We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent high standard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have stayed in most of the lodges over the last few years, and continue to be impressed by the consistent high standard of these extremely well appointed and comfortable homes from home. Last visit, on a cold and wet December found the heating already on and the fire lit, Graham, the owner, called in to welcome us aboard and generally ensure all was in order. We have no hesitation in continuing to recommend the lodges as being very suited to couples and families of all ages.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Barraidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just back from a wonderful and surprisingly relaxing Christmas at Metagama (stayed in Metagama twice before and Craigroyston too). House was spotless as usual with a very welcome fire already on for our arrival plus a gorgeous Christmas tree which was a lovely touch. Kitchen passed the ultimate test with cooking a Christmas dinner. Can sometimes be quite tricky cooking in self-catering properties but the kitchens are REALLY well equipped so it all worked out brilliantly. Weather was pretty rainy but that just made it all the lovelier for staying cosy indoors watching Christmas films with the family. We did venture out to the beaches of Harris for a bracing walk and to let the kids let off steam...a drive down to Harris is a must whenever you're on the island, as is dinner out at Digby Chicks in Stornoway itself. Can't wait to get back, hopefully in the summer.

Room Tip: Gorgeous bathroom in Metagama with lovely corner jacuzzi bath, sauna and twinkly ceiling lights that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Got-The-T-Shirt-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a disappointment from start to end. We find these reviews on here hard to believe in light of our experience. Let me preface this by saying that although we do not habitually stay in 5 star accommodation - we have for special occasions splurged and enjoyed some of Scotland's finest 5star places (croft 103 in Durness being our all time fav!). Metagama lodge failed miserably we are sorry to say. The space itself is good and has such potential. Potential that for us was not realised.
There's a list of things we felt were not in any way up to scratch:
The grubby hand (or maybe dog snout?) marks on the patio doors on arrival - remnants of the previous occupants.
The oven which did not work, and although they eventually managed to get a man out (a local joiner?) to see it, at 9pm on the Saturday evening, still did not work and was not fixed during our stay.
The dust on the floor in the bedroom which clung to any clothes dropped on the floor.
The filthy kitchen floor on arrival - first thing we did was get the mop out!
Horrifically there was blood staining on the top of the sheets when we got into bed on the first night - likely from a finger quick, but still!!!!!!
The piece de la resistance was the disgusting layer of scum that rose to the surface of the jacuzzi bath when we decided to us it on the last night. Needless to say the bath was abandoned.
The gas fire was not working properly, and despite calling help out it still did not work as the person who came out was not familiar with the facility, nor was the joiner who they also sent out. The fire did work on occasion, but it took ages to ignite, and was very hit and miss.
The whole place is in need of a lift- beds are not at all comfy.

On the plus side, Graham had arranged for a bottle of bubbly on arrival for us which was a nice gesture.

The island itself is beautiful, and well worth a visit.

Hebridean "luxury" villas, probably best avoiding them.

Upon returning home we emailed Graham, To express our disappointment at our stay and outlined the issues noted above. Our email was not met with any grace, or apology. He had the audacity to say that he had good cleaning staff (really!), and that they had been recently reviewed by visit Scotland who had awarded them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wifiis, Owner at Hebridean Luxury Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Don't argue with idiots. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience. Mark Twain.
How very true in this instance. From the first ridiculous e-mail of complaint I received from these two it was immediately clear that I was out of my depth and hence took the unusual step of reporting myself to Visit Scotland’s standards department. All correspondence was relayed to them and the name of the officer dealing supplied to my erstwhile guests.
On the Saturday of their arrival, the fan oven failed. A man was found and it was repaired and remains working today. Getting someone out on a Saturday evening was I think a pretty good effort. Fan ovens are not liable to maintenance and this failure was unpredictable and hence unavoidable. The igniter on the gas fire had been replaced six weeks PRIOR to their arrival. Obviously there were operator problems, perhaps I need to provide detailed instructions. Never a problem before but nothing is completely idiot proof.
NO FINANCIAL REFUND, either in full or in part is due. This is where my dealing with the complaint fell down, ie I was not willing to make any refund. Not that the complaint wasn’t dealt with, but that the result wasn’t what was hoped for. Again, NO REFUND was due.
On the Saturday you arrived, the guests in the sister lodge next door departed. They left a TA review, (25th October 12) saying that the lodge was “spotlessly clean”. This from a reviewer with 60 posts!! A very different picture to the one you have painted on this, your first TA review. Pure defamation from you, as the other 80 excellent TA reviews bear witness to.
By posting your review you seem at last to have understood that NO REFUND is coming to you and assume you have not received satisfaction from Visit Scotland either. Over the past eight years I have had several thousand guests, many return each year. There are only two or three that I would have any doubts about welcoming back. But the two of you are the pick of the bunch by the proverbial country mile, I would not wish you on my worst enemy, you deserve to me miserable in each other’s company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Extremely clean with all the amenities you could ever need for a short or long stay (sauna, power shower, Jacuzzi, dishwasher, full sky package, broadband). Would definitely recommend and look forward to returning early next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Iolaire Lodge and absolutely loved this house, which was wonderfully spacious but also welcoming, comfortable and inviting. There are lovely extra touches such as pink ceiling star lights in the bathroom and huge comfy sofas. It was a joy to return to after a day out and so warm even when using only one small heater!

We enjoyed going over to the other side of Lewis where the scenery becomes more rugged and dramatic with stunning beaches and there is a real sense of history all over the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Exactly as the photos on the website showed and it was really nice and quiet as it was tucked round the back of the B&B on Kenneth Street. Really comfortable double bed, warm and with good shutters for a perfect nights sleep. Really central for walking everywhere in Stornoway. Good shower. Wifi. All kitchen things. Good communication about arrival and departure etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

stayed for a week end of May-beginning of June.Excellent accomodation with everything you need.Graham was very attentive and helpful.Just brilliant. He even allowed us to stay behind
in the house until time for afternoon ferry to Ullapool.We were even asked ,before arrival,if there was any groceries we required.Very highly recommended.Thanks Graham

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.Bathroom downstairs is suitable for disabled persons with walk-in shower.All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanmurray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Luxury Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Luxury Holidays

Address: 29 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Visit Scotland 5 star graded lodges, two with outside hot tubs. Jacuzzi baths and IR Saunas are found in both "Iolaire" and "Metagama". These timber clad lodges boast cathedral ceilings and timber flooring and are ideal for both family holidays and romantic getaway breaks. We have many honeymoon couples visit each year. Also two properties rated 4 star which are ideal for both holiday visitors and corporate guests staying longer term. All properties have wi- fi internet access and most have Sky TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebrides Self Catering Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Luxury Holidays Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing