We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Site. Best on Mull”
Review of Shieling Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shieling Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Camped at Shielings for 2 nights in August. Very pleased, the staff looked after the place, had a good attitude, clean facilities and beautiful views; we watched the ferry. Good strong Wifi. The only problem was the showers weren't draining but they said they would deal with it straight away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseMAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Many thanks. The showers are all sorted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this campsite twice now and have been very happy both times.

The first time we stayed we camped and as it was only March, we were the only ones there. The location is amazing with fantastic views over Craignure bay and we pitched our tent right by the water.

The local otter payed us regular visits and entertained us and watching the ferries coming in was also nice.

Fran and Shaun were very helpful and a credit to the Island, offering great advice where to go and what to do.

The second time we stayed for a week (End of May to beginning of June) in a shieling which was a nice way to camp without setting up the tent or needing to use the onsite facilities as we had everything we needed built in.

Great campsite, great staff, and Mull is my favourite place in thew World so we will be back time amnd time again.

Well done guys.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko69_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Many thanks for those kind words. Haste ye back to Mull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We camped here on 13th and 14th August and had a lovely time in Mull. Campsite is right next to the ferry, with the Craignure Inn across from site providing fab food in a dog friendly pub!

We stayed on pitch 11 right next to where the otters live, unfortunately we didnt see any but we did have a hedgehog wander into our tent at night :)

The camping pitches are astroturf which means less mud! The toilets and showers are clean and staff very helpful. A campsite with beautiful views.

Will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Very glad you enjoyed yourelves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here in our camper. On arrival we got loads of information about the site itself, the surrounding area and the wildlife. We had great views and a nice hardcore pitch to park the van on. The toilets/showers were warm and clean. My only complaint would be that the water temperature is pre-set and it was far too hot for me :(

We also found it really difficult to get the awning pegged in to the stoned area around the pitch due to the concrete but got there eventually! It is also so close to the ferry, shops and bus stop which was handy!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nervette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for this encouraging review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great site, stayed for 3 nights, we had pitch No.11 which was right on the waterfront, quite near reception but was not a problem with all the comings and goings associated with that area, maybe not best spot for those with little ones but many other lovely spots available. Toilets and showers were very good and clean and an abundance of facilities; common room with TV on for the kids, covered area with space for cooking/eating, boiling kettles etc, nice little spot with benches and pit to burn some logs and enjoy the view, staff lovely and so were all the other campers. Pubs and shops a short walk away and obviously convenient for the ferry being minutes away, would highly recommend, loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macaroon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for this most encouraging review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The ensuite Shielings offer everything you require when staying on the island of Mull. Comfort, shelter & all necessities. Inside the ensuite Shielings there is plug sockets, options to have a heater, toilet, shower, cooking facilities, camping beds & table/chair set.

We are however slightly dissapointed that this year the option to have a heater inside the Shieling (which is needed regularly) comes at a cost of £3 per night, where last year it was included free in the accommodation cost.

Lovely views out over the sea also. Overall a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvoaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for your review and support, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First saw this site from the ferry on an earlier trip to Mull. It looked really nice so we decided to give it a try and booked a 7 night stay for July. The site is very well run, and the staff are friendly and helpful, working hard to maintain the high standards throughout. We were in a touring caravan on a hard standing pitch with electric hook up with a gorgeous sea view from our awning. This and the great weather in July made for a great week. Toured round the island, by bus (used our bus passes) and also used our car. The scenery is spectacular. Also had a trip to Iona, also a "must do" if visiting Mull. Sadly didn't see any Sea Eagles - never mind, maybe next time. Also bought the best ever mussels from Inver Lussa Mussel farm (£1 per Kilo!!!) delicious. Roll on next year - we'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igglepiggle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Many thanks. Haste ye back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
0.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
721 reviews
9.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignure Inn
Craignure Inn
#1 of 4 in Craignure
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieling Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieling Holidays

Address: Craignure, Craignure PA65 6AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Craignure
Price Range: $48 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the sea, with views to Ben Nevis. We've a warm welcome for you and your caravan, camper or tent. Or try our unique self-catering Shielings, 8 ensuite. Or our delightful Cottages, or budget beds.Small friendly and spotlessly clean. Super facilities: lovely hot showers, hook-ups, hard standings, laundrette, games, kitchen, dishwashing, common room with multifuel stove, and campfire. Bike hire. Free wi-fi. Sea otters actually live on site, and there's a wildlife trail. Stroll to ferry, pub, bistro and buses for Tobermory and Iona (for Staffa). Walk to swimming pool, golf and Torosay and Duart Castles. A perfect base for all Mull. You don't really need to bring a car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shieling Holidays Isle Of Mull/Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing