We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A B and B in decline”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pennygate Lodge

Pennygate Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craignure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennygate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Craignure B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A B and B in decline”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in late August. This is obviously a B and B which has past its heyday and really needs a change of staff with more interest in maintaining the fabric and cleanliness of the place. Our room was shabby and not clean. I had the unfortunate experience of seeing into the shared bathroom on the first floor....tidemarks around the bath. Breakfast was poor and I stupidly looked into the kitchen through an open door...yuk.
Michael seemed to be running the place single handed and I understand that the business is for sale which may explain the problems we noted. Unfortunately I have to judge the place on our experience and it wasn't great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1978sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    4
    7
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very disappointed in the overall standards of what used to be the best place to stay in the area. Can't fault the warm friendly welcome from Michael but after that it goes downhill rapidly. Decoration is tired which can be forgiven as the business is up for sale but the level of cleanliness is appalling. Rotten window frames, urine covered toilet which wasn't cleaned during visit to dirty bed linen which needed the previous occupants body hair brushed out ! What more can you say.......,

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sciroccogt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This guesthouse, really seemed great... and we would probably have loved staying there... if only we could have!
We booked 2 rooms 3 months ago for 3 nights, but when we showed up, we learnt that rooms were not any more available: one of them got flooded (which is something we could understand as a valid reason...) but for the other, they gave it to another group of people which showed up with more people than expected... and therefore we ended up in a hotel close by... which was ok, but certainly not what we were expecting for our stay, especially when travelling with children...
We can understand that the flooding issue could generate this kind of unexpected situation, but what about the fact that a group showing up with more people than expected are given rooms we've booked many months ago... quite surprising behavior, isn't it ? I guess this group was bigger than our party, and/or stayed longer than us, so probably a "better" customer?!?
Anyway, what we expected to be a nice stay in a cozy b&b ended up in a "nothing special" stay in a hotel, where we had to split my wife and I each other with one kid, since rooms were not appropriate for children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely B&B. It is a great location, very close to the ferry port. The bedroom was cosy and clean, with a nice en-suite. Plus the lounge is comfortable with amazing views over the bay. The breakfast was absolutely top notch, first class locally sourced ingredients, cooked to perfection. There was a really good choice for breakfast also. The staff, Michael and Amy, were so very kind and warm. They made us feel really at home and were willing to go the extra mile to make sure our stay was wonderful. They have great local knowledge, which meant we maximise our exploration of Mull. We had a brilliant time on Mull and would highly recommend staying in this superb B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at this cosy establishment with stunning views. The staff (Michael and Amy) were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of a good size and very comfortable and the house was nicely decorated.The situation is perfect for travelling to and from the island on the ferry and and for gazing at the beautiful scenery of Mull. The guest house is also conveniently located near a friendly local pub with good food. We were lucky enough to attend a small event there with a trio of folk musicians which was so much fun and made us feel a part of the local community which was fantastic! My friends and I had a wondeful stay and will definitely be returning to Pennygate and the Isle of Mull!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Found the experience of staying here disappointing. On arrival we were shown to our room, which obviously had not been cleaned properly. The floor was dirty as was other areas. The window bottom half way up the staircase was covered in dead leaves from a plant and a various array of dead insects. We discovered that penny gate lodge is up for sale and has been for some time. The owners are obviously not going to invest in the property to bring it up to an acceptable standard. We were able to see into the kitchen from the hallway which was also as un impressive. However on the one positive note the staff were friendly but just have too much to do. You can,t expect one person to run a 13 bedroom hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billybikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was fate that my wife and I were stranded in Craignure for a night, and thank goodness that we were. While on a whirlwind coast-to-coast tour of Scotland, we were on our way to Iona but hadn't been informed by our host that no bus would be running on a Sunday (in January) to take us across Mull. Desperate to get out of the frigid, driving rain we ducked into the Craignure Inn (not that there were many options mind you), and we knew instantly that we were home. A trio of folk musicians playing to a tightly packed crowd in front of a small but pleasant fire, and a bartender who still knows what a "proper pour" looks like. And it was that kindly young woman behind the bar who recommended us to the Pennygate Lodge. Warmed by the whisky and the camaraderie, we headed back out into the rain and up the road a few paces. At first we were a little apprehensive because of the poorly lit and muddy drive — are they even open, we asked ourselves. Once inside, we stood around for a bit in the front hall until our host, Michael, finally realized we were there and informed us that indeed they were closed. At which point he hesitated for about half a moment before his own generosity got the better of him, and he insisted that he wouldn't send us out stranded into the night. So, while he made up a very comfortable and charmingly appointed room, we enjoyed tea by yet another roaring fire. We ate, we talked, we braved another trip to the Inn before finally whiling away the wee hours of the night basking in the glow of our host's hospitality. If there is one moment that stands out amongst several wonderful experiences over the course of our visit to Scotland, it was meeting Michael and spending an amazing evening at the Pennygate Lodge. And all thanks to a happy accident of fate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aegistheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
0.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craignure Inn
Craignure Inn
#1 of 5 in Craignure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennygate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennygate Lodge

Property: Pennygate Lodge
Address: Pennygate Lodge, Craignure PA65 6AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Manse overlooking Craignure Bay is the ideal centre for your holiday on the Isle of Mull. We have 5 ensuite double/twin rooms and 2 non ensuite double/twin rooms. A hearty breakfast is served in our dining room as well as evening meals which are available on request and dependant on demand. Only one minute away from the ferry terminal and centrally situated for all parts of the island. Service buses run from Craignure daily to Fionphort and Tobermory. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennygate Lodge Isle Of Mull/Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing