We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”

Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Craignure
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.craignure-inn.co.uk/restaurantbar.html
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The young lady serving was continually busy, but very friendly and efficient. The food was good and reasonably priced and the atmosphere in the bar was cosy and welcoming. A pub for locals as much as for the tourists - and historic too, with a warming fire in the stove. Or you can sit outside and admire the view of Morvern across the Sound of Mull (if you don't mind the smokers). They do take-aways too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a good pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A perfectly adequate pub, Lovely staff welcoming and attentive, i had a beer there for 3 nights, it would have been good to have had a real ale on offer, but it has to be realised this is an island with no brewery, (to my knowledge).I would recommend the Bellhaven Black Stout as something different.I ate on my last night the fish and chops were well cooked and came with a home made Tartare. Every thing i would expect from a "Good Pub"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ullinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a wasted opportunity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time camping we picked the nearbye site as it was in walking distance of this place
Having got sorted we came down for dinner and a few ales
Few it would be at £3.90 for a 500ml of local real ale from a bottle
Menu was nothing exciting so chose lasagne a safe but uninspiring one when you've had a long day awful salty yuk and overpriced
The staff were not exactly welcoming a trick I suspect learnt from the manager (ess?)
We called in for a drink the following night having had a wonderful meal in tobermory as it was 'handy' but even with a few locals in it felt little better
This place could be a gem without ripping people off please sort it

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craignureinn, Owner at Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear John-the-Admiral,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your review and learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us and thought it was uninspiring and expensive.

We use local highland beef and blackface lamb from Glengorm Estate. We pay approximately twice as much for our produce as we believe in trying to do our bit for the local farmers and the local economy. We also try to reduce food miles and improve the animal welfare e.g. the cattle get killed and butchered here on the island (reduced stress levels for travelling shorter distance etc). This will have increased cost for your food and rather than paying £7.00 - 8.00 for your lasagne we charge £9.50. We have spoken to the chef to make sure that the seasoning levels are correct.

We are also dissappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the service and found 'the girl(s)' serving you not welcoming. We always try to make sure that staff welcomes everybody with a smile and I apologise that this didn't happen to you. We have spoken to all staff members to make sure they treat everybody with a welcoming manner.

As for the price of beer we are one of the cheapest pubs on the island. We do not want to charge customers too much. We are a small independent pub and we do not have purchasing power of multiple pubs or even chains so we pay significant amount for the bottled ale and are having to pass on the cost to the customer. One can buy other beers for £3.00 a pint.

I'd like to apologise your visits didn't reach the standard you would have expected and wish you could have mentioned the saltiness of the food at the time so that we could have remedied the situation for you as we do not like anybody leaving unhappy.

Many thanks, Tiina Penman
Craignure Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a delicious meal in this lopvely old world inn. staff were very friendly in particular our waitress June who was so pleasant and helpful. I am Coeliac and she was extremely helpful in advising me regarding choice on menu etc. Couldn't reccomend the Craignure Inn more highly!
Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craignureinn, Owner at Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and food with us so much.

We appreciate the feedback tremendously and we'd love to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Tiina Penman
Craignure Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanquhar scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place to wait for a Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having missed the 5 o clock ferry to Oban we had a couple of hours to kill so we decided to go for a beer and a bite to eat whilst waiting on the ferry. The beer was very good and so was the food 5 Haddock and chips with home made tartar sauce appeared in an instant and went down a treat. We had the meal Al Fresco in a glorious June day which added to the eating experience. Top tip is make your own chips, the pub boasts homemade Tartar Sauce and Beer Battered Haddock. but cheapened it by serving frozen chips and at almost a tenner for a fish supper I would expect them to make their own chips, otherwise it was very nice and I would go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FigoSanquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear FigoSanquhar,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your fish and visit to the Inn. We do not serve frozen chips however, they are the fresh chilled variety. Unfortunately due to the nature of our business, the volume of chips sold and lack of space we are unable to do chips ourselves. We are sorry that the chips did not reach the standard you would have expected and we would love to welcome you back to the inn.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Tiina Penman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Old Pier Restaurant - Craignure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing