We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”
Review of Shieling Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shieling Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent location, very good facilities, even very good weather :) Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    40
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
69
92
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great venue and really close to the ferry port and a good place for getting about the Island.
We had an ensuite shieling, but the amenities were so good you could pay less and use the campsite loos and showers. You can camp with your own tent on pre-laid out areas, bring your caravan/motor home or use the Shielings. The staff were lovely and friendly and we had great communication prior to our arrival.
Our shieling had it's own loo, hot and powerful shower(luxury!!), cooking facilities, lighting and a cosy gas fire for the cooler evenings.

Room Tip: En suite if you don't love the idea of going to the communal loos and showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hi, we have just returned from a stunning week on the Isle of Mull. The weather was brilliant and the site is absolutely first class. We had an excellent plot overlooking the sound. The site is run very efficiently but unobtrusively and all of the staff are very friendly. I think Mr Gracie to his credit runs a very tight ship. The facilities are spotless and well maintained. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had plot 76
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerf1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed over the Jubilee weekend in June, and had a fantastic time. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and there is a lovely atmosphere all around the site.
The website does not do the location justice - it is stunning. The shielings sit on the corner of the bay with heavenly views over the Sound of Mull and across to Ben Nevis.
The shieling has everything you could need, including a double ring cooker and a gas heater that came in VERY handy when the temperature fell at night. And there is a freezer in the common room, where we were able to constantly recharge our freezer blocks. This meant our cool bag was as good as a fridge for the whole of our stay.
A special mention too to Arlene's Cafe just beside the ferry terminal, which does the best cooked breakfast on the island !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a great time renting a shieling on Mull. Since it was Easter it was still rather chilly, but the gas heater and other creature comforts provided in the shieling like running hot water and tables, chairs and beds meant that it was a lot more comfortable and fun than camping in a normal tent!
We would definitely go back, the site is in a great location with wonderful views and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I have been returning to the Shielings for around 15 years.

I'm really confused by the negative reviews on this site. I have been to countless campsites all around Scotland and this one is the best by miles.

People complaining about cold Shielings need to realise that they are not staying in a hotel...its a permanent tent. The Shielings come with a gas fire which is more than enough to heat the place (even in early spring when it can get really cold).

Also the person who thinks they can get a family room in scotland for 30 quid all-in is nuts. Perhaps a bothy or youth hostel but then your sharing with people.

The toilets/showers are cleaned to the point of obsessiveness.

The location is perfect - views over the sound of mull, Ben Nevis and Morven. 2 castles to cycle to easily is great for days out.

I would seriously rate this higher if the website would allow me to.

The Craignure Inn (just a few minutes walk) is one of my favourite pubs in the world.

My wife and I will continue to return every year until we die.

My only complaint is that over the last few years an annoying cuckoo has taken up residence which likes to wake you up in the morning :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in the cottage not the tents , if you are a warm person then youll be fine because you cant control the heating in the living room to be tropical heat which is what we like. The furniture is not best comfortable or at least could be a lot better and you get a poky 14 inch portable a TV. The shower is a set heat which for me was great as i am not the warmest person on the planet, but it was far to hot for my husband and you have to keep pushing the button in to keep it flowing. You need to take your own bedding as hiring theirs will set you back 30 quid . Its not cheap to rent for a week and theres far better places for your money. Youre paying for being right near the ferry termimal and the outstanding views if this is for you go for it

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
0.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
703 reviews
19.2 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
9.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
446 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieling Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieling Holidays

Property: Shieling Holidays
Address: Craignure, Craignure PA65 6AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the sea, with views to Ben Nevis. We've a warm welcome for you and your caravan, camper or tent. Or try our unique self-catering Shielings, 8 ensuite. Or our delightful Cottages, or budget beds.Small friendly and spotlessly clean. Super facilities: lovely hot showers, hook-ups, hard standings, laundrette, games, kitchen, dishwashing, common room with multifuel stove, and campfire. Bike hire. Free wi-fi. Sea otters actually live on site, and there's a wildlife trail. Stroll to ferry, pub, bistro and buses for Tobermory and Iona (for Staffa). Walk to swimming pool, golf and Torosay and Duart Castles. A perfect base for all Mull. You don't really need to bring a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shieling Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieling Holidays Isle Of Mull/Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing