We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé for 3 nights(15-18th Oct) we booked through easy break and got a good deal. We were allocated room 10 which had a great view over the bay to where the ferry came in, stunning.The spa area is lovely again with great views across the bay. The staff are all very pleasant and polite and were more than happy to help with our queries. The food on all 3 nights was amazing, meat so tender it fell apart. It was also beautifully presented. Breakfast too was very good with a good variety. Public area was lovely to sit in with a drink.The only issue was that the bed was uncomfortable but that is just a minor thing which would not stop us returning to this great hotel. We will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    442
    278
    168
    102
See reviews for
214
688
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed two nights in October, nothing about this hotels gets you excited, The staff were nice service was ok, decor was dated and well worn,but it was clean.
The room was ok, but the bed and pillows were as hard as rocks, asked for softer pillows at reception , if they were changed then all there pillows must be hard, the view was out towards Criagnure , however because of how far the rooms are from the front door and every smoker just hangs out the window, there is a strong smell of smoke in rooms (thought we had got past that) and the ground outside the windows was like one big ash tray.
The breakfast was nice ,plenty to choose from and all hot and well cooked.
Would I go back ! I would have to try all the other hotels on Mull first.
Do some decorating over the winter , you have a great location near the ferry ,nice staff , just needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one near reception ,ours was miles away, up and down stairs ,and not one that smells of smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I was disappointed to read your review and learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us; I was also very disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay.

All of our pillows are new and most of them will be overstuffed, I am sorry you did not find these to your liking.

I am terribly sorry that you could smell smoke in your room as we take the smoking ban very seriously in the hotel and anyone caught smoking inside the premises would be subject to a fine as displayed throughout the hotel, Should you have reported it at the time we would have provided you with a new room almost instantly, not only that but we could have taken action against anyone found to be breaking the law.

In regards to your comment about the ash around the hotel I am baffled at where you have seen the ash as our gardens are maintained daily by our gardener and anything as such would be reported and dealt with immediately.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and express my deepest regret and apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Crerar Hotels in Loch Fyne and Nairn which we really enjoyed, were hoping for exactly the same set up, but were quite disappointed by the hotel in Mull. Bit shabby and dated nice Anta style interiors, food from the set menu was fairly basic and limited. Room was a little on the small side. Great spa facilities and lovely warm pool ( bits of fluff were floating in the water though).

Spa treatments were excellent with friendly hotel staff, only they refused to wash out the babies bottles, something we never came across in any hotel before here and the UK.


All in all did not compete with its sisters in Loch Fyne and Nairn and Oban

Room Tip: Some are bit paper thin can hear the tv in the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser, we are always appreciative of the time in which our guests take to leave us their feedback, as you will appreciate our guests views are important to us.

When the pool has been well used the water does not circulate fast enough through our sand filters, however over the course of a few hours it all gets taken in through skimmers which cleanses the water.

In regards to your comment about the babies’ bottles, we can rinse them for you but unfortunately we cannot steam wash the bottles in our dishwasher as you requested due to health a safety reasons which was explained at the time.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and express my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We came over from Ireland for a 10 day trip around the Highlands and Islands . We stayed at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa for 3 nights. I found the service to be brilliant and really loved the warm welcome we were given from the minute we arrived . The spa facilities were great and the food was equally as good . I would definitely recommend this hotel as its a fantastic little gem in the highlands with lots to offer and beautiful surroundings . I must also commend the staff as they were warm, welcoming and this created a lovely relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exce11ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on our hotel.

We are happy to hear that we made your honeymoon relaxing and enjoyable and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel.

Once again many thanks for posting your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

arriving here on wed. for 2 nights ..bit of hit and miss reviews...here's hoping....please have nice room for me... have stayed in 2 of the companies hotels before....Oban bay, and ballahullish...both were very good, hope some folk just had a bit of bad luck..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank flecky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am more than happy to check your reservation and see if we can provide you with a sea view if you can contact the hotel direct to confirm the name the booking is under, we look forward to welcoming you to the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a really great weekend in the hotel. It is a beautiful place and the views were stunning. I went to relax and unwind and with such a warm and friendly atmosphere, really nice staff and amazing spa treatments on offer - I tried out the mud room - I got exactly what I was looking for. :-) I will definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and look forward to going back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a decent three star hotel built probably in the 1960's and therefore not having the modern standards of sound and thermal insulation. The external appearance reflects the architecture of that date; not one of the best periods!

Having said that, the rooms are reasonably spacious and have a wonderful view over the Sound of Mull and Ben Nevis. My only criticism would be that the mattresses need to be replaced.

The swimming pool and spa are much more modern and of a high standard.

The quality of food was perfectly acceptable considering the extremely reasonable price we were paying for our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but ask for a room on the upper floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
10.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing