We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in all the world”
Review of Baile-na-Cille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timsgarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baile-na-Cille
Ranked #1 of 1 Timsgarry B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place in all the world”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have always had a fabulous time. Richard and Joanna are wonderful hosts, the location is perfect and rooms are lovely. If it wasn't so far from the US, we would come every year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby201202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hoganas, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As we were on Harris and travelling to Lewis we were browsing the Internet to find somewhere to stay. And luckily we found Baile-na-Cille, one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed in. Very personal and with the most wonderful landlord that we have ever met in Scotland. The room was quite alright and the evening meal was great, a hearthy Scottish dinner with "a twist". As we arrived our landlord Richard was cooking both some chutney and the meat for dinner and the hole place was smelling of good food. Richard is a really wonderful person who welcomes you into his "home". We would like to come back soon. The view over the beach are just amazing. We can't recommend it enough, it's a place with personality and the location is just marvelous. Just hope I haven't said to much so it will be fully booked next time we go there. Thank you Richard!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biirgitta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed with my partner at Baile-na-Cille for an all too short week at the beginning of August; the most recent of many visits spanning 20 years. As usual, we were overwhelmed by the whole experience. The view of the bay as you come over the brow of the hill never fails to take your breath away, this year with the added bonus of the deer paddling in the creek. We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The accommodation was comfortable and spotlessly clean, the service exemplary and the food delicious. Our request for vegetarian meals was met without so much as a raised eyebrow and we were treated to a range of interesting and tasty dishes during our stay.
Jo and Richard are the perfect hosts - always charming and considerate. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.
We look forward to taking our holidays at Baile-na-Cille for the next 20 years!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Valais, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

i write and edit guidebooks for a living. i never tell the owners. in this case, the owner has a major chip on his shoulder. lovely location. he just does not want to work. if you pay up and smile, he is pleasant. mention the filthy state of the shower, and he turns nasty. the food is good but massively overpriced. just don't say so. overall very bad value for money. but stunning location. not recommended at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A lovely peaceful spot - the views are breathtaking and the gardens/beach would be perfect on a good day. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The public areas in the house are fascinating and together the whole place feels very welcoming and homely. I was welcomed by Richard who had stayed up despite my relatively late arrival. He helped me find somewhere safe for my bike which is just as well as the winds were well up during the night and following morning, I only dined there one night but the food was sublime! My only regret was not being able to get the recipe for the aubergine/tomato dish :) If you're looking for 'chain hotel bland', then this is maybe not for you but otherwise it's well worth visiting here - I had a really nice time - many thanks to all - guests, staff and owners alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilAitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stunning position in remote Lewis - it really is as good as it looks in the photos - Jo & Richard do a fabulous job looking after their guests. The food was inventive, plentiful and delicious. Stayed 5 nights and would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robindaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have never written a trip advisor recommendation for anything, but my experience at Baile na Cille requires that I do! I sincerely hope that Jo and Richard (the proprietors) do not have any more guests like me come to visit their B&B, for their own sanity. If it is the case that you are prone to disaster, you might consider making a reservation at Baile na Cille. Where do I start? Getting the manual car from the airport that I was in a panic about how to drive? Or negotiating how to reschedule my St. Kilda trip that got cancelled two days in a row? Or how about the Highland cow I hit with my car in the dark just miles from their place? By all counts I should be in a psychiatric ward from all that happened, if it were not for Jo and Richard 's concern, attention, and unbelievable help. I won't actually list the things they did because I would hate to have this be an expectation of their guests! But needless to say they absolutely saved my butt and saved my vacation. If you are the kind of person that wants to stay in a corporate, laminated, sterile hotel, stay clear! But if you are the kind of person who loves comfort, warmth, and good cheer, stay here! I have never been treated with such care and kindness by people I was paying. A truly special place. And a great deal, by the way, for solo travellers, both in terms of the cost plus in terms of always having very nice people around to talk to.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank PJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsgarry
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodside Guest House
Woodside Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 24 in Stornoway
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baile-na-Cille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baile-na-Cille

Property: Baile-na-Cille
Address: Timsgarry HS2 9JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Timsgarry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Timsgarry
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Baile-Na-Cille Hotel Timsgarry
Baile-Na-Cille Timsgarry, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing