We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Coll

Front Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues
Sitting area
Kitchen
Shower room with 'power shower'
Double bedroom
Single bedroom with bunk beds
Play area
Stornoway
Lews Castle in Stornoway
Loch Seaforth - Ullapool to Stornoway
New ferry & old ferry Feb/2015
Typical coast views for Lewis & Harris
West side of Island
Lewis sheep
Driving towards Coll beach
Bernera bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ceri C
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation was just as described. It was in a perfect location and the facilities within the chalet were amazing.
The internet speed was very good. The chalet was clean and tidy.

The only negatives was the water boiler / pump was very noisy when using the taps in the kitchen/bathroom and there was no draining board in the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of the property
Liked least: Noise from the water boiler/pump
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Hi Cerie, glad you pointed out about the noise of shower pump. We are in the process of ordering a quieter pump . A previous ex-plumber who stayed at chalet gave us good advise as what type of pump to install and this should make things quieter. Thanks for taking the time for review - this gives us a chance to get things better. Cheers Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorrach
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Compact and cosy”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had 4 nights here in July and it was spotless and well equipped with a lovely powerful shower (water pump a little noisy but not a problem). Good directions,kitchen had all you need and lovely local buscuits to welcome us. Is compact but a fabulous base. Ishbal was lovely and friendly on arrival - thankyou :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Thanks for positive review. Glad you found the chalet location easy to find. A while back most people got lost finding the chalet - We took good advice from people that previously stayed at chalet and now all is well with directions.
Best wishes Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

lovely small cottage ideal for a small family only. The area too is beautiful. Isle of Lewis is one stunning isle with wonderful quiet sandy beaches and scenery. The cottage is very close to a sandy beach hence kids aged 8 and 6 enjoyed a lot. Overall was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Hi Imran great you enjoyed your stay and that your children enjoyed the nearby beach - which is quite popular for wind surfacing and water skiing as well. We hope you will be visiting the Island again. Best wishes Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriS1860
1 review
“Great location and cozy chalet”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really nice cozy place. We were a family of four--two teenagers plus husband and wife. It is small, but clean and in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cozy and location
Liked least: Not enough cooking pots
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Hi Lori, thanks for your review. In the future we are hoping to have more space available especially when the family has a bit older children. With 2 small kids perfect but could do with a little more space for the older kids. Cheers Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaC504
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for a week starting Saturday 16th July at Chalet Coll. It became apparent from the start that Iain and Ishbal were very accommodating owners due to us being contacted and asked if we could delay our arrival. This was due to the previous occupants requesting a later departure. Upon arriving on the Island we then went for a drive around to pass some time and take in the scenery.
The chalet is well equipped with everything that you could possibly need. Even though small, good use of space has been well thought of and made for a very pleasant and comfortable stay.
Free wifi was of great benefit to our son which kept him happy! ! :-D :-D.
Chalet Coll has been a little gem of a find for us and there is no doubt in our minds we shall definitely return again.

Linda, Graham & Scott Campbell

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Hi Linda, thanks for your nice review and we very much appreciate your time for this. We hope you will be visiting the Island soon and staying with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the thoughtful wee extras that were provided
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are happy to see that the chalet is suitable for young families whilst visiting the islands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oz-fellow...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in this gorgeous little cottage. It was warm, comfortable and very quiet. We slept well every night. Owners Iain and Ishbal stocked the chalet thoughtfully, including with milk and biscuits on arrival. And there is great internet!. We especially appreciated the late checkout on our last day. The weather was sometimes blustery but the cottage is well-insulated and it was always cosy inside. We are left with a lovely memory of Lewis and Stornaway. We would highly recommend the Chalet Coll and happily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfortable, cosy and affordable. Excellent value for money.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
We are happy to have such a lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Very much hope to have the pleasure of meeting you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing