We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and host”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of THE BARN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
showeroom
beach'
lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and host”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely tranquil setting at the Barn overlooking the sea and the hills of Assynt on the mainland. Stornaway is a few miles away and has ample shopping amenities including garden centres, and lovely walks in the grounds of Lews Castle.

Arrived late at The Barn, as got a later ferry from Skye,but Lillian was there to greet me and show me round. Think she's thought of everything!! Also a welcome basket in the fridge which was a lovely touch.

Had one small dog which had been prearranged and the setting was ideal for him and our morning stroll to the beach.

Had a lovely break and many thanks.W611679

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2018
Oh jill thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so delighted when guests enjoy there stay with us. All we want is for guests to enjoy the tranquility and peacefull suroundings.
Was a pleasure to host you and your more than welcome to come visit anytime. Was a pleasure to meet you and we wish you well for the future.
Kindest regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Mari...
1 review
“the barn stornoway”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

we had a brilliant holiday the barn was really clean and comfortable and had everything we needed and was in a great location. lillian and john were really welcoming and helpful whilst still giving us privacy. a welcome pack and fresh flowers were a really nice touch we would definately recommend this and would stay again if in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2018
Thank you both so much for your kind words. Our aim is to make our Guests feel comfortable and enjoy there stay.
Glad you enjoyed!! Perhaps we will meet again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
“Cosey wee neuk on the island”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I had a very enjoyable week at the barn. It is in a beautiful location and it's a lovely place to stay. Stunning views of Hebridean cost and a very warm welcome from the hosts make you feel like your staying with an old friend. I will definitely be back. Barn very clean and well equipped with everything you need. Arrived to a hamper full of yummy goodies which was a very welcome sight after a long ferry journey. Lilian has thought of everything and put attention to detail to make you feel very welcome. Fresh flowers were a lovely touch. Many thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on your recent stay with us at "the barn'. It is our soul intention to try our best to make our guests stay as comfortable and welcomng as possible.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we would be more than delighted for you to come visit us again.
We both wish you well for the future.
Kindest regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you so so much for your very kind comments on your stay at "The Barn". We are overwhelmed and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate when guests take time to leave a review (positive or negative!).
It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming back anytime in the near future.
We wish you well.
Kind regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul J
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage with amazing views. The owners are fantastic”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our second visit to The Barn. Everything was perfect. The accommodation was spotless on out arival and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. There was a nice welcome package waiting in the fridge.

The beds are very comfortable and the lounge is well stocked with books and DVDs. The WiFi is better than we get at home.

Lilian and John are perfect hosts and were happy to accommodate our little dog (she loved it too).

Hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Oh thank you so much for all your positive comments-were overwhelmed and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look
forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Lilian & john.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
999Jim999
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well appointed Holiday home”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Owners very helpful and friendly. Wonderful View of Broad bay. The house is very well equipped. Kitchen has a good sized fridge freezer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We do appreciate guests finding the time and effort to write a review. We try our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed hosting you both and wish you well.

Kind regards
Lilian & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEM61
1 review
“Cosy comfortable cabin”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a lovely week staying at The Barn.
It may look small from the outside but it is surprisingly roomy inside and is very well equipped with everything you might need for your stay.
It was warm and cosy inside, we had fantastic weather so didn't need to put any heating on but there are plenty heaters should it get a bit chilly outside.
The hosts, Lillian and John, were very friendly and helpful and are only too pleased to help with tips on where to visit etc. They also provide a nice welcome basket of goodies to start you off when you arrive.
We found The Barn to be in a very good location, handy for Stornoway but in a nice countryside area with some lovely beaches just a few minutes drive away.There were also some nice walks from The Barn and a relaxing view across fields to the sea from the livingroom.
I would certainly recommend The Barn and it's hosts as providing a great base on a beautiful island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Aww...thank you so so much for your kind and wonderful comments. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay.As long as our guests are comfortable and happy-thats all we want. It makes everything all worthwhile!. It was a pleasure hosting you both and we wish you well and would welcome you back anytime in the future.
Kindest regards
Lilian & nohn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing