We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of Baile-na-Cille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timsgarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baile-na-Cille
Ranked #1 of 1 Timsgarry B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Timsgarry, on Uig Bay in the Outer Hebrides, feels like the far end of the world; beautiful, quiet, relaxing, with deer on the moor nearby and sand in the bay. The breakfasts and evening meals are superb, in both quality and quantity. We first visited Baile-na-Cille in 2001, and have been back several times since; there is little point in going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I arrived here with my husband after travelling for around 20hours.
Hungry and tired, first time on the Harris/Lewis.
What a beautiful part of Scotland.
We were made extremely welcome and fed and watered exceeding all expectations and very much appreciated and very kind and thoughtful.
The service we received was faultless, what lovely and interesting genuine people.
Come here for the peace and quiet and unobtrusive service in fabulous countryside on an Island, soul food!
The meals were great too, and, prepared with great skill, love and attention, totally yummy and plenty of it.
Stand outside, stand still, soak up the views, listen to the wind whispering in your ear, the silence is deafening initially, but, take a few deep breaths of pure fresh air, relax your face,neck, shoulders and back, smell the pure air, switch your head off listening to the silence, accept the here and now, and - feel the stress fall away.
Take a walk slowly up to the community shop, say hello and smile!
Get into the groove that is island time and chill!
Relax and enjoy being in the here and now, feed your soul and, you won't get heartburn - just a bit of heart ache on returning to the mainland.
Don't forget to look out for the rabbits, birds and, the varied plant life, that grows freely, anywhere and everywhere it chooses!
Personally we would return over and over and over.
Thankyou to all at BnC, hope to see you sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, come here for being here, not being in a bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaJoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast is the best I have ever stayed in.

Aside from the location, which has to be one of best in the world, the owner and staff made our stay extra special.

Situated right on the beach this b&b is ideal for the family. On top of this the facilities at the b&b are first class. Table football, bar billiard, tv room and the quiet room were all well used by our family but best of all was the grass tennis court. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with great views. Breakfasts were amazing but on top of this the owner cooks evening meals to die for.

I can not praise the owner enough.

Best wishes
James. Winchester

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Unfortunately Trip Advisor does not allow me to enter the date of our visit to this guesthouse as it was before September 2011, and was I believe before Trip Advisor was availiable. However in after seeing a recent article in the Telegraph I would just like to say that we had a fabulous time and that the owner could not have been more hospitable or generous. My mother left her coat behind and he kindly went out of his way to meet us at the ferry port with it before we even realised we had left it. I have some wonderful memories of a lovely stay and would return again when next in the area with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EleanorMary17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful sandy beach on the doorstep, herds of wild deer grazing on the hills, rabbits everywhere...
We spent 3 wonderful nights here and it was very relaxing. Richard is a great host and despite being busy made us feel most welcome. the room was comfortable with a small sitting room and the most spectacular views. Breakfasts were delicious and the evening meal we had there was a dinner party atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
18  Thank Gilsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

In a beautiful setting on the edge of the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides sits an old manse which has been lovingly restored into a homey Bed & Breakfast. Richard Gollin is a relaxed and helpful host even though he does much of the cooking for the B&B himself and is therefore quite busy. He still had time to plot out our best routes for seeing the nearby Callanish Standing Stones, the Doune Broch Center and the Gearrannan Blackhouse Village. Full English breakfast was offered every morning along with hearty Scottish porridge. For an additional cost (and well worth it) an evening meal could be booked and Richard presented beautiful and delicious full course dinners. We were well entertained by the beautiful herd of fully antlered Red Deer in the nearby pasture, carpets of wildflowers, a beach that came and went with the tides, a multitude of bunnies scampering on the hillside and sheep that wandered into the yard to "mow the grass." Richard is up on local history, names of birds and wildflowers and is also an excellent tennis player when he has time to play on the court in his yard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LongIslandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you want grand luxury accommodation this is not for you, but if you want a peaceful place to get away from it all, this is it! The house is an old manse and is run by Richard Gollin who spends his summers on the Isle of Lewis and the winters in Florida. The name Baile na Cille (pronounced "balla na cillya") means the village of or with the church. There are marvellous views of the bay from the house and when we were there the deer came right down to the house and on to the beach. Richard is a superb chef and host. The roads on the island are in very good condition and there are plenty of p[assing places on the many single track sections. A great place to start a holiday in the Outer Hebrides.

Room Tip: The room we were in had views of the beach. The bathroom attached was convenient, but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsgarry
0 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 24 in Stornoway
237 reviews
0 mi away
Solas Guest House
Solas Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
78 reviews
0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baile-na-Cille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baile-na-Cille

Address: Timsgarry HS2 9JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Timsgarry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Timsgarry
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Baile-Na-Cille Hotel Timsgarry
Baile-Na-Cille Timsgarry, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing