We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great wee place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of THE BARN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Kitchen
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
showeroom
beach'
lounge
Lounge
Bedroom
Hallway
Showeroom
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misrepresentation of accommodation it was not a large place but a portacabin”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Too small for 3 people. Not disabled friendly shower had high step plus no grab rail. Kitchen was very small room only for one person at a time. Hallway could only accommodate one person at a time. Price did not reflect the accommodation. We were not told about toileteries meant for other guests! Furniture not suitable for me had to be assisted out of chair - too low. Would not recommend this property to anyone. Really disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
THIS IS A FOLLOW UP ON THE PREVIOUS REVIEW BY "SUZANNE"
THIS IS NOW THE MOTHER "HELEN" DOING ANOTHER REVIEW.

We have already responded with our comments in the previous review and have no further comments to add as all been said and documented.

FINAL NOTE TO FUTURE GUESTS:-

As already stated in the previous review-we have been fortunate and blessed to have hosted such wonderfull people from all over the world, without any problems or negativity. We have repeat Guests so that lets you know the TRUE and HONEST opinion of genuine people. We just reiterate to future viewers-just check previous reviews in order to get a true and factual opinion.
To Helen(Mother) Suzanne (Daughter)- i do hope you get over your "problems" but, if at a future date you wish to return for another visit- we would be more than delighted to welcome you!!
Good Luck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzane D
1 review
“Average by Suzane”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really wanted to like this place. However, LIllian acted as though it was an inconvenience to host us, we never met the husband and we only spoke to LIllian 3 or 4 times in the week we were there. She denied all knowledge of the dog although we filled in all the forms, there was some discussion about the cost of having him there. I have been over the site since and cannot see anything about a refundable deposit.I wanted to get a better measure of Lillians character so I took some tat, that is now in the post back to her, to gauge her reaction. She was beyond rude to my mum and upset her.
Regarding the accommodation itself
1 its a converted portacabin, with cladding. The name the barn is misleading.
2 it is so small inside that there is no privacy, it is so close to the main house that there is no privacy outside.
3 the kitchen is well stocked but can only really fit one person at a time.
4 the internet is patchy.
5 it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.-the shower has a step and no handles, the chairs are too low, there is a step Into the portacabin.
6 the parking is on the main road.
7 its a 20 minutes car journey and 45 minutes bus ride to town.
8 the welcome hamper was for 2 people, our party was for 3

Overall we feel ripped off and would recommend the hostel in Stornoway itself for better facilities and value for money.We wish LIllian and the husband all the best for the future.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
Thank you for your comments. So sorry you didnt enjoy your stay at "The Barn". Unfortunately, you departed in the morning before we had the chance to wish you a safe journey home! Fortunately, this has never happened before. As the saying goes - "You can please everybody some of the time but, you cannot please everybody ALL of the time. Perhaps when you recover from your "Health Issues" you would enjoy another return to the "Hostelry" in Stornoway

OH by the way, we still await the return of the "TAT" as you refer to, in your review-the items taken from our premises, without our consent.
We do wish Helen, Suzanne and her son HEALTH and happiness in the future.

FOR FUTURE REVIEWERS/GUESTS;-

Anybody who has stayed in "The Barn" and who knows john and I, will appreciate the above Review- is totally out of charachter, lenient with the truth, and unfounded.
We ask future guests to view ALL our prevous reviews where they will find honest and positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillwalke...
tayside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wee place”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very cosy and comfortable place to stay in the lovely Isle of Lewis.
My husband and I enjoyed our few days break and Lilian was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed.
One thing to remember is that you have to be organized for meals unless you want to spend your time driving to and from Stornoway instead of relaxing and enjoying the view!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you so .much for your kind words about your stay in The Barn. It was a pleasure having you stay and if in the future you would like a return visit-you would be more than welcome.
Appreciate you spending the time to give us a review.
Kind regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
getmeou2f...
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“couldn`t be better”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

great location,excellent communications and Lillian and John,really put us at ease upon arrival,clean,homely accommodation with all mod cons catered for and the extra touches like the welcome hamper and toiletries an unexpected bonus.View from the living room french doors has to be seen to be believed,current photos on trip advisor don`t do the accommodation or vista justice.Ideal base for travelling around all parts of Lewis and Harris.Sad to have left but happy in the knowledge we`ll be "back" again.Easy to find just take the third road on the left after the back pharmacy and it`s on the right hand side about 1/4 along

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Awww...thank you so so much for your lovely comments! It makes all the hard work worthwhile when guests are co fy and at home in our "wee hoose" we do appreciate all your kind works and look forward to you welcoming you back "home" in the not too distant future.
Thank you again.
Kindest regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

An excellent wee base to visit the beautiful islands of Lewis and Harris. Very cosy and homely. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Hi Ross
Thank you so much for your kind words. We always appreciate reviews (good or bad!).
It was a pleasure having you and we wish you well for the future.
Good luck with the exams!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely great but TripAdvisor has the wrong location”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay was excellent. This place is really nice and has everything that you might need. It felt like home away from home. The host even left a nice hamper of food in the fridge for us!

One important note. Don't trust the location on TripAdvisor or Google maps if you just type in the name. It will likely take you to a graveyard - literally. Type the following coordinates into Google maps and look for a small brown wooden bungalow type building on your right.

58.281805,-6.290940

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you so so much for your wonderful comments. It was very kind of you to take the time to write a review-very much appreciated. Thank you again
Kind regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a fantastic place with breathtaking views.
Lilian and john made us feel very welcome. The Barn is furnished to a high specification and has everything you need for a relaxing stay.
we would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice comments! It was a pleasure having you both stay and we would certainly welcome you back any time. Regards L & J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing