We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bayview Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol O
1 review
“Great stay.”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Really happy with this little cottage. It has everything you need and is set out to a good stanard.cooking. TV with a good selection of DvDs. Sleeping arrangments are good and comfotable. And WIFI also. its in a lovley bay. Seals can be seen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Many thanks for your comments, pleased everything was good for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin A
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, perfectly situated”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As a veteran of holiday cottages I know they can be variable, but you have no need to worry with Bayview Cottage. It.s small but perfectly big enough (to be honest, the pics on the website don't do it justice) and has everything you could need. Kitchen is well equipped, the bed is comfy and the wifi works (OK, it's never going to be superfast given the distance from the cabinet, but it's good enough for an occasional Facebook check or whatever). The beach is without doubt the best feature though, you are literally on it! It's wonderful to look out of the window at it, to walk on it and to hear the sea crashing against it. Tony & Susan were pleasant hosts and I'd heartily recommend their cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you , it good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and liked our cottage! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Great so pleased you enjoyed your visit and our cottage! See you again we hope, best wishes Tony and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lizla72
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I, along with our two children (10 and 6) and our dog have just spent the week at Bayview Cottage. The cottage suited us perfectly. It is small and cosy but laid out considerately and we couldn't have wanted for more. Being located virtually on the beach was idyllic. Watching the seals swimming in front of the cottage some evenings was a real treat! Tony and Susan were generous hosts providing everything we could have wanted, and more. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and we always looked forward to returning to the homely cottage each evening, after a day exploring the beautiful island. We hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Many thanks, pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o0Topher0...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic little cottage right on a beautiful bay just outside Stornoway. Tony & Susan were great hosts. Great location for exploring Lewis & Harris, with most attractions, beaches etc within an hours drive. Will definitely be back. Thanks again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mhan1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Moments from the beach the location is perfect. The children beachcombed and swam whilst we kicked back and relaxed. The house is cosy for 4 but as it is considerately laid out it was perfect for us. We dined in every night and the ktichen is well set up to do that. We also appreciated the washing machine and clothes line as our children rarely went out to play without somehow managing to go through the sea!! The cottage is 6 minutes away from the ferry, tescos the hospital and other town facitlities but you would never guess it, as it is so peaceful and private. We loved the cottage and we loved our time on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing