We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely stay here again!”
other travelers have booked this property
Rhilochan Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet View from garden bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Rhilochan Chalet
Rhilochan Chalet
View from garden bench.
Double bed
Chest of drawers and 2 wardrobes in the room.
Bedside cabinets and bedside lights either side of the bed.
Living room with patio doors opening out to a lovely view.
Television and wifi.
New feature. Double size wall bed with luxury mattress.
Conservatory with double doors to small patio and gardern area.
Our conservatory also has a dining table
Our toilet area is fully tiled.
The wet shower area is also fully tiled.
The new ferry arriving at Stornoway
Just about to arrive onto the beach. All of the scenic photos have been taken at the local beach.
View from one of the caves.
Time for a stroll.
Time to explore.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Sunrise in February 2016.
Our laying ladies who will provide all of our guests with complimentary free range eggs.
Surfing at the local beach.
Surfing at the local beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
cazp2014
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This house is a gem. Spotlessly clean, with everything we could possibly have needed for our stay. The towels were fluffy, the sheets soft, the chairs comfortable, the house warm and inviting. On top of that, it has a decent TV with lots of channels and wifi! The kitchen is small, but it comes with a lovely view :) There are lots of really nice little touches which I don't really want to mention as finding them just adds to the charm of the place. Suffice to say that Janice has created a very welcoming home.

The house is a short drive to Stornoway and all the amenities that offers. It's a cute town. We love the artwork, wooden sculptures etc, that we came across there. Do not leave Lewis without spending some time on Harris... it's breathtaking!

We really enjoyed our holiday in Lewis and hope to return in the future. If we do, we would definitely want to stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Leaving... :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you. Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. I love creating a few surprises for folks coming on holiday. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that the weather is kinder to you the next time you come. Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJHM74
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday rental with views of the beach”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owner Janice and her husband both gave us a warm welcome. We spent a thoroughly enjoyable three nights there on a short break. The cottage was well equipped, warm with fast acting electric heaters. WiFi internet provided. The bathroom was clean, modern and very tidy, while the kitchen came with all the necessary bits and pieces, plus a lovely view of the beach from the window to boot. What more could you ask for. Located about 15 mins North of Stornoway.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thanks Colin. Also, thanks for sharing the lovely photographs that you took from your tours of Lewis and Harris. Beautiful scenery and spectacular colours. So glad that you enjoyed your short stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmskye
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just book it!”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely, cosy, spotlessly clean chalet in a peaceful area, yet close enough to all amenities. 2 mins walk to an amazing beach. 10 mins drive into Stornoway. The hosts, who live next door, are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much bother. The beds are very comfortable, as are both lounge areas - the sun-lounge is a fabulous extra space. There is lots of lovely light, and the most amazing view from the kitchen window! Fresh eggs from Janice's hens were a super-tasty treat, as were the local goodies in the welcome pack. There is freeview TV, books and games for when the weather is less than clement. We had a fabulous holiday here, very sad to leave, and hope to return soon.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
So pleased that you had a good holiday, and thank you for the lovely comments. You were our second guests to have stayed at Rhilochan! We are looking forward to your return visit. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonya8...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed for four nights, Communication with Janice beforehand was very helpful. Received a kind welcome and found a spotless well equipped chalet with a plenty of space for two and would be comfortable for four with a spacious conservatory if the lounge needs to be used as a second bedroom.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and quiet
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2016
Thank you very much Anthony. I am glad that you had plenty of sunshine for your stay, and very impressed that you did a day trip to Eriskay. Best wishes, Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynS165...
2 reviews
“Brilliant location, lovely beach.”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My boyfriend and I had a brilliant long weekend visiting family on Lewis. The chalet was perfectly located just a short drive from town. The conservatory is lovely to sit in and the overall house was very clean.
I loved the attention to detail with all the wee bits of tweed and other arty things placed around the house.
There is a very nice beach just a short walk down away.
We had a wonderful time and wish we had booked for longer, hopefully won't be to long until we return again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. You were able to enjoy some sunshine while you were here and we hope that it won't be too long before you come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Even before we travelled to Rhilochan, Janice, the owner contacted us with directions to the property and to tell us that some essentials would be waiting for us when we arrived. the house is set in a nice quiet, rural area and the owners live next door.
The house is well proportioned with everything that we needed for our stay. My wife and I stayed in the double bedroom and my sister in law simply pulled down the wall bed in the lounge, fully made up and slept there. There is a conservatory at the end of the house where we ate and relaxed after exploring the island. Out of the window we could see a fantastic beach which would be idyllic in the summer, however we didn't venture there in April. We are looking forward to going back there again in the autumn.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you Bill. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again this autumn. Rock pools at the caves are always great for exploring then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"It's bigger on the inside!" and the owners are delightful”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This chalet is a magnificently converted outbuilding, originally done for family use. Everything is of a much higher standard than I would expect for a rental property. The walk-in shower is particularly nice on a cold day.

It is situated in a sort of suburb of Stornoway. Only a short drive from town but much too far to walk. Only local attraction is the beech, but it is a lovely one.

The hosts were very unbelievably generous with little extras they brought along just because they thought we might like them.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts.
Liked least: having to go home at the end.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank you Daniel and Nicola. The weather was not kind to you, but you still managed to enjoy your holiday. We are looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing