We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$248
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$155
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,184
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$475
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
1,528 results
Traveler rating
361
506
335
197
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
506
335
197
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubleisure facilitiescourse taster menuferry terminalsteam roomrestaurant staffbar menubuffet styleduart castleboth nightsshort breaka bit tiredoutdoor jacuzziisle of mulllounge areamud treatmentcraignure bay
Filter
Updating list...
1,427 - 1,432 of 1,528 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute/unplanned 3-day/2-night escape to relax and unwind.

I've often looked at the hotel but because it is not far (in Highland terms) from where we live, had never stayed before.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful, providing information that had not been asked for but proved extremely useful.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The seating in the lounges was comfortable and, being lovely weather, we also sat outside a lot.

The swimming pool/hot tub were particularly attractive when making the booking and proved every bit as good as we had anticipated- with helpful staff making sure we made the most of our visits. There is a 'quiet' area where you can relax and read or just sit and admire the view over the Sound of Mull- and watch the Oban ferry arrive and depart.

There are spa treatments available but I cannot comment on these because I never tried any of them.

The food was good and in sensible sized portions- not too much but not too little; I finished the meals without being either too hungry or too full. Breakfast was a buffet including a selection of cooked food, again good quanitities.

There is a lot to do on Mull and interesting/historic places to visit.

With the hotel open all year, I now intend to take regular 'escape breaks' over the winter months and make use of the excellent facilities of this hotel.

I will, in the future, request a room between the reception & swimming pool/spa so that I can easily reach the pool without going through the bar/lounges if it is available. (hire of fluffy robes would be something I would be willing to pay extra for).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobWalker, Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2008

Many thanks for your views on your stay with us recently. We have noted all the points you highlighted and will pass these onto the staff concerned. We do appreciate our guests taking the time to comment on tripadvisor as all points help us on focusing on our guests needs.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa. We had a first class experience, staying at this hotel on the Isle of Mull. Great value for money, lovely location and stunning views overlooking Craignure Bay, and one of the best Spa's and Leisure Club that we've ever experienced in Scotland. We have travelled to many over the years. Even our two dogs enjoyed their stay at the Isle of Mull Hotel. Great to be allowed to have pets staying in the hotel.

This was our first ever trip to the Isle of Mull. Had a lovely time visiting this very scenic island. Will definately make a return visit in the near future. Enjoyed the many walks, visiting Tobermory and relaxing in the Isle of Mull hotel Spa. Didn't have time to visit Iona.

Our hotel room, on the Ground floor, was excellent. Fantastic sea view overlooking Craignure Bay. Room was clean, well decorated, and liked the touch of the fruit bowl and the bottles of water when we checked into our room. Bathroom facillities were good as well and perfectly adequate.

We were extremely impressed with the quality of food and service in the Sheallach-Na-Mara Restaurant. We enjoyed two evening meals in the hotel restaurant. One night, we went A la Carte, and the other Dinner we went with the Table d'Hote Menu. We greatly enjoyed both Dinners. Very good quality of dishes to choose from. Good choice of wines, at very fair prices. Restaurant has a great panoramic view overlooking Craignure Bay. Try to book a table at the window area of the restaurant. One of the highlights of both meals, was the staff and service. Extremely impressive. Staff are from Scotland, Bulgaria, Spain and Poland. Very hard working and attentive. And all spoke really good English. Could not be more helpful and were very professional. Wish other hotels and restaurants in Scotland could follow the service standards at the Isle of Mull hotel. A `breath of fresh air` for service levels in Scotland. Breakfasts were also first class. Plenty of choice, and once again the service was brilliant. So many hotels let their guests down, by poor service, at breakfast. Hot food was always being replaced, empty plates at tables were taken away in seconds, and coffee and tea was always being offerred. Well done to the dining room staff at this excellent hotel.

The jewel in the crown for this Isle of Mull hotel is their new Spa and Leisure Club. Apparently it opened early 2008. Swimming pool is really good. Great water temperature. Leisure Club is kept really clean by the pool staff. Changing rooms were good. However, one suggestion I would make, for guests at the Leisure Club, would be to have towels available in the Leisure Club and Spa for hotel guests to use. We had three treatments in the Spa. All treatments were first class. Better than we've enjoyed at `so called` bigger names in the `Spa` world. Prices for treatments were well priced. Good value. Spa staff were very friendly, locals from the Isle of Mull, and were well trained, informative and fully professional. We enjoyed our treatments at the Spa. One of our best Spa experiences, ever.

In summary, we were most impressed with our two night visit to the Isle of Mull. In the past, our travels to the Scottish Highlands have always been slightly disappointing, with the standards of accomodation, food and expensive prices. We definateltly got great value for money at the Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. Will be making a return visit, and making recommendations to friends and family to visit this hotel on the Isle of Mull. Another little touch, which we really liked, at the hotel, was free Inernet access for hotel guests. And recommending for guests at the hotel to make their reviews on Tripadvisor. A very brave recommendation, but obviously a hotel group that operates to very high standards and have no reason to be worried about guests reviews on the Internet. Bravo. And my last tip, if you're in the hotel restaurant at 9.30 pm. Have a look through the Restaurant windows towards the wooded area in the hotel gardens. A very old, majestic stag, usually makes a nightly visit to the hotel gardens area. What a great sight, thanks to the informative Bulgarian Head Waiter, we were able to see this magnificant Stag making it's nightly appearance. That's great nightime entertainment at it's best

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alexscot48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobWalker, manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2008

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. It was great to read your review and all the positives that came out of for both the hotel and the island. I will certainly be passing all your comments onto the staff concerned.
The leisure facilities are certainly a big bonus to the hotel and will enable us to market the property more effectively.
When we receive a review similar to yours it does make all the effort worth while. Again my thanks for informing tripadvisor of your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just finished a 2 night - 3 day stay at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa.
Craignure proved to be a great location, in the middle of the island with Tobermory (Balamory for my 3 year old) in one direction and Iona (lovely peacefull location - ferries run every 1/2 hour so easy to get to and well worth the visit) on the other, both 30 minutes or so drive away as Craignure is in the middle.
The pool and spa facilities at the hotel are amazing, swimming while looking at the magnificent views and try the outdor spa while breathing the fresh air of the island.
Nice decor in the Hotel and being inproved constanly, the Restaurant was 5 star - great staff and Ivan our waiter from Bulgaria was very helpful. Shaun had a good knowledge of the wine list and Kirsty from good old Newcastle, Australia manned the very cheerfull bar area.
Good local chat at the bar and great bar meals that can be eaten in any of the many areas inside and out, weather permitting and stroll down to the waters egde from the hotel, in a well worn path, lovely.
Local attrcations --- our top tip is to visit the Isle of Mull Birds of Prey - it must be visted, very interesting and the birds, Owls, Kites and eagles there are kept by caring couple who obviousley love there feathered family and have the preservation of birds at heart. visit even if you dont know much about birds, freat for adults and my 3 year old, 7 year old and 12 year old voted t as the best place on the island. Do the Mull Challange with the kids, well worth the £4 fee - available at the tourist office just across from the ferry at Craignure, even if you dont have children - join it as it list 20 or so interesting places to visit on the island - from Duart castle to a Monkey Puzzle tree location in the local forest.
We could easlily have spent a week on Mull and intend to do another visit next year and also do more Island hopping, which we have never done before, our exprience was so good. being from Australia and Dubai, the greens are amazing and the mountains spiritul.
bad points - double beds in the rooms, but thats all and not unsual in Scotland, good for a romatic break !. Maybe they will upgrade to Queen or King beds if many of us visit and let them know that is matters. No adjoining rooms for families, but that wasnt a problem for us as we had 2 rooms next to each other, so just let staff know you are together and they will look after you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sydney_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobWalker, hotel manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2008

Many thanks for your full comments on your visit to Mull. I was really glad that just about everything was to your liking. Regards the 'double beds' point taken and we are at present replacing so many per month., Quite a major task with 145 beds to be replaced. I am glad you enjoyed our new swimming pool and spa, it is certainly a great facility for us to have and for our guest to use.
All your points are gtreatfully received as we value our customers views on both the hotel andthe island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

The location is fabulous but the hotel is not, the noise of creaking floorboards from the room above was terrible, the bathroom was dirty and had a strong odour which was not pleasant, we also felt very uncomfortable in the dining room as if we had to rush, the hotels priority seems to be elderly coach parties

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank barnowlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobWalker, manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2008

Many thanks for your comments regards your stay with us. I was obviously sorry to hear about the problems that arose and i wish you had spoken to myself during your stay to highlight your dissatisfaction. I always feel that i can deal with the situation much more effectively on a one to one basis.
Please be assured we take comments form our guests good or bad very seriously and your views will be discussed at our weekly heads of department meeting.
My apologises for the points that you highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

The new spa attached to this hotel is great. The actual hotel is ok and serves its purpose well. There was a problem with our room but this was sorted out efficiently. Great views and location!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervo, MANAGER at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2008

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel. We are fortunate to have a superb leisure facility which i note you enjoyed. I would have appreciated if you had mentioned the problem with the room as we may have been able to prevent in the future.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Mull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews