We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70th Birthday Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardness House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunessan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardness House
Ranked #1 of 7 Bunessan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last time I wrote about Ardness House, I finished with: We stayed for 2 nights – we’ll return in 2013.
In 2013 we returned to a welcome from Gillian that I would usually expect from/for’’ Nearest and Dearest” but of course for Gillian and her family, that’s exactly how they view their guests and their guests view the views – inside and outside. A warm welcome, a welcoming fire, a comfortable bed, great food and a fantastic panoramic vista of the magic Isle of Mull. Unpredictable weather changed our earlier plans, but Gillian came up with an alternative itinerary, which found us visiting Ardalanish Weavers and taking some windy walks on the Ardalanish beaches. Gillian and her family are marvellous examples of all that combine to make a truly wonderful holiday experience work. Awards and praise well deserved. See you in 2015.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fhgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
69
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Was
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple days. The views are great on the front side of the house. The back side is not so good - a lot of people come and go through a rear house entrance, so better to keep the curtains shut during the day. The bathrooms are tiny - not for the claustrophobic! Location is very convenient for activities on the Ross of Mull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

A warm welcome, comfortable room, high quality local food and ample off road parking. We were made to feel very welcome by Gillian. Evening meals were offered with a choice of menu. The meals were excellent. Breakfast was so generous that lunch wasn't really necessary. Gillian was very helpful in suggesting places to visit, advice which was followed and much appreciated. The icing on the cake was the view from the bedroom windpw.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing room if you appreciate a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We (Brits, Americans, Chileans) stayed for three nights in September, arriving on a wet and windy evening. Gillian made us feel immediately at home with a fire in the living room and cups of tea. Breakfast was well prepared and more than we could eat, and Gillian helped us plan out our days in Mull and Iona, with all the ferry times. Evening meals were as plentiful and well prepared as breakfast, and the local mussels out of this world. While our bedroom was a tight squeeze, it was warm and clean, and you could lie in bed listening to the wind and rain, knowing you were dry. The bathroom in one of the bedrooms had a drain smell that needs fixing. The location is beautiful and ideal for catching an early ferry to Iona, before the coaches arrive.

Room Tip: If you don't choose "en suite", you can use the much larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow9runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardness, Manager at Ardness House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and glad you enjoyed your holiday on Mull. It was lovely to meet your family from all parts of the world, and hope the New arrival before Christmas goes well.
As for the smell in your bathroom, which you got me to come and see, and on looking I said that all I could smell was your very wet walking boots drying on the heated towel rail in the ensuite, that had a very cheesy smell off the boots, on removing the boots, I asked the next morning how the smell was, and they said it had gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful place to stay - 5 mins to ferry to Iona. Views are fantastic. Evening meal was local mussels, beef and veg from the garden - Gillian even had GF products - every need met. Will be back next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteThePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardness, Manager at Ardness House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, It was great to welcome you back again to Ardness, and are already planning your next visit to Mull for 2014 with the family to see the Puffins. it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ardness again, It was a pleasure to cook for you both, and that you enjoyed the tastes that Mull can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room is very much a spare room of a large bungalow, but it's perfectly comfortable and has all you need. Amazing location - wild and windy! Lovely landlady, we happened to visit when there was an agricultural show which was excellent - amazing varieties of animals and sheep that looked like huge ugly dogs!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great B&B only a couple of miles from Fionnphort and the ferry to Iona. A lovely quiet spot on the Southwest corner of the island with a great sea view. Ideal place to escape the noise and bustle of working life. My wife Yvonne and I stayed here on Friday/Saturday night, 6th and 7th September. Breakfasts were hearty and set you up for the day - Stornoway black pudding included! We had evening meals as part of our stay and have to say the food was amazing. Roast beef on the first night and chicken wrapped in bacon the next, all served with vegetables grown in the garden.(I even had a smiley face in my soup one night!) Gillian was a terrific host, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for her. From showing us Sea Eagles in the garden, to advising us places to go and see; meanwhile keeping a spotlessly clean B&B and working all hours on the farm, you really have to admire this lady!
We are planning to return again next year and whoever is reading this should do the same. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyboy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardness, Manager at Ardness House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review you posted. It was a pleasure to meet you both, Yvonne & John, I really enjoyed your company and craic! Your luck was on your side when the Sea Eagle landed on the hill just 200 yards from the house,
Look forward to meeting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunessan
23.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
22.7 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
19.2 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardness House

Property: Ardness House
Address: Ross of Mull | Ardness, Bunessan PA67 6DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Bunessan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bunessan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardness House is a spacious modern bungalow (with ensuite facilities) situated between Bunessan and Fionnphort, and just 3 miles from Iona Ferry on the southernmost peninsula of the Isle Of Mull, in the locality known as the Ross of Mull. Ideal location for visits to the Isle of Iona, Staffa & Treshnish. Enjoy traditional home cooked meals, using local produce, with Lamb/Beef from our farm, locally caught fish and home grown vegetables, then relaxing in the lounge by the fire watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardness House Bunessan, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing