We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous self catering cottages”
other travelers have booked this property
Caorann is the middle of the three cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caorann is the middle of the three cottages
Lounge and dining area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Caorann is the middle of the three cottages
Lounge and dining area
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bunessan, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma B
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous self catering cottages”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found this delightful cottage through air bnb, what a unexpected treat. The cottages are all in a gorgeous setting, ours was spotless, huge inside and had everything we could have needed- including oil and salt and pepper! I was very happy with all the cruelty free products-washing up liquid, soap, laundry powder. A really nice touch. It was our first visit to mull and one we won't forget thanks to the wonderful accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisecd...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Fraoch for our first visit to Mull. There are three cottages which sit together. The cottage was a lot larger than I had been expecting. Very clean and homely. It had everything you would need in a self catering. We had two young kids with us and it felt very safe and was perfect for our needs. There is a large shared garden at the back which was great. When we were there no one else was using the garden so the kids could happily play. There is a field past the garden that you can walk through to get a lovely view of Bunessan bay and there is a ruined Croft at the top - beware there are 2 Highlands cows in the field but we stayed away from them and it was fine. There is also a friendly pheasant and a crow that pecked the window in the morning . The cottage is a few minutes drive from Bunessan which has a shop etc. Nice beaches close by too. Ferry to Iona about 10 mins away. Great stay would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calum G
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I loved my time at Caroann Cottage. The cottage is beautifully presented, immaculately clean and has high quality fittings and furnishings.
The hospitality felt both professional and homely. I also appreciated the hosts including internet at a voip-based phone. Dog friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janedP912...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fantastic and relaxing”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed in Caorann cottage for two weeks. Cottage lovely and clean on arrival with a fully equipped kitchen. Layout was excellent being all on one level but we were able to close off the bedrooms and bathroom to stop the dogs roaming. We were able to turn off all the heating as the weather was very hot!! There is a great drying cupboard in the first hallway so that if it is wet and muddy you can leave all the wet clothes and boots in one area and not trail through the cottage. Bedrooms very roomy with lots of storage and hanging space (with coat hangers). The shower room is enormous!! and the shower was great.
The cottage is on the main road to Fionnphort so if needed a bus can be had. Fionnphort is only a 10 minute drive away and has a spar shop, fresh fish bar (delicious) and a good pub/restaurant (Keel Row- lovely and does take out).
Village of Burnessan is about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive. Has a Spar shop, souvenier shop, bistro, post office and a great pub (Argyll Arms).
There are at least great beaches within a 10 minute drive. All allow dogs all year round and are great spots for paddling, swimming, canoeing (bring your own) or generally lazing about.
From the cottage we were able to watch the buzzards and white tailed eagles hunting on the field behind. There were sheep and highland cattle there too.
Take a stroll up the hill away from the cottages at the back and visit the remains of the original settlement of Suidhe - quite eerie at sunset!
There is loads to see and do and lots of walking to be had if you are that way inclined.
You must remember that shops close at teatime, roads are narrow with passing places and mobile phone service is hit and miss. If you want a vibrant night life with disco's and takeaway shops then this area is not for you!!! If you want peace, quiet, relaxation, walks, outdoors and lots of wildlife then this is for you. Loved it all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseMcM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely, home away from home”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A lovely cottage, in a great location. The cottage had everything we needed for a great week on Mull. It was clean, tidy and well presented. If I had to be picky and find a fault, it would be that the mugs aren't very big but I'm just used to a large mug of tea in the morning to wake me up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizalili...
Conwy
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect - warm and cosy”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in one of the cottages at the beginning of the year. You never quite know what to expect from holiday rentals, but it's difficult to fault this one. The house was warm, well equipped and well designed. There's a spacious "hall" on arrival which is a great place to leave the muddy boots/coats and jackets. It was lovely to walk in to a warm, dry house on a cold day. There's a large bathroom (to be accurate, there's no bath, only a shower) a comfortable sitting/dining area and 2 bedrooms - one double and one with twin beds. The house comes with books, games, jigsaw puzzles, wifi, digital television... plenty to amuse people if the weather is poor.

That said, we were able to get out most days even in January. As so many places were closed, we largely catered for ourselves - which wasn't a problem as the kitchen is well equipped (electric cooker; microwave; frig/freezer and even sharp knives!). And the washing machine/tumble drier was invaluable at this time of year. We had been hoping for somewhere with a log fire - which this cottage doesn't have - but we didn't really miss it at all and certainly didn't miss the additional work a log fire makes!

We had a great time - situated close to Bunessan and the ferries to Iona, it's a lovely spot for walking or just getting around. We wanted somewhere away from it all and we found it - without losing on the comfort and facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well equipped kitchen and it was warm!
Liked least: Not having a bath - only a shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dala B
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect base for exploring the south of Mull and Iona”
Reviewed December 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Suide Farm Cottages are perfect place to stay in the part of the Isle of Mull known as the Ross. The cottages are situated on the road to Fionnpfort, just a mile outside the village of Bunessan. So, there are restaurants, a grocer's and other conveniences nearby.

The cottages are surrounded by countryside, complete with a flock of sheep and two highland cows plus a ruined settlement to explore in the pasture behind them. The cottages themselves are immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and equipped with any modern convenience you might want—from a washing machine and a dishwasher to a hair-dryer and an iron. We stayed for a fortnight in September 2015 and, while the weather wasn´t cold, the good heating was welcome on cooler evenings. If the weather is bad, being cooped up indoors might not be quite so bad at Suidhe. There are plenty of DVDs, books and board games (almost all in English with some German items) in the cottages to pass the time, plus WiFi and a TV.

If you are lucky to have good weather, there are lots of places to hike and visit within a half-hour's drive: Fionnpfort and the old granite quarry, Iona, Erraid, Ardalanish weavers, and numerous beaches and coves. Tobermory and the northern part of Mull are a fairly long drive away but do-able as a full-day's outing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing