We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upgrade needed”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Spent 4 nights in the hotel and had dinner on 3 nights. Menu and food in restaurant superb, using locally sourced produce. Be prepared for a fair walk to the rooms which are on 2 levels with no lift available, and a maze of corridor to walk along. The bedroom itself was clean and well presented, but the bathroom had a very leaky shower with poor water pressure, which although reported, was not attended to at during our stay. It is a "dog friendly" hotel with excellent grounds and costal footpath for walkies, and dogs can join their owners in the bar/lounge areas. The overall impression of the hotel was that it is tatty round the edges - peeling paintwork on interior bedroom window, scuffed and marked bar/lounge decor etc. We got a good deal through an internet site, but given the general standard of presentation, would have been unhappy had we paid full rates for our stay. Can't comment on the spa - didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate wings from public areas, so ask for one close to reception/bar/lounge if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    475
    312
    187
    115
See reviews for
246
740
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Having recently spent a week at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa on the Isle of Mull, I would say the whole experience was surprisingly amazing.

The short (45 minute) ferry journey over from Oban to Mull was good fun for our family of 3 and the very short drive from the dock at Craignure to the hotel was easy as easy gets. Turn right off the ferry, take the first right and we had arrived. Granted, the exterior of the hotel is not going to win any design awards, but this place is deceiving. Through the front doors and there's a large open plan reception lounge bar area and the first thing to notice is the views back across the bay to the mainland with Duart Castle jutting out from the shore line.

Check in was easy and friendly and it was easy to find out room. A family room with a double and single which was clean, very comfortable and had one of the best views we've had from any hotel we've been to. The decor is subtle tartans, earthy tones and of a good standard for a 3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and tidy with toiletries and towels provided.

First thing we did was (as you do with a 5 year old in tow) go and use the hotel swimming pool. The swimming pool was newish (there's a plaque saying opened in 2008) and modern. It's a community pool but is joined directly onto the hotel. The child pool is a little small but more than suitable and the main pool is a good size with the same amazing views out of the sound to the mountains behind Oban. I ventured to the outdoor hot tub for a brief try and it was great. All clean and in a lovely sunny spot. There's other spa facilities but we didn't use these. Noticed there's a hairdressers there as well.

We stayed for 4 nights and throughout we were shown the kindest, friendliest service from the restaurant staff to reception, everyone was very helpful.

A big bonus to the location of the hotel is the path that leads straight down to the shoreline. There's rock pools for the kids, and when the tide is out, the beach is sandy. Not the best beach on Mull, but Mull (as we discovered) has some of the best beaches in the whole of Scotland!

Over the days that we were in the hotel, we saw a lot of the island, beaches that you wouldn't believe existed in Scotland, craggy mountains, rivers, glens, fishing villages and a great days trip on the ferry over to Iona a day at the beach there. The beaches on the south of Mull were a highlight for us. Wild, empty and water as blue and clear as anywhere. The sun did shine for the majority of our trip so I guess we were lucky, but when the sun is out, I can't think of many other places within the same size area that offers the breadth of panoramic views of mountains, coast and villages.

Mull is simply a fantastic island to visit and the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa is in a great location for being able to tour to a different part of the island each day of your stay. One big thing was on the morning we were leaving to catch the 10:30 ferry back to the mainland. It takes over one hour to get to Craignure from the south west tip of Mull. The fact that it is one minute from the hotel on leaving morning meant that we were able to enjoy a relaxed breakfast taking in those views, go for a walk along the beach and still be in the ferry queue with plenty of time to spare.

A cracking 3 star hotel, clean, nicely decorated, brilliant food (including local seafood), friendly and giving access to the wonders of Mull. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
wow, what a great review both of the Hotel and this amazing island. I am sure your comments will assist others thinking of visiting. Hope you return. Many thanks Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is nice - great location, amazing views and it's nice to have the spa but it is really let down by poorly trained staff. The restaurant staff were more concerned about getting set up for breakfast than serving - our meal was accompanied by the cleaning of tables and the clatter of crockery being set which didn't make for a relaxing experience - and this was before 9 pm. Staff are very basic in their courtesy and come across as indifferent and poorly trained. Shame as the food is good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HidoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Craignure hotels

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Fairly basic hotel, with no lift to the maze of corridors below. Food ok, rooms unmemorable with small bath/shower facilities. Staff are clearly trying hard to meet the demands of what seems to be a busy hotel (groups or coach parties?). Really, need to address air circulation and cooling as wedging fire doors open isn't a good idea.

Excellent views over the Sound of Mull should really be exploited by the management by trimming up the garden foliage and placing a few more tables outside !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

ok there are problems. but for the price this place is a fine place to stay. booked on itison, nice rooms, 30 min massage, outdoor jacuzzi and breakfast all for a very reasonible price. staff (even though there was some struggles with language) were plesant and made the stay a fun experience. Due to our bus times we need an early breakfast which was provided ( they didnt need to but went out the way). the massage was nice and the gym was a nice addition. it is perfect for buses to all attractions and the location is beautiful, however byob the bar is crap :P

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatLuckyOldSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great hotel overall apart from the man in reception being a bit unfriendly on arrival and the room layout being a complete maze with a long walk and two flights of stairs to get to the one I was in. I had a lovely garden view with birds singing outside. The bathroom and bed were fine. Food was of a very high, modern standard for quality, variety and presentation. But avoid the special coffee- yuk. The hotel looks out over the sea; the restaurant has the best view in the house.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is great as it is very close to the Information Centre, shops, the ferry terminal and Duart Castle. It is also situated in a the middle of two key places you can visit Tobermoray (Whisky Distillery, shops and restaurants) and Fionnphort (boat to Iona).

The hotel itself is alright with the main pros being the dining area that looked out to the sea and spa/swimming facilities which was lovely.

Staff were for the most part polite, we felt slightly sorry for the lady on reception who was clearly rushed off her feet, having three different people to help while dealing with the phones all by herself.

Our room was on the lower floor and on the first night we soon realised the walls are quite thin as we could hear people talking/floors creaking/doors slamming above us and on either of the side walls of the room which did not make for a rested night sleep.

The toilet didn't appear to be fixed to the wall/floor properly (neither did our neighbours) and despite booking a double room we found we had two single beds pushed together, one of which was lower than the other which wasn't idea.

Wifi wasn't available in the rooms, only in the dining/reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the top floor of the hotel, also if wanting a double room ensure you ask for a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-Pat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,767 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
701 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
99 reviews
16.8 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#11 of 27 in Tobermory
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing