We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxing bargain”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay here, which we had purchased as a special offer. Our expectations were exeded greatly by the beautifull food and comfortable rooms. This hotel is in the most idylic setting and sitting in the outdoor jacuzzi looking over the sea was an unforgettable treat. The service in the dining room was that of a luxury restaurant with a choice of food to match. The hotel is a great base to discover the beautiful Isle of Mull and offers a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, with attentive staff. Will definately be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post your review following your recentg stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated and I am so pleased to see that you are looking forward to a return visit which I hope is soon. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    455
    294
    173
    104
See reviews for
225
706
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am just back from this lovely hotel and i must say i had the most wonderfull time.
Myself and my partner only stayed for 2 nights but wish we had stayed a little longer.
First impressions were that the hotel itself was a little dated and in some parts of the hotel the carpets were actually threadbare however It was close to the ferry terminal and it was very handy indeed .
All the staff were extremely friendly and check in was very easy and hassle free,our room itself was pretty average but it was very clean and it had the most brilliant views right across the water.

Meals and Bar ...........We had booked on a dinner bed and breakfast deal.
The breakfast buffet was excellent loads to choose from ,the usual full english breakfast as well as cereals and fruit etc for the ones that prefer the healthier option.
Dinner our first evening was a little disappointing as the set menu had such poor choices it was a choice between Pheasant,crab & smoked fillet or butternut squash (not our taste at all) both myself and partner had no choice but to choose from the Al a Cart menu and we had steaks we had to pay an extra £25 between us for our dinner.
The hotel did room service but at an extra cost of £11 simply to get it delivered to your room and if you want breakfast in bed it was an extra £7, it was not an option for us and we felt that was way too expensive..
Our dinner the second evening was far better and we had chicken, again it was fancy with haggis and cabbage but i cant remember what the fancy name for it was.... i think some people would have been put off by it but i must admit it was delicious,we felt the menu was too fancy and we werent even sure of what some of the things were,a simplier menu would have been far better a basic dish such as a steak pie added to it would have made such a difference,myself and my partner hate seafood and food such as pheasant just doesnt do it for us at all.I think a lot of the old people were put off by the fancy menu also again as they didnt have a clue what the dishes were.
The bar was pretty expensive but it was lovely to just sit outside or in the lounge area and enjoy a wee drink when we checked in we were given the option if we wanted an open tab for drinks bills etc..... im glad we chose not to do that as i think most people would have been pretty shocked when checking out as the drinks were so expensive and it would have been far easier to run up a bill.
Both days myself and my partner were given pack lunches which we simply ordered from reception desk,they were ideal and done the job perfect.

Spa/Pool

I booked in for a spa day while my partner went and walked the famous Munro mountain,
I enjoyed a swim in the fab pool and because it had ceiling to floor glass windows as i swam in the pool i had the most magnificent views over the waters and i could see the lovely hills in the distance,i then spent some time in the sauna and also the steam room before lounging in the outside hot tub,it was bliss and to top it all off i was then pampered to a 2 hour treatment in the spa from a lovely girl Katie.....I was treated to an hour full body massage and also an anti ageing luxury facial.....what can i say "i was in heaven" Katie was very professional she did not talk much and she allowed me to simply relax ! ( I hate when you go to relax and you end up with a beautician that talks about everything and their granny) she totally pampered me for the full 2 hours and i felt amazing after it....... I would most recommend Katie and i suggest EVERY woman that visits the hotel take time out and treat yourself ,us woman deserve it ! It cost a total of £105.00 but worth it and more .

Out and about .......
As we had the car we had the option to simply come and go as we pleased,on our first night we went to Duart castle which is just a short 10 minute drive away however as it shut at 5pm it was closed when we got there but we walked around the grounds and we really enjoyed it,I wished we had seen inside as it looked a well good day trip.
Tobermory was another journey we took it maybe took us approx half hour from hotel to get there,we discovered a lovely wee harbour and it had a few nice gift shops,we seen a whisky distillery and there were a few restaurants that looked very inviting.
We finished our small break the next day by driving up to Fionnphort to go on the boat trip that takes you to Fingal"s Cave on the small island of Staffa .The trip cost £30 per adult and we booked it online before we arrive in Mull.
If you are lucky you can sometimes see Dolphins,Whales,Puffins and allsorts of other wildlife...... sadly it wasnt our day and the only wildlife we seen were the seagulls that were after peoples packed lunches,on the way back from the boat trip we seen the Island of Iona .It was a lovely afternoon and i would recommend it.
As far as im aware you can book these trips from the hotel itself as i seen a few coaches taking people out on day trips im unsure of these prices.


would i recommend ? YES YES YES
would i go back ? NO as lovely as it was the Isle a Mull is such a small place once you seen it thats it and i like to visit other places.
Thank you to all the staff at The Isle of Mull Hotel you made our stay most welcome
best wishes from the Milligan party x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyjackiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your full review of our Hotel and the Isle of Mull itself. Your kind comments about the staff and in particular the spa have been discussed with all the team and thanks for these. We do have quite a varied and full menu with the emphasis on local and Scottish dishes and of course fish and seafood, I appreciate that this may not be to everyones taste, but I am glad you were able to find food that you liked. Our chef is always willing to vary from the menu if customers cannot find something they like. I hope that at some time in the future you will give Mull another go and visit with us at the Hotel, Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back from a few days R&R on Mull. I stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and nothing has changed therefore it's just a wee bit tired looking. The Entrance could be spruced up - first impressions are everything. Our bedroom had a lovely view but the mattress should be replaced as the springs were sticking through. The area around the hospitality tray was rather shabby and the lighting poor. Also there could have been a hotel information pack in the bedroom. No complaints about the 1st class food although service was a bit haphazard; this is probably due to the waiting staff being run off their feet from breakfast through to end of evening service by which time some of them weren't at the top of their game. That being said we enjoyed our stay on Mull and would return to this hotel in the future - but please pull your socks up.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room near Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you were happy with your stay. Your comments have been noted, we are always grateful for customer feedback, and various actions are being taken. We have on ongoing refurbishment programme internally and now that the weather is with us, a considerable amount of work is being done on the grounds and the outside areas. We do hope to see you again. Many thanks Neal Goldsmith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just back from hotel and thought l would write a short review.
Hotel location from ferry was 5min walk, car waiting to pick us up which was great. Hotel room view was amazing we were room 8. Was clean and had plenty coffee/tea. Only down fall was man snoring up stairs from us,could hear everything. Bathroom needs updated. Shower worked a little bit but again managed.
Spa was lovely,lovely girl gave us massages. Hot tub was nice too.
Food amazing, we enjoy our food in edinburgh and can only say it was a delight in resturant. Staff also very nice, only down fall that we noticed is staff too quick to give menus after you have just put your fork and knifedown. We just said to them we were nt ready,they did leave us.
I was a bit worried going to hotel with past reviews but can honestly say was not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased that you gave the Hotel a chance and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We bought the old 5pm deal and as experience has taught us weren't optimistic about hotel.
We were very wrong on arrival the hotel has plenty of parking and reception very welcoming and efficient. We had our daughter and a crazy puppy and the staff were fine with this. The room was great with the most amazing view across the bay. Plenty of space. The food was incredible real shock as we didn't expect much. Really good! Had a table next to window with great views again with friendly service.
The hotel has a great leisure facility with spa area having sauna, steam room, and even an outdoor hot tub next to a lovely decked area with plenty of padded seats.
We did have one small incident with a cheeky member of bar staff doing the old serving the well spoken jumper of shoulder brigade instead of someone with nothing to prove at the bar but it was sorted by their bar manager who is very good. We had a good drink of bubbly thanks to that silly lady. Cheers!
The hotel is a perfect base and we will definitely be returning. Girl at desk spent time organizing a trip to see puffins for my daughter. This was something we really appreciated.
We loved it.

Room Tip: There all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexknndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thanks also for your comments about some of the team members which has been passed on to them. We do hope to see you again soon. regards Neal Goldsmith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Hot tub still as only 1 jet working . Spoke to locals hot tub only recently put back on as was not warm enough? . Seems to cater for walkers as rooms are a good hike from bar /restaurant - no soda water/juice available at all on draught only expensive small bottles. Service is inconsistent and lapsidasical . Food average and nothing special . This hotel is supposed to be under new management ! . In a day of cleanliness a quick check round the stainless edging on the pool would not go amiss on the build up of?.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise if the food was not to your taste, this is not a common issue and with 3 course tabled'hote, full a la carte and bar menu we can usually satisfy our customers and I am sorry if this was not the case for yourself. The hot tub has had significant repair recently, following the arrival of parts from America, however there is still one part awaited. We did however feel it was right to put the hot tub in action for our guests to use and enjoy. The sides of the pool are cleaned regurlarly and dosing of chemicals ensures there is no bacteria. However I have inspected this following your comment and had an additional clean undertaken. I can assure you that all feedback is used when and where possible to improve our service, standards and product, and as a fairly recent Management team to the Hotel we are always here to meet personally with customers who would like to bring matter to our attention that they feel need improving. I do hope that all in all you will consider your time with us on Mull a happy one and consider a return visit in the future. Regards Neal Goldsmith General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent 8 days at this hotel recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great view from our room and lovely meals in the restaurant. All the staff, especially on reception and in the spa were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Would highly recommend to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy to inform others of this. We hope to welcome you again to the Isle of Mull soon. regards Neal Goldsmith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
10.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing