We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing weekend, wedding and island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing weekend, wedding and island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights as a friends wedding was being hosted by the hotel. the staff was so friendly, I took my bike so that I could get some training in and they were there with unlimited advice about where to go. the food was excellent and the spa (including the only pool on the island) was great to relax in. fully intend to return to explore the island more. cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: the shower in my room wasn't the best, but I made good use of the spa anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
HI and thanks for your review and comments which have been shared with the team. We really do our best to acheive this kind of review from all our guests and I am glad we achieved it with you. best regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    441
    277
    168
    102
See reviews for
214
686
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

NOT a couples retreat! Bus tours of OAPs appear to be the staple diet of this place.

Having been to their Otley Spa Hotel, we were expecting similar standards.

Single glazing well past its best (and mouldy)
Dirty bathroom (neither of us have hair that long!)
Dirty windows on the inside (didn't seem much point in paying extra for the view...)
Window catches had been removed (window wouldn't stay open without holding it in place)
Dirty room in general
Very, VERY, thin walls (couldn't sleep property due to noise until 1am, then from 5:30am)

Rooms are in urgent need of a complete overhaul, they were in the process of painting, however this is trying to put an elastoplast over the problem, they need completely stripping down, sound insulation adding and refitting.

Spa was very average, indoor Jacuzzi would have been a good addition (hot tub was closed), however the ideal place for this is currently a kids teaching pool.

Food quality was mixed - evening meal was good, breakfast really wasn't (deep fat fried bread isn't cinnamon French toast!).
Dining was quite odd, the room is very square with no soft furnishings, as a result, sound bounces around quite a lot, and it feels more like a canteen.

Room Tip: Low numbered rooms have the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_and_Darryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel folowing your visit with your views We cater for all ages, and yes do have some coach business, as the only large hotel on the island this is part of our business. We do a constant refuirbishment and repaiting programme as you saw yourself whilst you were here, and constantly strive to make improvements when and where we can. I can only apologise if you had any cleanliness issues and do hope that you did mention this at the time and give us an opportunity to correct, resolve and apologise. We do have many many couples come here for a break with us and I can only apologise if your expectations were not met. best regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Craignure hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Over the course of the weekend we visited Mull for the first time for a wedding and we were not disappointed. The whole weekend ran so smoothly and the staff were amazing at accommodating everybody. Our room was spotless and very comfortable too. Will definately return! Thank you so much!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMandy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello and thanks for your lovely review. the team work so hard to acheive the best we can for all our guests and thanks for your comments, Do visit again soon,. best wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night while travelling round Scotland, the only thing going for this Hotel is the Food which was very good including the breakfast with plenty of choice and the views over the bay, Our room had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, mould round the windows and the tiles in the bathroom were dirty from the previous guest and the sheets really didn't look or feel very fresh. The spa and swimming pool were so hot that I couldn't go for a swim in there - would not stay here again

Room Tip: all rooms face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
hello and thanks for the review of the hotel, So sorry that you appear to have had issues with cleanliness in your room, this is certainly not the norm and around the time you were staying we were on a repainting programme, so I can assure you all is now done, and again I am sorry for any issue. best wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

On entering the hotel we were struck by how dated the hotel is. Furnishings and decor are straight out of the seventies and yucky green paint is used throughout.
Our room had creaky, sagging mattresses and the sound insulation was dreadful and the toilet seat was hanging on by one fixing.
We ate in the restaurant that night and were not happy with the food, my crab and mussel fish cake was tasteless and had shell or bone in it, my partner's butternut squash risotto tasted of boiled rice-nothing more.
I did submit a complaint via the Crerar website and the Managing Director of the hotel replied promptly, he kindly offered a 50% discount off any future stay in the hotel but I would't go there again without a major refurb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you do not like our decor. Food complaints are extremely rare with us, and I am sorry that you feel you cannot take up our offer of a discounted return visit to give us another chance. Perhaps in time you will, we do hope so., Best wishes Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The welcoming was fine. Our room was situated down two flights of stairs and then up a flight. The room was small with a view over the garden. The bath had far too many chips in it. The room was clean . I enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The evening meal was good and breakfast had plenty of choice too. The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sound of Mull
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here September weekend. The minute we arrived here the receptionist was very helpful. The clean rooms with fresh towels. We sat at the bar area with great views of the ferry.
The staff were really helpful constantly asking if you need anything and clearing tables.
I don't eat meat and the management Jan was very polite and let me have haddock that wasn't on the menu. The sweet was amazing rhubarb and apple pie.
Same as breakfast this was changed to although my partner loved the fry I had cinnamon toast.
The Spanish and Philippines waitresses were so helpful and friendly.
Flora was really helpful and gave great advise where to go on the island a young girl with great knowledge. All this great information on her own time when she had finished a little embasoder
For the hotel.
This is a great place for relaxing and the only bad point was the rude evening porter.
Can't comment on spa as never got a chance to use them.
Jan the management dropped us off at the ferry. Where do you get great staff like this. they are all genuine (apart from porter).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsimp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
hello and thanks so much for your lovely review. All your comments have been shared with the team and I sincerely hope that others will read your review and consider visiting the Hotel. We have of course spoken directly in connection with your night porter comments. Thanks again and hope you will return in the future. Best regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
10.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing