We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Road to Iona”
Review of Argyll Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunessan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Argyll Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Bunessan B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Road to Iona”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Stunning location. Rooms are very comfortable, if a bit dated, but the service was absolutely First class. The host, Chris and his staff, made our break most memorable, they could not have been more helpful. All the meals were good and plentiful, and the dining room has a view to die for. I would recommend highly the Argyll Arms to anyone . PS. It's excellent value for money too..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    11
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
38
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived at the Argyll Arms at 5.15 and the sign on the door said dinner served from 5.30. With two small hungry children this seemed like the best bet as there's nothing else around for some distance on Mull. When we went in we were told dinner was actually from 6.00pm, so there was nothing for it but to wait and try to entertain a 5 year old and 18 month old for three quarters of an hour. The waitress was very friendly but the food when it arrived was average at best, my husband and I both went for the steak pie which seemed to have overdone the salt. The accompanying veg wasn't all that hot either. The best meal it of the bunch seemed to be my daughters homemade chicken nuggets which looked very nice. Didn't bother going back for a return visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uise107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhead
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we , my self, my husband and my adult son, went to mull and had an evening meal there one time, then that one time lead to evening meals every night for two weeks. all the meals were so good, I wanted to take the cheff home with us.chris the owner is so kind, and so are the staff they did everything to make our visit memorable.while we were there, we saw a person had eaten all the dinner she had ordered,chicken with haggis, which is to die for. we had it three times it was so good. then she had the cheek to complain about it. it appears some people will do anything to try to get a bit off the bill, there was nothing wrong with the meal I even had it. just super.the experience we had from that hotel, the argyle hotel bunessan isle of mull , had such an impression on us, that we go two to three times a year to mull, and we always eat at the argyle arms bunessan, and camp at uisken, a wonderful beauty spot nearby.
the views from the hotel are spectacular, and we have to remind ourselves that we are on an island, and everything we eat has to come over by ferry. thanks chris and your staff, for being there , and being so kind, not just to us, but to everyone you come into contact with.. we will most certainly be back! angie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby200peterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from a two-night stay at the Argyll Arms, a quaint, small hotel in the tiny village of Bunessan. The rooms are basic but we were warm, well rested, and comfortable during our stay. The staff was very kind to us, attentive to our needs, and knowledgeable about the area. It's a great place to walk around and get a sense of the Scottish Highlands and catch the bus for a visit to Iona and Staffa.
The food was delicious.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just had an evening meal at the Argyll Arms. We had a table by the window. The view was spectacular. The sunset was blinding, but the waiter was aware, and immediately offered to provide the necessary shade, without spoiling the view. The smoked salmon was to die for. The scallops were cooked properly, and the salad that came with them was big and tasty. The sourdough bread was lovely, the chocolate pudding excellent, and they serve a good range of beers. The service was cheerful and prompt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaveTigerNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in a great location on the road to Fionaport and has potential to be a real find. However.... We checked in as there is very little else in the area to a very cold room as the heating didn't come on until 6. I lay on the bed only to find that the headboard spindles were broken and the whole headboard was on the point of collapsing. I turned on the tv to find that the only channel that was available was channel 5 but this decided to call it a day during the course of the evening. I wish I had too.
So, on to dinner. Two of the five starters, scallops and the smoked salmon, were off the menu also the venison pie was off too. It was only 7.30 in the evening. Wine is only available in the mini bottles. It could be said that it gives guests a choice so groups don't have to compromise there preference of wine or it could be that Johnny Profit is rearing his ugly head! When it came to desert there was some uncertainty as to whether they had a chocolate ice cream left but we were lucky. Post dinner tipples well here we are in the Highlands of Scotland and they only had two different malt whiskies. The food we had was very good and the staff tried there best given the resources they had.
I know it is getting more common these days for people to renegotiate the bill in theses situations but I feel that a bit tacky and decided to compensate with an accurate unbiased review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Bedroom was very nice,but found other conditions rather basic.No stair lift for the disabled;only a sign on the lamppost saying planning permission had been sought for a lift.The bar doubled as the main restaurant,with basic wooden seats and tables.There was a tiny separate eating area with tablecloths and formal seating.The food was very good to be fair.

The owner was very nice and very helpful.It was just unfortunate a lot of restoration work still needed to be done to bring standards up to a higher level.The view across the loch was lovely.Hotel well worth refurbishment !

Room Tip: lovely view .Ensure your room faces loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunessan
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pennyghael
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Arms Hotel

Property: Argyll Arms Hotel
Address: Bunessan PA67 6DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Bunessan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bunessan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Argyll Arms Hotel Bunessan, Isle Of Mull, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing