We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. It is just outside Craignure but has plenty to keep you on the complex. An excellent pool and spa, and very good food, although we did find on the first dinner we had very small portions - to the extent of still being hungry after the meal. This was rectified after that and the food quality was excellent at all times. Our room was adequate - not exciting as we had a view of, well nothing, just trees, and were the furthers from reception that anyone could be! (I think they were in a different post-code!). All amenities were good, the restaurant, lounge and bar and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Some rooms are a (very!) long walk from reception, bar restaurant and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for a spa break with my best friend. Really looked forward to our 2 hour spa treatment. Went to spa to be told it was not booked and they could only give 30 min treatment to 1 of us(French boy informed us). Rather disappointed to say the least. As we were leaving after 2 nights I heard the spa girl saying she was stressed by the bookings in the spa. I told here what happened to us and she informed me they had been waiting 4 hours for us and I had been wrongly informed.
Shocking! breakfast was ok if you were a carnivore. I ordered a cheesea and onion omelette to be told the chef does not do omelettes but I could have an egg florentine. Great I thought....... It arrived almost raw and inedible. I ate toast and fried tomato.
The room door would not lock and when we went down with our neighbours next door who had the same problem we were told you turn the little button inside and close door.....info at reception or instructions in the room please.
For dinner we decided to have a panini and chips . Cant do much to that.......it arrived without the cranberry sauce for the brie.....enought we sent them straight back and we were refunded. It is Fawlty towers revisited. management need to supervise staff better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived off the ferry at 2.45pm, when arriving at Reception we were first at the desk but were told check in was 3pm so to have a seat until then. 5 minutes later we were told our room was ready and that we should now stand in the queue of 5 couples! Surely we should have been seen first.
Due to mum being on crutches, we were given a room very close to reception and the restaurant area which was brilliant. Beautiful views and room had everything you needed.
We tried the outdoor hot tub and pool. The foot baths could do with a clean as they were smelling of smelly feet, the hot tub seems to be falling apart and could do with an upgrade. We asked about beauty treatments with the spa receptionist however he couldn't find a price list for us or tell us availability.
Afternoon tea was average but was free with our package.
Breakfast is buffet style and often had empty trays or cold food. Staff did not let on that you could order from the menu or come near after dropping off the tea/coffee and toast.
Seems to be a lot of staff shortages. Not enough at breakfast to have tables cleared and reset. A queue of 6 people deep at the bar with only one working the bar as well as having to man reception. What paying £9.50 for 2 gin and tonics you don't expect a 5 minute queue for it!
Disappointing that there is no lift to access the outside facilities unless you go around to the pool and back.
Overall an average stay with good room and helpful with mum on crutches. Don't think I would be back though which is a shame as the view is fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, truly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Couldn't be more convenient for the Oban-Craignure CalMac ferry - just 2 minutes drive from the pier! Very good food - breakfasts great and price included in our booking - we also had dinners there on two evenings, nicely presented and tasty food, allbeit rather expensive (menu prices confusing, most had 2 prices shown and we were never able to understand why - the foreign waitresses with a limited knowledge of English didn't explain the reason). Very good room, with excellent views over Craignure bay, one of the best views that we have ever enjoyed from a hotel window. Apart from the confusing menu prices, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ensure that you ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our reservations had been "cancelled". (not by us). Staff was not at all helpful with getting us settled into rooms they were able to find for us and when we asked for other rooms were told "we're full". Nothing can be done. The night was terrible...walls paper thin; noise from outside the room; constant noise from the room above...creaking floors. Carpets were stained. Linens threadbare mattress springs protruding from the mattress No upkeep done in years. Checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Arrived off the ferry & walked to hotel. Greeted by receptionist Nicole who had been exceedingly helpful when we were having trouble booking online, allocated our rooms(next door to each other).
We had fantastic views over the bay and to Duart Castle and the lighthouse. We watched the ferry arriving & departing. The hotel was comfortable,clean and all staff we encountered were very pleasant & helpful. Breakfast was delicious, I chose to order from the breakfast menu rather than have the buffet and my two choices were delicious. Endless toast, tea & coffee and a lovely fresh fruit salad. Evenings we chose to eat bar meals and they were good. Wine not overly expensive. Our rooms were comfortable, clean with complimentary toiletries, tea,coffee & shortbread. WIFI is slow & erratic but that did not bother us as we were there to relax. We all had spa treatments and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Best of all the weather was glorious, the added icing on the cake & cannot be guaranteed. The swimming pool, steam room & sauna were well kept.
Downside is the lack of soundproofing in bedrooms - take earplugs!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Views from hotel were outstanding. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however the negative about the room was the soundproofing- there wasn't any The hotel also caters for large coach parties so dinner reservation is essential if you want to dine at a decent time. The WIFI signal is very poor so don't rely on it if you plan to conduct business during your stay. On the whole the food was decent and the service in the dining room was good. The pool and spa area was also decent and the outdoor hot tub was fabulous. The hotel pool serves as a swimming pool for the whole island, the changing is communal and there's only a communal shower area at the side of the pool. I would return but would look out for voucher deals as the hotel is tired and needing an upgrade in areas. It is also not that accessible- there is a strange layout with varying stairways and levels

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
16.8 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pennygate Lodge
Pennygate Lodge
#2 of 4 in Craignure
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range: $76 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing