We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Broadbay Cottage

Broadbay Cottage with large safe garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broadbay Cottage with large safe garden
Lounge with views down to Coll Beach Details of cushions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Broadbay Cottage with large safe garden
Lounge with views down to Coll Beach
Details of cushions
Double room
Double room
Twin room
Twin room
Bathroom
Single room
Kitchen
Lounge
Furnishings
Lounge with Internet enabled Smart TV
Broadbay Cottage
Hall
Original artwork
Exterior late on a June evening
Up to date kitchen with excellent cooking facilities
Kitchen with views down the croft to the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
gtdm
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Good location just a 10 minute drive from Stornoway. The house is warm and comfortable, it is well equipped and has an amazing shower - great water pressure.
We were met on arrival by the owner who showed us around and explained the heating and where everything was and how it worked.
There were only two of us but this would be a good house for children too. It has 3 good sized bedrooms.
Across the field at the foot of the garden is the beach, great for walks in the evening.
This house is well located for exploring both Lewis and Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well equipped cottage
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MacCuish3...
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We all loved our holiday in Stornoway and Broadbay Cottage just made it even better. It's not easy to find accommodation for 4 children but this cottage had everything we needed and more! All the little extras were brilliant. We didn't need to bring any bed linens or towels and we weren't charged extra which is always a bonus! The washing machine was used everyday and the washing dries easily out on the line. The beach at the bottom of the garden is amazing! We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a relaxing, hassle free holiday on the Isle of Lewis A++++

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Didn't have to bring absolutely everything, loads of extras included
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April J
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful Hebridean holiday home I'd highly recommend”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

When holidaying with my husband and seven year old son, I was really impressed with this delightful holiday cottage. Decorated to a high standard, it offers all the comforts of home with a traditional Hebridean feel. It's the attention to detail that sets it a cut above the rest such as local artwork, l e d candles, under floor heating in the bathroom, power shower over the luxurious bath, and cosy blankets, and they had even included a hot water bottle (in the cupboard in case of need). It is very well equipped with CD player, local music CDs, hair dryer, iron and beach towels, plus things like baby wipes, washing powder, softener, washing up liquid too. The location is great. Close to the beach where you can explore the caves and rock pools and a short drive to the town. The view out of both kitchen and lounge windows will inspire the artist in you as you watch the light fade over Coll beach. A most memorable holiday. We'll definitely return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjewkes
Burwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage for our Hebridean holiday”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed in this cottage for our week's holiday to the Isle of Lewis. It's about 5-10 minutes drive from Stornoway. This meant we got the benefit of being reasonably far away from the main town to sample the peace and tranquility of the island without feeling completely cut off from the main centre of gravity. The main road is nearby and so it is an easy place both to find and also to get out and explore.

The cottage itself was comfortable, bright and clean. There were nice little touches like the pictures and candles that just made the place feel more like a home and helped us relax more quickly. The owners we very welcoming and helpfully showed us around when we arrived. I cannot fault the impression I got right from the start. After a relatively long trip to the Outer Hebrides, to be warmly welcomed into a such a nice place really helped us settle into our holiday very quickly.

The property had everything we needed to enjoy our trip. The kitchen was fully equipped and pleasant to use on the rare nights we would stay in to eat. It had both a dishwasher and washing machine (the last item was particularly useful!) and was also blessed with a glorious view of the local beach. The beds were extremely comfortable. Coupled with the quiet location it meant we always had a very peaceful night's sleep. Other things like the easy to control heating, the music system and large sofas ensured our stay was relaxing. However, the owners have also thoughtfully provided both a phone and internet connection so you are not completely isolated and planning our next day's adventure was easy.

In terms of what was available locally, most things are just a short drive away in Stornoway. There is a local shop much closer. It is only a small store but is very convenient for a quick stop when travelling back to the cottage at the end of the day. Coll beach was about 10-15 minutes walk through the croft at the back. It is worth a trip down there. On our visit we had the entire place to ourselves with its vast clean sandy beaches, rock pools and caves.

I would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna T
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic haven in the Hebrides”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the beautiful Broadbay Cottage during a period of convalescence and just the sight of the gorgeous views across the beach was incredibly healing. This is a perfect, peaceful haven from which to explore the many charms of the Isle of Lewis, just a short drive to Stornoway and amazing walks from the front door to the beach in 10 minutes, basking in the glorious, uninterrupted sea views all the way. I thoroughly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
We are delighted you found your time at Broadbay Cottage healing. We always find that a short walk on Coll beach cleanses body and mind!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing