch our tent for a week, We choose our pitch overlooking the Ben Nevis range and Loch, beautiful. Our nearest toilet and shower block were in sight and in a plastic yurt, the best power showers iv had on a campsite and very hot!!! Very clean and next door was a common room with a log burner always burning, small freezer, kettle, sinks, microwave and seats, good if you have a wet stay though we didnt use as sun was shining for nearly our whole week!!! Staff fab and very knowledgeable. Bunnies everywhere, a total get away from it all. Lovely pub with great food within walking distance and a hotel further along with great steak night on a Thursday! Ran out of time to see all we planned so will be returning next August :-D

Room Tip: If you dont fancy bringing your own tent they have there own, some on suite!!! All heated!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Very encouraging for us all. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Camped at Shielings for 2 nights in August. Very pleased, the staff looked after the place, had a good attitude, clean facilities and beautiful views; we watched the ferry. Good strong Wifi. The only problem was the showers weren't draining but they said they would deal with it straight away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseMAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Many thanks. The showers are all sorted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this campsite twice now and have been very happy both times.

The first time we stayed we camped and as it was only March, we were the only ones there. The location is amazing with fantastic views over Craignure bay and we pitched our tent right by the water.

The local otter payed us regular visits and entertained us and watching the ferries coming in was also nice.

Fran and Shaun were very helpful and a credit to the Island, offering great advice where to go and what to do.

The second time we stayed for a week (End of May to beginning of June) in a shieling which was a nice way to camp without setting up the tent or needing to use the onsite facilities as we had everything we needed built in.

Great campsite, great staff, and Mull is my favourite place in thew World so we will be back time amnd time again.

Well done guys.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko69_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Many thanks for those kind words. Haste ye back to Mull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We camped here on 13th and 14th August and had a lovely time in Mull. Campsite is right next to the ferry, with the Craignure Inn across from site providing fab food in a dog friendly pub!

We stayed on pitch 11 right next to where the otters live, unfortunately we didnt see any but we did have a hedgehog wander into our tent at night :)

The camping pitches are astroturf which means less mud! The toilets and showers are clean and staff very helpful. A campsite with beautiful views.

Will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Very glad you enjoyed yourelves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in our camper. On arrival we got loads of information about the site itself, the surrounding area and the wildlife. We had great views and a nice hardcore pitch to park the van on. The toilets/showers were warm and clean. My only complaint would be that the water temperature is pre-set and it was far too hot for me :(

We also found it really difficult to get the awning pegged in to the stoned area around the pitch due to the concrete but got there eventually! It is also so close to the ferry, shops and bus stop which was handy!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nervette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for this encouraging review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
0.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignure Inn
Craignure Inn
#1 of 4 in Craignure
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pennygate Lodge
Pennygate Lodge
#2 of 4 in Craignure
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shieling Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieling Holidays

Address: Craignure, Craignure PA65 6AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Craignure
Price Range: $49 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the sea, with views to Ben Nevis. We've a warm welcome for you and your caravan, camper or tent. Or try our unique self-catering Shielings, 8 ensuite. Or our delightful Cottages, or budget beds.Small friendly and spotlessly clean. Super facilities: lovely hot showers, hook-ups, hard standings, laundrette, games, kitchen, dishwashing, common room with multifuel stove, and campfire. Bike hire. Free wi-fi. Sea otters actually live on site, and there's a wildlife trail. Stroll to ferry, pub, bistro and buses for Tobermory and Iona (for Staffa). Walk to swimming pool, golf and Torosay and Duart Castles. A perfect base for all Mull. You don't really need to bring a car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shieling Holidays Isle Of Mull/Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing