We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picnic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Picnic views
Garden and House seaviews
Seaviews from upstairs bedrooms
Dining area
Dining area and french doors out to decking
Lounge room - Downstairs (Seaviews)
Lounge room - Downstairs (Seaviews)
Lounge room - Downstairs (Seaviews)
Hallway and wooden staircase
King room - Downstairs (Seaviews)
Kingroom - Downstairs (Seaviews)
Shower room - Downstairs
Shower room - Downstairs
Double room - Upstairs (Village views)
Double room - Upstairs (Village views)
Twin room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Twin room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Superking room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Superking room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Superking room - Wooden beam ceiling
Superking room
Twin room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Twin room - Upstairs (Seaviews)
Sea view from twin room
Front garden
Front view into Sheshader Bay
Seaviews (upstairs)
Seaviews (upstairs)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel P
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our first time on the Isle of Lewis and we loved it. The house was in such a beautiful location, so quiet and peaceful but only a 15min drive from busy Stornaway so we thought it was perfect. When we arrived we were delighted to find tea, coffee, bread, milk, eggs, butter and bacon, this went down a treat with everyone. The accommodation was really fantastic and had everything we needed and more. The kids loved running about in the large garden and on the swing. There is a children's playpark just about half a mile up the road which we used regularly and the kids enjoyed the walk passed horses and sheep.
We even got invited to the annual Village BBQ and everyone was so welcoming - we had a fantastic time.
John and Katrina were fantastic hosts and were so helpful, thank you!
Cannot recommend 1A Sheshader highly enough and we are already planning to come back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and had the bonus of great weather! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year. Thanks Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Hi Kasia, thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back again soon to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kazmacleo...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect house for large get together! ”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A huge thank you to the owners of 1A Sheshader! Your well stocked and welcoming house was the perfect get together venue for 3 best friends and their families!
On arrival we were greeted by a welcome pack of milk, bread , eggs, biscuits. Enough for us to provide lunch to a hungry group of adults and kids. Very much appreciated!
The house really is a 'home from home'. There wasn't much that wasn't provided. You never quite know what to bring to a self catering house but we ended up duplicating on a few things that were very generously provided.
The decor throughout is very tasteful and calming and provided us with the perfect base for our group. Location is amazing. I just loved standing drying my hair in the downstairs bedroom and looking out to the most amazing, uninterrupted view. We were treated one morning to a group of around 40 dolphins playing just off the coast.
If you are looking for a large house which is in an amazing location, clean and well stocked then look no further. Huge congrats to owners who I believe are new to the rental business - keep doing what you are doing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Wow! Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our house and it's so touching to read that others have enjoyed it too! We really appreciate your kind words, and hope to welcome you to stay again one day. Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moermantj...
Veurne, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed 2 nights in 1A Sheshader. The house is fantastic! It's a big house, though very cosy and VERY practical. We had fantastic weather on Lewis and Harris, but even on a rainy day the house would not bore you and you can spend a nice day inside.
The interior is luxurious and offers everything you need. And you're close to the shops and restaurants of Stornoway, however quietly located outside the city.
We would certainly stay here again!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Wow, what a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the house (and island). Thank you for choosing 1A Sheshader and you are most welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
“Great stay, beautiful house!”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very comfortable house with excellent sea views, in a quiet village just outside of Stornaway. We had a lovely stay, the house was clean and nicely furnished throughout, we were particular fans of the underfloor heating in the kitchen! Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Hi Charlotte, we're so glad you had a nice time, the underfloor is one of my favourite bits too, toasty toes are always a bonus! You are certainly welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
We are delighted that you had a good holiday and enjoyed the house and it's very special views. Please come back and stay any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rseatk
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house and beautiful location”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself and four colleagues stayed here when working on the Isle of Lewis for a few days. It was a great house to work and relax in, with a well-stocked kitchen and very modern facilities including wifi, satellite TV, dishwasher and jacuzzi bath. The location is amazing, with spectacular views from all around the house. The beds are very comfy and all bedrooms have either twin or double beds in, and plenty of space for luggage.

The house was very easy to book and the owners we're so quick to respond during the booking process and at the end of the phone for any query during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Hi Rosie. Thank you for choosing 1A Sheshader for your stay, we're so glad you liked it and of course, you're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing