We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Rhilochan Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet View from garden bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet
View from garden bench.
Double bed
Chest of drawers and 2 wardrobes in the room.
Bedside cabinets and bedside lights either side of the bed.
Living room with patio doors opening out to a lovely view.
Television and wifi.
New feature. Double size wall bed with luxury mattress.
Conservatory with double doors to small patio and gardern area.
Our conservatory also has a dining table
Our toilet area is fully tiled.
The wet shower area is also fully tiled.
The new ferry arriving at Stornoway
Just about to arrive onto the beach. All of the scenic photos have been taken at the local beach.
View from one of the caves.
Time for a stroll.
Time to explore.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Our laying ladies who will provide all of our guests with complimentary free range eggs.
Surfing at the local beach.
Surfing at the local beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
iancampbe...
Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful stay in your lovely cottage.Everyrhing you could want including some very nice touches.Peefect location.Little Gem.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I always enjoy getting the chalet ready for guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regards,
Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. You had a mixture of weather, but that is sometimes when Lewis is seen at its finest. The beaches are always very popular. Kind regards,
Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jmoff2
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stornaway break”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely chalet with very welcoming hosts, lovely attention detail making our stay extra special. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again and will try to have a few surprises for you. Kind regards,

Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you Linda. Pleasure having you stay. Lots of sunshine since you left. We will save some for your return visit. Kind regards, Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ralston M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Woderful break”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful stay in an extremely well equipped chalet. Janice, the owner was extremely generous and helpful. There are many lovely thoughtful touches and the attention to detail is splendid.It was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
I am very happy that you enjoyed your visit and were able to get some sightseeing in your hired car. Mixed weather for you, but pleased that you enjoyed the chalet. Thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flawless Comfort, Convenience & Picturesque.”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The first impression I had was that Janet & her husband have immense pride in this property.A lot of work goes into the preparation before your checkin(Count the creative towel animals!) & they are available for your every concern.
The rooms and furnishings are extremely comfortable & very efficiently set out to maximise enjoyment of the space within the property. We spent most time in the Conservatory as the kids watched TV in the Double room or playing the Available board games. We tried to "disconnect" as much as possible but it was futile once we discovered how great the Wifi service was. Everyone wants to go back (4 adults 2 kids) & amazingly I saw a Buzzard above the Chalet whilst enjoying roaming around the Grassy fields outside + Check out that Hebridean view! :)

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings
Liked least: Midges.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
It was lovely having your family staying at Rhilochan. Quite a few guests have commented that they have found the area ideal for bird watching. Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoy getting Rhilochan ready for those holidaying with us.
Kind regards,
Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, very clean & cosy”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Janice, the owner, met us on arrival & made us feel very welcome.
The accommodation was spacious but cosy with lovely "arty" touches like the provided towels on the bed when we arrived, made to look like lobsters! Everything we needed seemed to be there. The kitchen was not large but was spotlessly clean, everything in its place & worked well including the washing machine. There was a great view from the sink over the beach and bay of Coll. The bedroom was a reasonable size with a comfy double bed & bedding. Plenty of wardrobes & drawers for a long stay. It needed blinds though on the two skylights as it gets bright in July, very early in the morning. Next door was the ensuite with a large shower, toilet etc but no bath. Good sink & storage. Maybe the electric shower needed a bit more pressure but it was quiet adequate. Again every was spotlessly clean.
The lounge was large with plenty of "Ikea" seating & an extra drop down bed (if needed). The TV was great, very good picture quality & plenty of Freeview channels. The Wi-fi too worked well for internet etc.
Best part for us was the rear conservatory with a 4 seater table for meals & two nice black leather sofas. It was bright, warm & a lovely place to be both for breakfast and to relax at the end of the day. The outside space was large with garden areas & plenty of room for parking, off road. A bike storage rack was just being finished too. You felt it was your own private home space and a great base for visiting Stornoway, with all its facilities and the rest of the Isle of Lewis. Try to have a day visiting Harris too, which is breathtakingly beautiful.
Would we recommend staying here? - 100% YES.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything provided for a great stay 5 day stay.
Liked least: No skylight blinds in bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate what you have said about the need for blinds for the velux windows in the bedroom and this is something that we had thought about doing. Also, will check out the pressure of the shower. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. Kind regards, Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing